Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: IP Location Error

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    1

    IP Location Error

    I seem to have a weird issue with my IP address being identified as India rather than UK. I'm assuming that it is because my ISP (Vodafone UK) is assigning some IP addresses which were previously registered to its Indian subsidiary, but it may be an out of date GeoIP database. The IP locator on the site identifies me as being in India - can anyone tell me which provider or method this site is using for GeoIP matches?

  2. #2
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,342
    Blog Entries
    6
    Our GeoIP database is not always up to date, I wouldn't worry about it much - most likely it is as you guessed, reusing of other IPs.
    Linux is user friendly, it's just picky about its friends...
    Disclaimer: Please use caution when opening messages, my grasp on reality may have shaken loose during transmission (going on rusty memory circuits).
    ๑۩۞۩๑

Similar Threads

  1. Name this location
    By Humboldt in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 09-23-08, 02:21 PM
  2. "The Network Location cannot be reached" ERROR
    By qiuness in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-30-07, 03:30 PM
  3. My exact location...
    By JCOS in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 12-14-02, 11:11 PM
  4. Swapfile location
    By poptom in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 06-27-02, 04:16 PM
  5. mtu location
    By rrockingb in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-04-02, 11:14 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •