Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: IPv6 Settings

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Fullerton CA, USA or Florianopolis SC, Brazil
    Posts
    13

    IPv6 Settings

    I am trying to setup IPv6 on my RT-N66U running Shibby Tomato Firmware 1.28.0000 MIPSR2-140 K26 USB AIO-64K. From my ISP I get Delegated Prefix and IPv6 Gateway Address but my routers firmware only has a box to fill in Assigned / Routed Prefix in the Native IPv6 from ISP Service Type and only boxes for DNS servers in the DHCP with Prefix Delegation Service Type. I am in Brazil and using .Net cable as a provider and they don't seem to be able to give me any help so it has become trial and error on my side. I am sure one of the ISP Service types works but which one. Having said that I have tried the Native IPv6 from ISP and filled in the DNS servers but that has not worked so it leaves me with Native IPv6 from ISP but I don't know what to but in the Assigned / Routed Prefix box. Is it the Delegated Prefix address I get from the ISP or the IPv6 Gateway address?
    The reason I am able to see the Delegated Prefix and IPv6 Gateway Address is because I have their Modem/Router/Wi-Fi/Telephone device setup in Bridge mode but prior to setting to Bridge I viewed all of the settings and wrote them down then switched to Bridge mode.
    Can anyone tell me which of the two I can use to get my IPv6 working?
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,269
    Blog Entries
    6
    I would use the Delegated Prefix address you got from your ISP as the "Assigned/Routed Prefix".

    Some ISPs have buggy IPv6 implementations initially, especially if they don't know how to advise you to set it up.
    Linux is user friendly, it's just picky about its friends...
    Disclaimer: Please use caution when opening messages, my grasp on reality may have shaken loose during transmission (going on rusty memory circuits).
    ๑۩۞۩๑

  3. #3
    Elite Member TonyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Fairfax, VA
    Posts
    10,335
    No real need to use IP6 yet.
    No one has any right to force data on you
    and command you to believe it or else.
    If it is not true for you, it isn't true.

    LRH

Similar Threads

  1. Spectrum/TimeWarner Router IPv6 Settings
    By BillS in forum Provider Discussion and Reviews
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-16-18, 08:41 AM
  2. Netgear router: ipv6 is 1/3rd the speed of ipv4. Factory settings.
    By Robert Headley in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-19-17, 03:48 PM
  3. IPv6
    By morbidpete in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-07-12, 11:54 AM
  4. how to get IPv6
    By switchit in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-19-11, 06:54 PM
  5. IPv6 address not connecting but IPv4-mapped -IPv6 does. Please help.
    By DanielJohnson in forum alt.comp.networking.routers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-06-09, 07:10 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •