Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: laptop question

  1. #1
    Certified SG Addict CableDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,786

    laptop question

    Have a laptop that goes to a white screen.

    Tried to hook up external monitor - No go.

    Would like to get files off the hard drive (like yesterday)

    I would guess that I would not be able to take the hard drive out the bad display laptop and put it in a working laptop (two totally different brand laptops).

  2. #2
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,899
    We take out the hard drive and we have various docks and bridges we can plug the drive into, and then read it from another computer.
    One way a home user can inexpensively do this is to purchase a little SATA to USB bridge adapter
    https://www.google.com/search?q=sata...hrome&ie=UTF-8

    I'd remove the HDD from the dead laptop first, to confirm it's a standard SATA connector on the hard drive itself before spending the money on a little adapter cable. Some laptops, especially newer ones, are coming with various smaller bridges like M2.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  3. #3
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,899
    For example since we use a ton of Crucial drives, we have quite a few clone kits that come with these cables..Name:  sata-to-usb-cable.png
Views: 80
Size:  49.4 KB
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  4. #4
    Certified SG Addict CableDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,786
    YOSC,

    Specs on the hard drive.

    Serial ATA
    WD1600B EVT-60z

    I'm guessing something like this:

    https://www.amazon.com/Anker-Portabl.../dp/B005B3VO24

    or this

    https://www.amazon.com/StarTech-com-...DE206CZF7S1QDX

  5. #5
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,899
    Ack..a WD "Blue"...high failure rate on the Blues. Plus only 5,400rpm. slow.

    Yup that's just a standard 2.5" SATA. So "yuppers"...those should work.

    The first one has a power adapter, so it can also spin up the regular desktop drive size..the 3.5" drives. As well as 2.5 and SSD.
    The non-power boosted ones, like your second link, they just pull parasitic power via the USB, so they only power smaller 2.5" and SSD. They usually can't spin up most of the larger 3.5" drives that need more juice.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  6. #6
    Certified SG Addict CableDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,786
    Quote Originally Posted by YeOldeStonecat View Post
    Ack..a WD "Blue"...high failure rate on the Blues. Plus only 5,400rpm. slow.

    Yup that's just a standard 2.5" SATA. So "yuppers"...those should work.

    The first one has a power adapter, so it can also spin up the regular desktop drive size..the 3.5" drives. As well as 2.5 and SSD.
    The non-power boosted ones, like your second link, they just pull parasitic power via the USB, so they only power smaller 2.5" and SSD. They usually can't spin up most of the larger 3.5" drives that need more juice.
    In the long run, might be better off with the first one, since it powers desktop drives. You never know.....

    Thanks for your help and clarification on all this.

  7. #7
    Certified SG Addict CableDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,786
    Quote Originally Posted by YeOldeStonecat View Post
    Ack..a WD "Blue"...high failure rate on the Blues. Plus only 5,400rpm. slow.

    Yup that's just a standard 2.5" SATA. So "yuppers"...those should work.

    The first one has a power adapter, so it can also spin up the regular desktop drive size..the 3.5" drives. As well as 2.5 and SSD.
    The non-power boosted ones, like your second link, they just pull parasitic power via the USB, so they only power smaller 2.5" and SSD. They usually can't spin up most of the larger 3.5" drives that need more juice.

    I don't think and I could be wrong that I don't have any USB 3.0 ports, but that stuff is backwards compatible, right?

  8. #8
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,899
    Yup....it'll work...backwards compat!
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  9. #9
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,988
    The IDE/SATA adapters are handy. Make sure to look at the directions, some of them require a decent amount of time to make the drive ready for use. I have a vantec one that takes a good 45 secs to a minute before windows will see anything from it.

  10. #10
    Certified SG Addict CableDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,786
    Thanks guys. Everything worked out fine. Windows immediately saw the drive, and I was able to transfer everything I need. Fortunately, I had the files situated in folders and didn't need to go hunting around.

  11. #11
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,375
    Blog Entries
    6
    Just threw away (*er, recycled) an old WD Blue 2.5" drive a couple of days ago, it was a pull from some laptop repair that was readable about 90% of the time, and would just hang at other times. I see no reason to keep spinners in laptops anymore.

  12. #12
    Senior Member nightowl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    ottawa, canada (ROCKS)
    Posts
    7,405
    Quote Originally Posted by Philip View Post
    Just threw away (*er, recycled) an old WD Blue 2.5" drive a couple of days ago, it was a pull from some laptop repair that was readable about 90% of the time, and would just hang at other times. I see no reason to keep spinners in laptops anymore.
    unless you need the storage. The hybrids are pretty good for that. I put one in my AMD toshiba satailte laptop with 12 gigs of ram and its been going strong (knock on wood) for the last 5 years.
    Quote Originally Posted by Zilog B
    Loading the dishwasher at brembo's house means bringing the fiancee a sixpack home.

Similar Threads

  1. HP laptop question
    By ctodd in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-26-08, 07:15 PM
  2. laptop question
    By horsemen_ in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-18-05, 02:30 AM
  3. Laptop question..
    By WolfgangPC in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-03-04, 05:32 PM
  4. Laptop Question
    By Zuma in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-01-02, 10:32 PM
  5. laptop question
    By Jesse23 in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-01-02, 09:10 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •