Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: No boot

  1. #1
    resident Humboldt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    27,883

    No boot

    Sorry for the wrong forum and all, on my phone and traffic here is down so figured I'd post here. Custom gigabyte mobo system wouldn't power on at all. Replaced the psu and it powers up but doesn't post, or I get 1 short beep and it restarts. Have reseated all plugs, tried different plugs that are redundant, tried one memory stick, then the other. Pulled the gtx 960 and reseated. Any advice appreciated, thanks.

  2. #2
    resident Humboldt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    27,883
    Single ssd, no optical.

  3. #3
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,629
    Blog Entries
    6
    Did the PSU change cause this, or you replaced it to try and fix it?
    Provided you tested with each memory stick and without any redundant hardware (optical drive, external video card, etc.), the motherboard could be toast, or that new PSU. Motherboards/BIOSes often have a diagnostic function in the form of a led that flashes a number of times, or a number of short/long beeps when booting to determine what the issue is.

  4. #4
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,956
    Pull every peripheral off...pull memory, start with just the mobo and CPU.
    Reset BIOS to default if you have reset buttons on the mobo, or often just pulling the CMOS battery, and/or jumpers, or some form of physically resetting to defaults.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  5. #5
    Senior Member Easto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    So. California
    Posts
    5,085
    You may have just loosened something during the PSU replacement. Follow YeOldeStonecat's advice and while you're doing it you may just find the wire or component that came loose.

  6. #6
    resident Humboldt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    27,883
    I hate doing this, never knowing if it's a matter of time before I can fix it, or if it's broken and it's all a waste.

    Last week it turned off during the night and wouldn't restart. Wouldn't make any noise, no lights, no fans.

    Replaced the power supply and it turns on but never goes anywhere, no screen activity at all.

    It either turns on and I get fans and ethernet light but nothing else, or I get 1 short beep, then it restarts itself after about 10 seconds.

    Have stripped it down to just mobo and PSU, then added the gpu and or RAM. Cleared CMOS.

    arrgghh.

  7. #7
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,003
    Make sure teh CPU aux connection is on good. Its sounding like the old PSU took out something when it failed. Though a single short beep is usually a sound for successful posting. I'd try different RAM or a different video card if possible.

  8. #8
    Assistant Admin Ken's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Location
    Tampa
    Posts
    12,105
    Sounds like it could be more than 1 thing. Sometimes 1 thing goes bad and can affect others, such as PSU frying mobo or ram or hdd/ssd.

    Your symptoms can point to a bad drive. Do you have another computer that you could slave to and verify?
    I have also seen mobos respond that same way.

    Have you tried to get into BIOS? Be quick and give it a shot...

  9. #9
    Junior Member MadDoctor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Looks dark
    Posts
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by YeOldeStonecat View Post
    Pull the CMOS battery.
    When you do, leave on your desk for 4-5 minutes before re-seating it.
    People will forget what you said... and people will forget what you did... but people will never forget how you made them feel.

  10. #10
    Senior Member Easto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    So. California
    Posts
    5,085
    Since we haven't heard back from you since 5/11 I'm guessing this hasn't been resolved?

  11. #11
    resident Humboldt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    27,883
    Quote Originally Posted by Easto View Post
    Since we haven't heard back from you since 5/11 I'm guessing this hasn't been resolved?
    Not until this morning.

    I guess I blinked the right combination.

  12. #12
    Assistant Admin Ken's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Location
    Tampa
    Posts
    12,105
    Quote Originally Posted by Humboldt View Post
    Not until this morning.

    I guess I blinked the right combination.
    Well??????
    Are you going to tell us???????

  13. #13
    Senior Member loop2kil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    5,232
    Wow, I miss threads like this...not that I'm happy you're having issues but troubleshooting threads take be back
    If you hadn't figured it out I was thinking since it sounds like the PSU initially went bad that the replacement PSU either might have been bad/weak itself or just didn't get plugged into all the necessary aux holes when you put it in.

  14. #14
    resident Humboldt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    27,883
    Quote Originally Posted by loop2kil View Post
    plugged into all the necessary aux holes when you put it in.
    I've been trying to find the right aux holes for years.

  15. #15
    Senior Member loop2kil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    5,232
    Quote Originally Posted by Humboldt View Post
    I've been trying to find the right aux holes for years.

  16. #16
    Junior Member MadDoctor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Looks dark
    Posts
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Humboldt View Post
    I've been trying to find the right aux holes for years.
    Let me help you......
    People will forget what you said... and people will forget what you did... but people will never forget how you made them feel.

Similar Threads

  1. how to boot from a network boot disk
    By sonna1945 in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-28-07, 07:41 PM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-01-06, 07:22 AM
  3. How do I go from dual boot to single boot?
    By striderf1 in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-12-01, 06:56 PM
  4. CCNA Boot Camp / "No Boot"
    By Aristo in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 12-04-00, 05:00 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •