Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Can't access router remotely via ddns link

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    115

    Can't access router remotely via ddns link

    https://www.speedguide.net/forums/sh...WAN-ip-address

    Hi

    I had DDNS setup on my ASUS RTAC5300 Merlin firmware as per attached snapshots

    My DDNS from no-ip is linked to the CGNAT ip address not public ip address

    https://imgur.com/a/sqUEXG3

    Does that mean I won't be able to use DDNS ? Or is there a work around ?

    Thx

  2. #2
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida
    Posts
    11,028
    Blog Entries
    6
    That's a very good question, I am not really sure how to set DDNS behind a reserved IP range. Theoretically you are on a private network, and any ddns redirects would be to the public IP of your ISP, that IP/device/node would have to then translate packets and forward traffic to your private/reserved IP.
    Linux is user friendly, it's just picky about its friends...
    Disclaimer: Please use caution when opening messages, my grasp on reality may have shaken loose during transmission (going on rusty memory circuits).
    ๑۩۞۩๑

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    115
    Thx Philip
    You guess it might not be doable ?

  4. #4
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida
    Posts
    11,028
    Blog Entries
    6
    I am not sure, it would have to be supported by your ddns service. The client (your private/reserved IP) can still make a connection out (port triggering) in order to open incoming ports to that address, so the client software on your end would have to ping out to the ddns provider to open the ports. It is just more complex proposition than with regular public IP addresses, I don't know what/if ddns services support that.
    Linux is user friendly, it's just picky about its friends...
    Disclaimer: Please use caution when opening messages, my grasp on reality may have shaken loose during transmission (going on rusty memory circuits).
    ๑۩۞۩๑

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    115
    Noted
    Thx Philip

Similar Threads

  1. how to access modem and router tp-link simultaneously
    By ricky21 in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-24-20, 12:28 PM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-15-09, 05:59 AM
  3. d-link di-524 wireless router/access point question
    By dotheimpossible in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-18-06, 09:58 AM
  4. n00b needs help with D-Link Router and allowing people to access LAN
    By plaidlesspez in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-11-05, 02:26 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •