Hello all,
I'm a noob to this forum so please bear with me. Yesterday I received an email from Charter Security stating the following:

"Dear Spectrum Internet Customer,

Charter Communications has been notified of a potential security related issue with your internet service.

Issue Description – A device on your network is capable of a network-impacting, distributed denial-of-service (DDoS) attack because it is acting as a DNS Open Resolver. This can allow hackers the ability to launch large attacks against others using your equipment.

We are asking that you take immediate action to remediate this issue.

Remediation Recommendations:

•Verify your router has the most current firmware.
•Consider disabling your DNS Proxy or Recursive Resolver in your router configuration settings.

Note: You may need to visit the webpage of your router’s manufacturer to obtain the latest firmware update or for information on how to make changes to your router.

Please be advised that Charter’s Acceptable Use Policies explicitly prohibit actions, whether intentional or unintentional, that disrupt Charter’s network. These policies are available on https://www.charter.com/browse/content/services for your convenience.

Repeated events and/or complaints pertaining to this network abuse issue may result in an interruption of your service.

If you have any questions, please contact the Subscriber Services Security Team at 1-866-229-7289. Our Subscriber Services Security Team is available to provide assistance from 8am – 8pm CST, Monday through Friday and from 8am – 5pm CST, Saturday and Sunday.

Sincerely,
Charter Communications

--- The following material was provided to us as evidence ---

[Part 0 (plain text)]

Issue Description: Open DNS Resolver Vulnerability Vulnerable Port: 53 Vulnerable IP Address: 97.83.36.108
Timestamp: 8/31/2015 3:11:15 GMT"