Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Not much improvement after using TCPOptimizer - am I missing something?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2021
    Posts
    3

    Not much improvement after using TCPOptimizer - am I missing something?

    Hi,

    My internet speed seems to be capped and I cannot figure out why after running through many sources of help on the internet.
    I used TCPOptimizer, it seems to improved a little. When I run the program again, the "Current" settings I have does not seem to reflect the "Optimize" option that was executed without error. Did I miss out on anything?

    1. What is your advertised internet speed ? 1Gbps
    2. What actual transfer speed do you get? 200-270 Mbps
    3. Who is your Internet Provider (ISP), and what type of connection do you have ? I'm based in Singaore, ISP - Starhub, using Fibre Broadband
    4. What are your current settings ? See below.
    5. Your modem/router/ap brand ? D-Link DIR-868L
    6. Your Operating System ? Windows 10, 64-bit

    TCP Analyzer Result
    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 2021.07.16 01:27
    IP address: 116.89.xx.xxx
    Client OS/browser: Windows 10 (Chrome 91.0.4472.124)

    TCP options string: 020405b40103030801010402
    MSS: 1460
    MTU: 1500
    TCP Window: 131328 (not multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 8 bits (2^8=256)
    Unscaled RWIN : 513
    Recommended RWINs: 64240, 128480, 256960, 513920, 1027840
    BDP limit (200ms): 5253kbps (657KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 2101kbps (263KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 48
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)

  2. #2
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida
    Posts
    11,059
    Blog Entries
    6
    Even though the "optimal" settings are applied, they will not all show as "current" settings. This is because depending on your OS, the Optimizer may not be able to read all the settings, some of them are adapter specific (optimal setting applied to one network adapter, but not another, so the program does not know which one the setting was applied to), and some default/optimal settings may be the same.

    As to your internet connection speed, how are you measuring that, to a server near you, or a further location? Are you using wired or wireless client?
    Linux is user friendly, it's just picky about its friends...
    Disclaimer: Please use caution when opening messages, my grasp on reality may have shaken loose during transmission (going on rusty memory circuits).
    ๑۩۞۩๑

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2021
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Philip View Post
    Even though the "optimal" settings are applied, they will not all show as "current" settings. This is because depending on your OS, the Optimizer may not be able to read all the settings, some of them are adapter specific (optimal setting applied to one network adapter, but not another, so the program does not know which one the setting was applied to), and some default/optimal settings may be the same.

    As to your internet connection speed, how are you measuring that, to a server near you, or a further location? Are you using wired or wireless client?
    Hi Philip,

    I'm using the speed test website from my ISP (https://resi.speedtest.starhub.com/SG/1G). The connection is wireless.
    My other laptop can get a much higher broadband speed of around 490Mbps though so I think it is laptop specific.

    Thanks!

    Regina

  4. #4
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida
    Posts
    11,059
    Blog Entries
    6
    The speed test is from your ISP, so it is near you and should not be the issue.
    Laptop Wi-Fi adapters are not very good at higher speeds, as they only have one/two antennas and may not be capable of reaching higher throughput. One thing you can do is see how the CPU utilization is during testing (check the "Task Manager"). If your CPU is not utilized over 50%, you can try disabling most "Offload" settings in the Network Adapter properties, that would make it easier on the Wi-Fi adapter. We do have a couple of articles on optimizing WiFi LAN settings on the main site.

    I hope this helps.
    Linux is user friendly, it's just picky about its friends...
    Disclaimer: Please use caution when opening messages, my grasp on reality may have shaken loose during transmission (going on rusty memory circuits).
    ๑۩۞۩๑

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2021
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Philip View Post
    The speed test is from your ISP, so it is near you and should not be the issue.
    Laptop Wi-Fi adapters are not very good at higher speeds, as they only have one/two antennas and may not be capable of reaching higher throughput. One thing you can do is see how the CPU utilization is during testing (check the "Task Manager"). If your CPU is not utilized over 50%, you can try disabling most "Offload" settings in the Network Adapter properties, that would make it easier on the Wi-Fi adapter. We do have a couple of articles on optimizing WiFi LAN settings on the main site.

    I hope this helps.
    Thank you Philip. Let me go through the articles on optimizing WiFi LAN.

Similar Threads

  1. GPU improvement
    By OSULLY in forum Distributed Computing
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-16-08, 07:12 PM
  2. Want to see any improvement?
    By fazerking in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-17-06, 06:54 PM
  3. Improvement in Graphics
    By Crazycanuck in forum Gaming
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-27-04, 02:46 PM
  4. self improvement..
    By Immortal in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 09-24-01, 07:08 PM
  5. Cox@home improvement
    By flunkadelic in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-19-01, 07:13 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •