Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Mic issue Steelseries Siberia V2 (200)

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2021
    Posts
    1

    Mic issue Steelseries Siberia V2 (200)

    Hello,

    I've had this headset for a long time and this problem started one or two days ago. I use Discord App as voip when the headset would suddenly stop receiving from the mic and it would be solved with a few restarts for the app. But today that didn't solve it. The sound still works, just not the mic.

    On MSI GT60
    Windows 10
    Steelseries Siberia v2 or 200 (with two input jacks for mic/audio)
    Realtek HD audio manager (software)

    I have tried: (Headset itself does not have drivers)
    Boosted mic level to +100/Bass to +20
    Reinstalling Discord app
    Reinstalling Realtek HD Audio Driver/manager (Before I reinstalled Realtek, I also tested with just Microsoft audio)
    Scanning for updates through device manager > Audio inputs and outputs (Currently in there are *Microphone (Realtek HD Audio), *Speakers (Realtek HD Audio)
    Ran the sound recorder troubleshooter
    Enabled 'Default Device' in Sound> Recording> microphone
    Restarted computer

    So I got a temporary fix by doing troubleshooting

    But for some reason, the temp fix used my laptop's built-in mic when I disabled audio effects.

    Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated. I've tried to include as much info as possible but comment if you need more. Thanks!

  2. #2
    Elite Member Norm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    14,169
    I've had this headset a long time
    Rang a bell as soon as I read the first few words. It's quite possible you're looking in all the wrong places, and it just might be the wire to the mic has had enough of being twisted around and now it's not getting a connection due to a cracked wire. That's what happens with headsets. They start intermittently, then don't work at all.

    Just a thought, It could be something else, but since it has been used for a long time it is not only possible, but probable as well.

  3. #3
    Regular Member fords8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Ma.
    Posts
    133
    I think Norm hit the nail on the head. Maybe just time for a new one.

Similar Threads

  1. TCP Optimizer issue help [Issue Self-Resolved]
    By ADreamtMonchrome in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-15-18, 07:17 PM
  2. Fast modem, but slow wireless....network card issue or router issue
    By Jrambo507 in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-14-13, 03:12 PM
  3. Is this an IP issue, a router issue, or what?
    By barksducks in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-20-08, 10:04 AM
  4. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-15-02, 01:01 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •