Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Netgear router: ipv6 is 1/3rd the speed of ipv4. Factory settings.

  1. #1
    Junior Member Robert Headley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Posts
    16

    Netgear router: ipv6 is 1/3rd the speed of ipv4. Factory settings.

    Netgear basically refused to acknowledge that I had a problem and told me to just use ipv4. If I bypass the router, everything works as it should. I have gigabit speed. Anyone have an idea what is going on?

  2. #2
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,300
    Blog Entries
    6
    What model router? Latest firmware? Is QoS on or off?
    Does it happen to all client devices, or just some/mobile ones?

    There are some reports on the Netgear support site about hardware limitation in some models that don't have hardware offload for IPv6 traffic, which may cause slower IPv6 speed... --> https://community.netgear.com/t5/VPN...4/td-p/1064991

    However, I'd try to udpate firmware, and test without QoS, and make sure it is happening do different network clients first, to eliminate other possible causes.

    Ultimately, if IPv4 works better and is proved to cause less load on the router hardware, I would use it too I suppose.

  3. #3
    Junior Member Robert Headley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Posts
    16
    Netgear Nighthawk R700 AC 1600. I can't imagine that it wouldn't able to handle ipv6 with all of the ram and processing power it has. I have the latest firmware, only using Ethernet. I only have one device capable of testing on ethernet. I believe I get limited speed on wifi as well, but I can not be sure. I have QoS turned off. Using IPv4 is not an option. I have co-workers who purchased the same router under my recommendation and none of them are having the same problem.

  4. #4
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,300
    Blog Entries
    6
    AFAIK, this issue is often associated with either buggy firmware, or bugs/overhead in extra services, such as QoS, router anti-virus/vulnerability protection, etc.

    I would compare settings/firmware versions with your co-workers, reboot both your cable modem and the router, also check OS versions of your client machines. You can also try resetting Winsock on your client OS.

    You also have the option of flashing dd-wrt I believe.

Similar Threads

  1. Slow Wireless speed using Netgear Router
    By suyog_11 in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-08-10, 07:06 AM
  2. WGT624v2 Netgear Router - Wired Speed 50% Lower
    By dchup in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-23-10, 12:42 PM
  3. router with ipv6
    By mikeyhsd in forum alt.internet.wireless
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 02-02-10, 10:17 AM
  4. IPv6 address not connecting but IPv4-mapped -IPv6 does. Please help.
    By DanielJohnson in forum alt.comp.networking.routers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-06-09, 07:10 PM
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-25-01, 01:16 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •