Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: tcp oPTIMIZER 4.06 Is not working in Win10 Ann. edition

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    2

    Question tcp oPTIMIZER 4.06 Is not working in Win10 Ann. edition

    Hi

    First time ever having problems with TCP Optimizer.....but it is making zero changes in Win 10 Pro, Build 14393.rs1_release 160715-1616.
    I upgraded to the new win 10 upgrade.....now when trying to apply the optimal settings on all adapters, it seems to apply the settings but upon reboot, the settings don't get applied. when reopened with admin rights of course, the current view is the same......it doesn't match the optimal settings when I choose that radio button. Is this a known bug.....something new......or is it just my PC.....but I can't get it to work like it always has....been using this for years.

    This is the log that gets created................also down below this report is my TCP analyzer report.....as you can see my RWIN is screwed up

    Windows 10 Pro (64-bit) Build:14393 6.3 25.09.2016 21:48:49
    !!!-------------------!!!
    netsh int ip show interfaces

    Idx Met MTU State Name
    --- ---------- ---------- ------------ ---------------------------
    1 75 4294967295 connected Loopback Pseudo-Interface 1
    16 5 1500 disconnected Ethernet
    13 50 1500 connected Wi-Fi
    5 25 1500 disconnected Local Area Connection* 3
    15 65 1500 disconnected Bluetooth Network Connection



    !!!-------------------!!!
    PowerShell.exe Get-NetAdapterRss -Name '*'


    !!!-------------------!!!
    PowerShell.exe Get-NetAdapterRsc -Name '*'


    !!!-------------------!!!
    PowerShell.exe Get-NetAdapterLso -Name '*'

    Name Version V1IPv4Enabled IPv4Enabled IPv6Enabled
    ---- ------- ------------- ----------- -----------
    Ethernet LSO Version 2 False False False




    !!!-------------------!!!
    PowerShell.exe Get-NetTCPSetting -SettingName InternetCustom


    SettingName : InternetCustom
    MinRto(ms) : 300
    InitialCongestionWindow(MSS) : 10
    CongestionProvider : CTCP
    CwndRestart : False
    DelayedAckTimeout(ms) : 50
    DelayedAckFrequency : 2
    MemoryPressureProtection : Disabled
    AutoTuningLevelLocal : Normal
    AutoTuningLevelGroupPolicy : NotConfigured
    AutoTuningLevelEffective : Local
    EcnCapability : Disabled
    Timestamps : Disabled
    InitialRto(ms) : 2000
    ScalingHeuristics : Disabled
    DynamicPortRangeStartPort : 1025
    DynamicPortRangeNumberOfPorts : 64510
    AutomaticUseCustom : Disabled
    NonSackRttResiliency : Disabled
    ForceWS : Disabled
    MaxSynRetransmissions : 2
    AutoReusePortRangeStartPort : 0
    AutoReusePortRangeNumberOfPorts : 0





    !!!-------------------!!!
    PowerShell.exe Get-NetOffloadGlobalSetting


    ReceiveSideScaling : Enabled
    ReceiveSegmentCoalescing : Enabled
    Chimney : Disabled
    TaskOffload : Enabled
    NetworkDirect : Enabled
    NetworkDirectAcrossIPSubnets : Blocked
    PacketCoalescingFilter : Enabled

    ******************************************************

    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results

    Tested on: 2016.09.25 21:56
    IP address: 162.255.xxx.x
    Client OS/browser: Windows 10 (Firefox 49.0)

    TCP options string: 020405b40103030801010402
    MSS: 1460
    MTU: 1500
    TCP Window: 65536 (NOT multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 8 bits (2^8=256)
    Unscaled RWIN : 256
    Recommended RWINs: 64240, 128480, 256960, 513920, 1027840
    BDP limit (200ms): 2621kbps (328KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 1049kbps (131KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 49
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)

  2. #2
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,373
    Blog Entries
    6
    The settings do get applied, however, your RWIN value changes automatically in newer OSes (Windows auto-tunes it on the fly depending on network conditions) so you will not see a different RWIN in the Analyzer.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    2

    Question Any Help is Welcome and Appreciated

    Quote Originally Posted by Philip View Post
    The settings do get applied, however, your RWIN value changes automatically in newer OSes (Windows auto-tunes it on the fly depending on network conditions) so you will not see a different RWIN in the Analyzer.


    yes.....but the auto tune has been set to normal ..................can you or anyone else look at these settings and tell me what's wrong and how to fix it maybe? any help is appreciated bery much!!


    PS C:\Users\kirkd> Get-NetTCPSetting


    SettingName : Automatic
    MinRto(ms) :
    InitialCongestionWindow(MSS) :
    CongestionProvider :
    CwndRestart :
    DelayedAckTimeout(ms) :
    DelayedAckFrequency :
    MemoryPressureProtection :
    AutoTuningLevelLocal :
    AutoTuningLevelGroupPolicy :
    AutoTuningLevelEffective :
    EcnCapability :
    Timestamps :
    InitialRto(ms) :
    ScalingHeuristics :
    DynamicPortRangeStartPort :
    DynamicPortRangeNumberOfPorts :
    AutomaticUseCustom :
    NonSackRttResiliency :
    ForceWS :
    MaxSynRetransmissions :
    AutoReusePortRangeStartPort :
    AutoReusePortRangeNumberOfPorts :

    SettingName : InternetCustom
    MinRto(ms) : 300
    InitialCongestionWindow(MSS) : 10
    CongestionProvider : CTCP
    CwndRestart : False
    DelayedAckTimeout(ms) : 50
    DelayedAckFrequency : 2
    MemoryPressureProtection : Disabled
    AutoTuningLevelLocal : Normal
    AutoTuningLevelGroupPolicy : NotConfigured
    AutoTuningLevelEffective : Local
    EcnCapability : Disabled
    Timestamps : Disabled
    InitialRto(ms) : 2000
    ScalingHeuristics : Disabled
    DynamicPortRangeStartPort : 1025
    DynamicPortRangeNumberOfPorts : 64510
    AutomaticUseCustom : Disabled
    NonSackRttResiliency : Disabled
    ForceWS : Disabled
    MaxSynRetransmissions : 2
    AutoReusePortRangeStartPort : 0
    AutoReusePortRangeNumberOfPorts : 0

    SettingName : DatacenterCustom
    MinRto(ms) : 20
    InitialCongestionWindow(MSS) : 10
    CongestionProvider : DCTCP
    CwndRestart : True
    DelayedAckTimeout(ms) : 10
    DelayedAckFrequency : 2
    MemoryPressureProtection : Disabled
    AutoTuningLevelLocal : Normal
    AutoTuningLevelGroupPolicy : NotConfigured
    AutoTuningLevelEffective : Local
    EcnCapability : Disabled
    Timestamps : Disabled
    InitialRto(ms) : 2000
    ScalingHeuristics : Disabled
    DynamicPortRangeStartPort : 1025
    DynamicPortRangeNumberOfPorts : 64510
    AutomaticUseCustom : Disabled
    NonSackRttResiliency : Disabled
    ForceWS : Disabled
    MaxSynRetransmissions : 2
    AutoReusePortRangeStartPort : 0
    AutoReusePortRangeNumberOfPorts : 0

    SettingName : Compat
    MinRto(ms) : 300
    InitialCongestionWindow(MSS) : 4
    CongestionProvider :
    CwndRestart : False
    DelayedAckTimeout(ms) : 200
    DelayedAckFrequency : 2
    MemoryPressureProtection : Disabled
    AutoTuningLevelLocal : Normal
    AutoTuningLevelGroupPolicy : NotConfigured
    AutoTuningLevelEffective : Local
    EcnCapability : Disabled
    Timestamps : Disabled
    InitialRto(ms) : 2000
    ScalingHeuristics : Disabled
    DynamicPortRangeStartPort : 1025
    DynamicPortRangeNumberOfPorts : 64510
    AutomaticUseCustom : Disabled
    NonSackRttResiliency : Disabled
    ForceWS : Disabled
    MaxSynRetransmissions : 2
    AutoReusePortRangeStartPort : 0
    AutoReusePortRangeNumberOfPorts : 0

    SettingName : Datacenter
    MinRto(ms) : 20
    InitialCongestionWindow(MSS) : 10
    CongestionProvider : DCTCP
    CwndRestart : True
    DelayedAckTimeout(ms) : 10
    DelayedAckFrequency : 2
    MemoryPressureProtection : Disabled
    AutoTuningLevelLocal : Normal
    AutoTuningLevelGroupPolicy : NotConfigured
    AutoTuningLevelEffective : Local
    EcnCapability : Disabled
    Timestamps : Disabled
    InitialRto(ms) : 2000
    ScalingHeuristics : Disabled
    DynamicPortRangeStartPort : 1025
    DynamicPortRangeNumberOfPorts : 64510
    AutomaticUseCustom : Disabled
    NonSackRttResiliency : Disabled
    ForceWS : Disabled
    MaxSynRetransmissions : 2
    AutoReusePortRangeStartPort : 0
    AutoReusePortRangeNumberOfPorts : 0

    SettingName : Internet
    MinRto(ms) : 300
    InitialCongestionWindow(MSS) : 10
    CongestionProvider : CTCP
    CwndRestart : False
    DelayedAckTimeout(ms) : 50
    DelayedAckFrequency : 2
    MemoryPressureProtection : Disabled
    AutoTuningLevelLocal : Normal
    AutoTuningLevelGroupPolicy : NotConfigured
    AutoTuningLevelEffective : Local
    EcnCapability : Disabled
    Timestamps : Disabled
    InitialRto(ms) : 2000
    ScalingHeuristics : Disabled
    DynamicPortRangeStartPort : 1025
    DynamicPortRangeNumberOfPorts : 64510
    AutomaticUseCustom : Disabled
    NonSackRttResiliency : Disabled
    ForceWS : Disabled
    MaxSynRetransmissions : 2
    AutoReusePortRangeStartPort : 0
    AutoReusePortRangeNumberOfPorts : 0



    PS C:\Users\kirkd>

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1
    I'm experiencing same as KIRKDJ. Either it's not saving the changes or something is re-setting them upon rebooting. More than the RWIN is affected. Some values are blank, others are reset to default. Is anyone looking or do I need to send log(s)?
    Thank you in advance.

  5. #5
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,373
    Blog Entries
    6
    Which setting is not saving ? What is it before and after reboot ? RWIN is not directly changed by the program under Windows 10, only the RWIN auto-tuning algorithm behavior.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    3
    Hi, I was just about to make a thread about this until I saw this post. The gui is showing that the settings were not saved properly after you click apply and let it reboot to make changes. After the reboot, here is what it shows. So my question is.. is this just a coding error and the changes were made or is what is reflected in the gui correct and it slipped up on making the changes?


  7. #7
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,373
    Blog Entries
    6
    The settings that are not read at program start are showing blank - this is by design.

    For most of them it is because they are Network Adapter specific, and you may have one NIC not supporting the setting, another supporting it with it enabled, another disabled... The program still applies the settings.

Similar Threads

  1. first TCP optimizer was working for me but now it's not
    By Asl_k in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 06-05-11, 10:41 AM
  2. TCP Optimizer Not Working
    By nick256 in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 10-15-08, 03:42 AM
  3. TCP Optimizer not working
    By aoaudio in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-25-05, 04:02 PM
  4. Optimizer not working?
    By PyschoGenic in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 06-22-03, 05:33 PM
  5. SG TCP/IP Optimizer not working?
    By Ursus in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-16-02, 04:36 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •