Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: TCP Optimizer not completely restoring all the settings from original backup

  1. #1

    TCP Optimizer not completely restoring all the settings from original backup

    I used TCPOptimizer and changed my original settings to the Optimized setting to see if it would make a difference.

    I saved a backup of my original settings before I clicked to apply the changes and it rebooted my computer and all that.

    Later, when I wanted to go back to my old settings, I tried to restore to the old setting .spg file but it seems that after restoring back to the old settings, my current settings are still not exactly the same as my original settings.

    Namely, in my original settings, there were 3 things that were "No Key" but after restoring to the old settings these parameters are not going back to "No Key":

    my QoS NonBestEffortLimit was "No Key" but now even after supposedly restoring using the backup of those settings, it leaves that value at "0" instead of "No Key".

    The second thing is the TCPNoDelay value - It's showing "Default: n/a" after restoring, even though the original was "No Key".
    The same thing happened to QoS Do Not Use NLA, which is now left at "1" instead of being "No Key".

    What can I do to change these parameters back to "no key"? Or is NonBestEffortLimit being at 0 the same as No Key, for example, and so on for the other two values too? Thanks

  2. #2
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,445
    Blog Entries
    6
    "default n/a" should be the same as "no key", are you sure they were not there originally ? Will look into the QoS NonBestEffortLimit.

  3. #3
    Hi, thanks for the swift reply!

    Regarding the dilemma I've been having, I couldn't figure out how to attach images on this forum, so I've uploaded screenshots to tinyurl. http://imgur.com/a/k9nvm

    The first one is from a screenshot i took of my original unmodified settings. It read "No Key" for those parameters (I've circled them)

    The bottom one is a screenshot of what it looks like currently, the "restored" settings (i've circled the settings that have not apparently bounced back to its original value)

    So as can be seen, in the top picture for example the TCPNodelay is set to No Key, but in the bottom it's now at "N/A" (default N/A)

  4. #4
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,445
    Blog Entries
    6
    For TCPNoDelay: the "No Key" and "default: n/a" are the same, so there is nothing for you to do.
    For NonBestEffortLimit: Delete the number in the box, and it will delete the value from the registry
    For "Do not use NLA": Choose "default: n/a" in the combo box and apply, it will delete the value from the registry

    We will look into the backup/restore discrepancy in the QoS advanced settings, thanks for the screenshot.

Similar Threads

  1. TCP Optimizer: Diff bwteen "Backup" + "Export" current settings ?
    By pstein in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-22-07, 10:48 AM
  2. TCP Optimizer backup files
    By girltech in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-21-06, 08:01 AM
  3. saving my BF2 settings for backup ?
    By Mark in forum Gaming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-05-05, 08:14 PM
  4. Original Tweak Settings
    By kevin111 in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-13-05, 02:39 PM
  5. Are the Optimizer settings and Cablenut settings compatible?
    By ratchet in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-19-05, 11:48 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •