Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Mac OS Mojave 2nic force application access?

  1. #1
    Advanced Member ISKOTB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    U.S.A
    Posts
    681

    Mac OS Mojave 2nic force application access?

    I use my WIFI to access all my daily work via my own router. I’m adding a 2nd for work "separate network" to use for my VMware Horizon client. But I want it to connect to the wired nic "2nd one" because it is much faster so is there is a way to do this without the need to keep disable the WIFI? I see there's a way to change the order of prefered interfaces but does anyone know if there is a third party app that can allow/force certain application(s) to use the wired nic and NOT the wifi?

    Thank You!

  2. #2
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,372
    Blog Entries
    6
    There was one freeware called ForceBindIP, lets you run specific app through a specific network interface without considering their priority.
    Linux is user friendly, it's just picky about its friends...
    Disclaimer: Please use caution when opening messages, my grasp on reality may have shaken loose during transmission (going on rusty memory circuits).
    ๑۩۞۩๑

  3. #3
    Advanced Member ISKOTB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    U.S.A
    Posts
    681
    It's for OSX and I can't find anything like ForceBindIP

    Quote Originally Posted by Philip View Post
    There was one freeware called ForceBindIP, lets you run specific app through a specific network interface without considering their priority.

  4. #4
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,372
    Blog Entries
    6
    Ah, I missed that it is OS X, sorry.

    Theoretically you can alter the routing table to use specific interface when connecting to specific hosts. Check this article out:
    https://superuser.com/questions/1818...work-interface
    Linux is user friendly, it's just picky about its friends...
    Disclaimer: Please use caution when opening messages, my grasp on reality may have shaken loose during transmission (going on rusty memory circuits).
    ๑۩۞۩๑

  5. #5
    Advanced Member ISKOTB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    U.S.A
    Posts
    681
    I have to configure a proxy, route/tcp tables lol.
    I just thought there was an application where it can manage what I need in an easy way.

    I don't like this way but I think it's easier:
    I have a windows10 on VMware "fusion" I can edit it's vm nic from shared to my work 2nd nic and use my vdi client from the vm in the unity view

    Thanks


    Quote Originally Posted by Philip View Post
    Ah, I missed that it is OS X, sorry.

    Theoretically you can alter the routing table to use specific interface when connecting to specific hosts. Check this article out:
    https://superuser.com/questions/1818...work-interface

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-02-14, 03:47 AM
  2. Thinking about camping in Mojave or Death Valley...
    By De Plano in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-07-09, 01:35 AM
  3. Re: Advice - Guest wireless internet access without file access
    By Jack \(MVP-Networking\). in forum ms.public.windows.networking.wireless
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-03-08, 09:48 PM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-19-05, 01:27 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •