Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Linksys WRT1900ACS Parental Controls won't work !!!

  1. #1

    Linksys WRT1900ACS Parental Controls won't work !!!

    Dear folks

    Simple task can't get it work

    https://www.askdavetaylor.com/enable...-wi-fi-router/

    Tried to block internet access for one of my iPhone for testing purpose (it has dummy SIM means no cellular data)

    Enable Parental Controls (i.e it is ON)

    Choose a specific home device that I want to block then choose option : "Always" ,,,,,,,,,,,,my router screenshot same as the link above

    Click Apply

    But it didn't work !!!!

    Tried another iphone same issue

    I have latest firmware and I did restart the router as well

    Am I missing something ?

    Thx

  2. #2
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,050
    Blog Entries
    6
    Are you trying to block all access to that device? You have to make sure to click on all the hours you'd like access blocked to show in the correct color (dark, I believe). Once done, try navigating away from that page and coming back, to make sure your settings are remembered. You may have to apply the changes too?

    If the above doesn't work, try rebooting the router, or updating its' firmware.

  3. #3
    Thanks Philip
    please see my answer below :

    Are you trying to block all access to that device?
    Yes


    You have to make sure to click on all the hours you'd like access blocked to show in the correct color (dark, I believe).
    Yes and it had been done


    Once done, try navigating away from that page and coming back, to make sure your settings are remembered.
    I had already done that as well

    You may have to apply the changes too?
    I am afarid there is no "Apply" button


    If the above doesn't work, try rebooting the router or updating its' firmware.
    I have latest firmware and I did restart the router as well

  4. #4
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,050
    Blog Entries
    6
    Try disabling IPv6 in "Connectivity > Internet Settings tab"
    Make sure the router's timezone and time is correct.
    You may want to try to release/renew that device's DHCP lease, or disconnect/reconnect it to the Wi-Fi to see if it helps.
    Resetting the router and starting fresh may sometimes clear settings that appear stuck and don't work correctly, but it is a bit involved.

    Is the router in its' default NAT router mode, with DHCP server enabled? (not setup just as an access point, or some type of bridge)

    Seems they have some type of recurring Parental Controls issue with some models, see their community also: http://community.linksys.com/t5/foru...ental+controls
    You can try emailing Linksys for support at LinksysCares@linksys.com

    Let us know if any of the above suggestions fixes it for you.

  5. #5
    Thanks Philip
    I will try and update you
    Regards

Similar Threads

  1. Multiple external Yagi Antennas on WRT1900ACS (or any MIMO router)
    By mbunds in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-17-17, 12:38 PM
  2. Recommendation for wireless router with good parental controls?
    By bobmct in forum alt.comp.networking.routers
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-05-11, 04:31 AM
  3. parental controls
    By teaaememy in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 01-15-04, 04:42 PM
  4. does linksys work with...?
    By striderf1 in forum Gaming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-01-00, 02:16 AM
  5. Cant get Linksys to work
    By fanta in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-10-00, 05:59 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •