Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Setting up a wireless network

  1. #1

    Lightbulb Setting up a wireless network

    Hello mates,

    I m writing to ask for your help. I m in need of making my home network a little bigger, what I mean is that I have a wired modem with ethernet and I want to have wifi signal at my apartment and the basement. To do so, I m willing to use the following materials I have from older installations.

    1) Boudtec Modem ( http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3047/...2e121a.jpg?v=0 )
    2) TP-Link WA801ND ( http://www.tp-link.com/no/products/d...L-WA801ND.html )
    3) Air Live CF-WR300N ( https://voipshop.gr/516-thickbox_def...-cf-wr300n.jpg )
    4) TP-Link Switch ( http://uk.tp-link.com/products/details/TL-SF1005D.html )

    The option of a wireless connection between this equipment is out of question because the basement is three stories down and the reinforcement of concrete slabs act as a steel cage. And here I would like to mention that the apartment and the basement are connected with CAT5 cables one another.

    Thank you for your help in advance,
    Dimitris

  2. #2
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,329
    Blog Entries
    6
    You should leave the modem and one of the wireless router in the apartment. If you already have that network configured, just use one of the LAN ports on the wireless router, and connect it to a LAN port on the other wireless router downstairs. Setup the second router as an access point as per the instructions here:

    http://www.speedguide.net/articles/h...ess-point-2556

    I hope this helps.

  3. #3
    Hello mate,

    The thing on my setuo is that both router/access points have only WAN ports, thats where I m stuck... Maybe I need to buy one router with LAN ports ?

    Thank you,
    Dimitris

  4. #4
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,329
    Blog Entries
    6
    If your modem has LAN ports (and acts like a NAT router, giving local IPs to clients, etc.) you can use it as the router, and its LAN ports to connect your other router/access point to its LAN ports, turning off their NAT. This is contingent on you having a modem that is somewhat configurable, and acting as a router though.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    12
    do not remember turn off DHCP server as well. You must have just one DHCP server in your network.

Similar Threads

  1. Help setting up wireless network
    By collegeguy in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-14-05, 03:50 PM
  2. Help Setting up Wireless Network
    By laithmeister in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-31-04, 04:05 PM
  3. setting up a wireless network help please
    By justintime129 in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-29-04, 09:13 AM
  4. Setting up my wireless network
    By Altema in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10-11-03, 07:00 PM
  5. Need help setting up wireless network.. plz!
    By LeKtriX in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-07-03, 07:55 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •