Thread: Creating a CAN

Creating a CAN

Hi all,

I am designing a Campus Area Network as part of a piece of homework.

I am a beginner in networking, and finding resources about specific is rather difficult.

I currently have planned to have a DMZ containing a proxy server (to access web browser through), a FTPS server, a web server, and a VoIP server. Then on the main network, I will also have a DNS Server, Print Server, DHCP Server, DFS File Server and a database server.

My question:

DNS Server, by my understanding, converts domain names into IP addresses and vice versa - similar to looking up in an address book. The Domain controller controls the user accounts for students etc. Therefore, do I also need a domain controller on my network, aswell as a DNS server?

Secondly, servers themselves. I have googled "How much does a DHCP server cost" so many times etc. and I can't seem to find a simple answer. I come the the conclusion its all one piece of software (Microsoft Server 2008 is what I've found) and you configure the software. So my next question from that; If I buy the disc for Microsoft Server 2008 to configure say, a DHCP server.. Do I then need to buy it again to configure the next server (a File server)? Or, can I use the disk to install the software again? I.e. is it a 1-time-buy for unlimited software installations? My second question to that, what is the "physical device" called on which I deploy my configured server, and presumably, I could buy 10 of them (one for each server)?

I'm aiming to have an all microsoft network.

I have asked in many places, and my question keeps being shut down as "too broad".... please can someone help me out here!

Cheers,
    Bob

Blog Entries
    Seems you will be attempting to build a complex network environment without the proper knowledge - may I suggest hiring network professionals with proper background/education to build it correctly, or at least in advisory capacity?

To answer some of your specific questions: