Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Possibly Installing an SSD Into My Newer PC

  1. #1
    Advanced Member Lurch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    TN
    Posts
    611

    Possibly Installing an SSD Into My Newer PC

    I hope this is posted on the right forum.

    I gave my Dell GX620 with Win7 away to a PC guy today.
    I also took my new Dell 7010 SFF PC there with i5-3470 and 250 GB HD in it, 8 GB RAM and Win 10 and asked how much he'd charge to install my SSD into it.
    He said it would be about $163 = $100 for labor and about $60 for a new version of Win 10 with license.
    I wasn't planning to spend that much on this bc mainly, I love the way my i5-3470 runs with 8 GB of RAM and the onboard 250 GB HD and Win 10.

    But I have a feeling I could do this myself and it wouldn't cost me a nickel. Is that right?
    SanDisk helped my clone Win7 from a spindle HD and it worked great. If I can back up my Win10 to my external WD HD, and then physically remove the HD from the 7010, and then install the SSD with Win 7 on it, format the SSD, and then install the Win 10 from my eternal WD HD?

    It sounds complicated but SanDisk were glad to help with their free Acronis Cloning Software bc evidently lots of people are doing this to take advantage of the new technology in the SSDs.

    TIA for any advice on this.

    But I wouldn't mind running the i5 as is. It runs better than my Dell 960 with 4 GB RAM, Win10, and 250 GB SSD.

  2. #2
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,373
    Blog Entries
    6
    You should be able to clone the HDD to a SSD. I usually use "Macrium Reflect Free". I usually perform a disk cleanup (including system files) before cloning.

    First you connect your SSD as a secondary drive, then clone the HDD to it, after you reboot with only the SSD to test it out.

    The biggest hurdle usually is making a bigger drive fit into a smaller one, you'd have to reduce some partitions. You have to copy all partitions from the source HDD to the destination SSD (you can reorder them, so that the Windows partition is last, that way you can change its size to fit the new drive). Once the cloning is complete, unplug your HDD and let the machine boot from the SSD to test it out.. You can then re-partition your HDD.
    Linux is user friendly, it's just picky about its friends...
    Disclaimer: Please use caution when opening messages, my grasp on reality may have shaken loose during transmission (going on rusty memory circuits).
    ๑۩۞۩๑

  3. #3
    Advanced Member Lurch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    TN
    Posts
    611
    But my i5-3470 PC will supposedly only take one drive at a time.
    Can't install both drives into it at the same time, is what the guy at the PC shop told me.

  4. #4
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,373
    Blog Entries
    6
    I highly doubt it... Open the box and see how many SATA ports there are on the motherboard, most have at least two (even the Dell MoBos in my experience). Note that one will be connected to the HDD, the other may be connected to a DVD drive. You can disconnect the DVD drive temporarily and use it for the SSD. Or, if you have an available SATA port just use that.

  5. #5
    Advanced Member Lurch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    TN
    Posts
    611
    PK thank you. I'll look inside and see what I can tell.
    I may have to resort to youtube videos to show me how to do it.

  6. #6
    Ft. Couch! morbidpete's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    W. Warwick RI
    Posts
    7,271
    you could temporarily use the power and sata cable from the ODD to run the second drive for cloning.

Similar Threads

  1. Hot d@mn gonna have a newer system!
    By RoscoPColtrane in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-29-03, 11:00 AM
  2. Newer Computer, needs tweakin
    By goldeneye_bill in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-24-03, 10:57 PM
  3. I want a newer car
    By Brent in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-24-02, 02:41 PM
  4. Old AGP card in newer system?
    By Murman in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-30-02, 05:56 PM
  5. newer mobos..
    By blue_mosquit0o in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 12-02-01, 10:59 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •