Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Dumping my cable Internet after 19 years

  1. #1
    Elite Member TonyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Fairfax, VA
    Posts
    10,322

    Dumping my cable Internet after 19 years

    First got cable Internet in 1999, Roadrunner.
    After 19 years Cox has failed to keep up with the competetion.
    My current plan is 100 mb download and only 10 mb upload, $79/mo.

    Just had FIOS installed (no charge) and get 100 mb down and 100 up for $55/month for 1st year, after that it goes up to $70/mo. No contract, no termination fee either. That's still 5 bucks/mo cheaper than with Cox.

    Every 6 months I called Cox and they gave me some sort of "discount" but upload remained 10 mb. They have an "ultimate" plan but still the upload is only 30mb.

    I need upload bandwidth when managing my sites and servers. Just did a FIOS test and uploaded a 500 mb movie in less than a minute, average rate of 13.7 MB/sec. I'm happy.
    No one has any right to force data on you
    and command you to believe it or else.
    If it is not true for you, it isn't true.

    LRH

  2. #2
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,053
    Blog Entries
    6
    Nice speed boost!

    I switched from Comcast to AT&T Fiber a few months back as well. Cable co. was giving me the runaround with pricing, after each year they'd bump up the price and I had to haggle with them to get a normal bill, finally got tired of it. AT&T install cost me $100, I was supposed to get $100 rebate but I failed to request it in time ;/ I was under the impression they'd send it automatically, I called after the third month and they said I only had 90 days to request it (missed by a few days). It was my mistake I suppose that I didn't read the fine print, still felt a bit like Comcast.

    Speeds are much better at a lower price point here also, can't complain.
    Linux is user friendly, it's just picky about its friends...
    Disclaimer: Please use caution when opening messages, my grasp on reality may have shaken loose during transmission (going on rusty memory circuits).
    ๑۩۞۩๑

  3. #3
    SG Enthusiast Leatherneck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    The Great Midwest
    Posts
    3,605
    Sure am glad I don't have to pay for internet. 7 years to retirement then hopefully there will be some great, affordable options.
    USMC RETIRED

    Steve

    Tacoma Guitar Forum

  4. #4
    Elite Member TonyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Fairfax, VA
    Posts
    10,322
    Forgot to mention that I am NOT using the verizon junk router either. I'm using my own Buffalo with custom firmware. I still have Cox cable for TV though. I'd switch to FIOS for TV if I could get the channel guide. FIOS still feeds the channel guide and on demand via coax connected to the FIOS router which I refuse to use and pay for.
    No one has any right to force data on you
    and command you to believe it or else.
    If it is not true for you, it isn't true.

    LRH

  5. #5
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,053
    Blog Entries
    6
    Interesting.. I didn't realize they let you use your own router, and that they require coax for channel guide.

    AT&T GigaFast Fiber charges you for the equipment/install, but there is no recurring rental of their modem/router (unlike Comcast, Cox, and Verizon, apparently).

  6. #6
    Elite Member TonyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Fairfax, VA
    Posts
    10,322
    Quote Originally Posted by Philip View Post
    Interesting.. I didn't realize they let you use your own router, and that they require coax for channel guide.
    AT&T GigaFast Fiber charges you for the equipment/install, but there is no recurring rental of their modem/router (unlike Comcast, Cox, and Verizon, apparently).
    Yes, can use own router for Internet but not for FIOS TV. If you use your own router with FiOS TV service you'll need a bridged FiOS router or standalone MoCA adapter to give your cable boxes internet connectivity to download guide and On Demand data.

    https://forums.verizon.com/t5/Fios-I...OS/td-p/851632

    You'd think after all these years they's use a set top box with actual cat 5 Internet connectivity. The 2 reasons I think they don't are:
    1. locks you in to their router purchase/rental.
    2. don't want subscribers accessing the set top box via ethernet.
    No one has any right to force data on you
    and command you to believe it or else.
    If it is not true for you, it isn't true.

    LRH

Similar Threads

  1. Seriously Thinking of Dumping Meat
    By knightmare in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 47
    Last Post: 02-11-08, 01:14 PM
  2. HURRY!! Dell is dumping!
    By zooner in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-25-03, 08:53 AM
  3. SG's server dumping?
    By LT-73 in forum Feedback, Suggestions & Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-02-03, 11:15 PM
  4. where do you see the internet 10 years from now?
    By fastspaz in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 10-14-01, 03:56 PM
  5. Computers & Internet 10 Years from now...
    By ColdFusion in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 08-22-01, 06:49 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •