Thread: Password Managers

Question Password Managers

I have been using KeePass as my password manager for several years. I am very happy with it and I find that it does exactly what I need in a password manager. Usually when searching for a list of reliable password managers KeePass would always show up on someone's list of the "10 best". Today I was doing a search and it appears that it has either dropped out of favor or is being pushed aside by subscription options. I was just wondering if anyone had any insight as to why KeePass doesn't seem to be in the ratings any longer? Did something adverse happen to their program that would have thrown it out of favor?

Blog Entries
    Just want to chime in to mention many of those "Top 10" sites exist simply for the affiliate links, they get a couple of cents when you buy something.. So they have no interest in ranking any freeware/opensource software.
    When I need to compare software, I usually go to some site like alternativeto.net and look there, as it is based on actual user feedback, rather than some random editor.
    https://alternativeto.net/software/keepass/

I would prefer a local/open source manager, KeePass seems pretty capable and it is being updated. In general many password managers are ok as long as the password file/database is locked, and vulnerable to exploits while it is unlocked.
    Linux is user friendly, it's just picky about its friends...
    Disclaimer: Please use caution when opening messages, my grasp on reality may have shaken loose during transmission (going on rusty memory circuits).
    ๑۩۞۩๑

I have noticed that there seems to be way too many "affiliate" sites popping up everywhere. One of the dead giveaways is the generic was they present their opinions. Basically a cut and paste job.