Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Dell Optiplex 7010 Starts Hard

  1. #1
    Advanced Member Lurch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    TN
    Posts
    650

    Dell Optiplex 7010 Starts Hard

    Hi,

    I went back to my SFF Dell 7010 last week. I didn't need to bc my older, bigger Dell 960 was running well, but I thought I would to access some files I forgot to save to a flash drive. I think the reason I went back to the older Dell when I did months ago was that the newer Dell started having trouble starting up. When I pushed the start button, it wouldn't start. Lights would blink but it wouldn't start. Then after I was running the 960, I played around with the 7010 and noticed a reset button on the back, and realized I could get it started by holding in the reset button while I pushed in the start button.

    Can someone tell me why it does this?
    I'm running it now but am tempted to save my files and go back to the Dell 960.
    The 7010 runs good with its I5-3470 processor.
    The 960 runs just as good with a lesser processor but with SSD.
    They both run good and have Windows 10, but the 7010 won't start unless I hold in both the reset button and start buttons, then it runs fine.

    Thanks for any input.

  2. #2
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    51,042
    PSU BIST button for the power supply. BIST = Built In Self Test

    Used to isolate if the power supply is having problems....sometimes it's a quick fix in that it releases built up AC in the capacitors. Kinda..."resets the power supply". If the power supply light goes green, "should" be good.

    The Optiplex models with 4x digits...newer. 3x digits...old models.Hopefully you can get the 7010 going....we pushed out like..hundreds of those models, good units. And before that, yeah many 790's too.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  3. #3
    Advanced Member Lurch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    TN
    Posts
    650
    Hi,

    It was getting harder to start every day so I took it to a man who refurbs PCs for a thrift store and he opened it and tested the power supply and told me I need a new one, so I ordered one on eBay for $27 shipped.

    I also got quite familiar with these little SFFs like my 7010 inside.
    After I get the PS in it and get it running again I hope to install a SanDisk 240 GB HD in it.
    My older Dell 960 runs nicer, because of the SSD HD in it.
    I installed that SSD in it a few years ago with the help of SanDisk on the phone.
    Hopefully they will help me install another SSD.

Similar Threads

  1. [FS]: FS: 10 x Dell Optiplex GX620's
    By loop2kil in forum Marketplace - Buy/Sell/Trade/Hot Deals
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 11-13-11, 09:24 PM
  2. Dell 755 optiplex Nic failing?
    By CableDude in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-31-08, 10:47 AM
  3. Dell Optiplex Nseries
    By CableDude in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-17-08, 07:52 PM
  4. HELP!!! Dell OPtiplex GX150 & new HDD
    By Qui-Gon John in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 03-18-08, 06:06 PM
  5. dell optiplex gx150
    By albertldee in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-12-04, 09:15 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •