Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Can smeone check my Analysis and what should i do for PON

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    12

    Can smeone check my Analysis and what should i do for PON

    Hi all

    im currently on a VDSL 17a connection getting around 67k / 20k sync - on 9/11/21 I'm getting BT's FTTP 900 installed which is full-fibre into the home into a special PON modem that is "bridged" to their hub.

    now will TCP Optimizer still be used with a full PON connection?

    here is my analysis for my current VDSL after using TCP Optimizer: is there anything i need to change via the program or manually? (if manually can instructions be supplied please, thanks) as it reports "RWIN is not multiple of MSS, If your OS supports setting RWIN directly, consider changing it to a multiple of MSS for optimum performance."
    - i don't know how to do that?

    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 2021.10.20 07:19
    IP address: 147.147.xx.xx
    Client OS/browser: Windows 10 (Firefox 93.0)

    TCP options string: 020405ac0103030801010402
    MSS: 1452
    MTU: 1492
    TCP Window: 262656 (not multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 8 bits (2^8=256)
    Unscaled RWIN : 1026
    Recommended RWINs: 63888, 127776, 255552, 511104, 1022208
    BDP limit (200ms): 10506kbps (1313KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 4202kbps (525KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 47
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000010 (2)
    Precedence: 000 (routine)
    Delay: 0 (normal delay)
    Throughput: 0 (normal throughput)
    Reliability: 0 (normal reliability)
    Cost: 1 (low cost)
    Check bit: 0 (correct)
    DSCP (DiffServ): CS0 000000 (0) - class 0, default traffic (RFC 2474).

    thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    12
    also, should my TCP/IP Stack be reset to default for FTTP? - reset winsock is it?

  3. #3
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida
    Posts
    11,143
    Blog Entries
    6
    If you are using a modern OS (i.e. Windows 10), don't worry about changing RWIN, you can't do it manually, it auto-tunes it.
    After the change, your MTU will likely increase to 1500. You shouldn't have to reset Winsock or TCP.

    You should run the TCP Optimizer again, set your speed to 1000 Mbps or something in that neighborhood, then apply changes and reboot.

    I hope this helps.
    Linux is user friendly, it's just picky about its friends...
    Disclaimer: Please use caution when opening messages, my grasp on reality may have shaken loose during transmission (going on rusty memory circuits).
    ๑۩۞۩๑

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    12
    thanks for the replies

    unfortunately, the slider on TCP Optimizer only goes up to 100 and don't think it was made with FTTP in mind? perhaps time for an upgrade to include G/Bit speeds and the best optimizations for that?
    cheers

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    12
    ...also i forgot too add, if im not to worry about RWIN, why does the tester keep reporting it as "not a multiple of mss" and therefore causing more hindrance than help? or so it comes across to me

  6. #6
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida
    Posts
    11,143
    Blog Entries
    6
    It is 100+ Mbps, i.e. broadband connections over 100 Mbps, that's where the slider should be.

    As to the "multiple of MSS".. This is somewhat relevant for slower connections. At faster speeds it does not matter much. Also, there is no way to make RWIN multiple of anything under Windows 10, as it is not editable directly under recent MS operating systems.

    I hope this helps.
    Linux is user friendly, it's just picky about its friends...
    Disclaimer: Please use caution when opening messages, my grasp on reality may have shaken loose during transmission (going on rusty memory circuits).
    ๑۩۞۩๑

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    12
    100% thanks buddy

  8. #8
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida
    Posts
    11,143
    Blog Entries
    6
    Sure thing
    Linux is user friendly, it's just picky about its friends...
    Disclaimer: Please use caution when opening messages, my grasp on reality may have shaken loose during transmission (going on rusty memory circuits).
    ๑۩۞۩๑

Similar Threads

  1. TCPIP Analysis - What do i need to do?
    By v3ktor in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-10-01, 08:55 AM
  2. Analysis
    By JDErickson in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-28-01, 04:34 PM
  3. pls take a look at my SG tcp/ip analysis
    By DragonAura in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-24-01, 08:57 AM
  4. Win 2K Analysis.
    By Favek in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 08-09-01, 05:40 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •