Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 54

Thread: Argh, Win7 64 bit install issues

  1. #1
    resident Humboldt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    27,824

    Argh, Win7 64 bit install issues

    New rig, clean install w/ new Win7 64bit onto a SSD.
    Sees the DVD and SSD fine, loads the Windows files in about a minute, then hangs on "starting windows" and never gets any further.

    All new parts, short of the case/MB.
    Seeing threads like this: http://www.tomshardware.com/answers/...g-windows.html but not seeing any options like that in BIOS.

    Suggestions appreciated, thanks.

  2. #2
    resident Humboldt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    27,824
    Have tried enabling Legacy mode, SATA mode to AHCI, swapping SATA cables around.
    Set to boot from CDROM, brand new Win7 64 disk in.
    New SSD, seen by BIOS.

    Same each time, loads Windows files then get stuck at "loading Windows"

  3. #3
    resident plumber Mark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    .
    Posts
    13,148
    so you can't install windows yet ?

    try using as USB thumbdrive install instead, and use a USB 2 port instaed of a USB 3 port.

    just google how to make a USB install, really easy to do.


    on my brothers PC his mobo can not install from a DVD, has to be USB thumbdrive
    4930K@4.3~32GBGskill~asusX79deluxe~r9-280x~240GB-SSD-OS drive~500GB-SSD-scratch~240GB-SSD-thrash~2TB storage~Windows 7 pro
    *~ SG stats ~my stats

  4. #4
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,900
    Retail Windows DVD? Or a burnt one?
    Just for giggles...try a test install to some old SATA HDD you have laying around...just to see if it gets further.
    Did you blow away existing partitions on the SSD...create a new one, quick format it? And then pave Windows on it?
    64 bit Windows is the same install method as 32 bit...you really don't see any difference. Except in performance of course once it's up and running and you have at least 4 giggies of rammage.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  5. #5
    R.I.P. Nov 2015 RaisinCain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,951
    Turn off UEFI in the BIOS and set it to Leagacy.

  6. #6
    resident Humboldt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    27,824
    Quote Originally Posted by RaisinCain View Post
    Turn off UEFI in the BIOS and set it to Leagacy.
    Been looking for that option but can't find it.

  7. #7
    resident Humboldt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    27,824
    Quote Originally Posted by YeOldeStonecat View Post
    Retail Windows DVD? Or a burnt one?
    Just for giggles...try a test install to some old SATA HDD you have laying around...just to see if it gets further.
    Did you blow away existing partitions on the SSD...create a new one, quick format it? And then pave Windows on it?
    64 bit Windows is the same install method as 32 bit...you really don't see any difference. Except in performance of course once it's up and running and you have at least 4 giggies of rammage.
    New OEM, purchased and shipped.
    Not given the option to do anything to the SSD. It see it in BIOS though. Should I not have it set to boot from CDROM?
    In the past I've been given the option to reformat upoon Win installation but not this time, it hangs before it gets there.

  8. #8
    resident Humboldt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    27,824
    Quote Originally Posted by Mark View Post
    so you can't install windows yet ?

    try using as USB thumbdrive install instead, and use a USB 2 port instaed of a USB 3 port.

    just google how to make a USB install, really easy to do.


    on my brothers PC his mobo can not install from a DVD, has to be USB thumbdrive
    I'll try that tonight, but it does give the option to boot from CDROM.

  9. #9
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,900
    Quote Originally Posted by Humboldt View Post
    New OEM, purchased and shipped.
    Not given the option to do anything to the SSD. It see it in BIOS though. Should I not have it set to boot from CDROM?
    In the past I've been given the option to reformat upoon Win installation but not this time, it hangs before it gets there.
    Never get to this screen here where you can choose custom install so you can manage the disk(s)?
    http://res2.windows.microsoft.com/re...21a993e_68.jpg
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  10. #10
    resident Humboldt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    27,824
    Quote Originally Posted by YeOldeStonecat View Post
    Retail Windows DVD? Or a burnt one?
    Just for giggles...try a test install to some old SATA HDD you have laying around...just to see if it gets further.
    Did you blow away existing partitions on the SSD...create a new one, quick format it? And then pave Windows on it?
    64 bit Windows is the same install method as 32 bit...you really don't see any difference. Except in performance of course once it's up and running and you have at least 4 giggies of rammage.
    That's the weird part, I'm not getting to the Windows installation screen at all.
    Straight to "loading Windows files" to a black screen that says "starting Windows" at the bottom. It just hangs there.

  11. #11
    Freedom Fighter jeremyboycool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montana
    Posts
    4,985
    Did you try shaking your fist at the computer screen while spewing out empty threats of chucking it out the front door?
    "The greatest enemy of knowledge is not ignorance, it is the illusion of knowledge." - Stephen Hawking

  12. #12
    resident plumber Mark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    .
    Posts
    13,148
    Quote Originally Posted by jeremyboycool View Post
    did you try shaking your fist at the computer screen while spewing out empty threats of chucking it out the front door?
    lol

  13. #13
    resident plumber Mark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    .
    Posts
    13,148
    disable on-board graphics and try it, or enable on-board and remove add-in card until windows is installed.

    can you try a linux boot CD and see if that works

  14. #14
    resident Humboldt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    27,824
    Quote Originally Posted by Mark View Post
    disable on-board graphics and try it.
    No luck, same thing.
    Making a USB install now.

  15. #15
    resident Humboldt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    27,824
    Quote Originally Posted by Humboldt View Post
    No luck, same thing.
    Making a USB install now.
    Tried the USB install, same hang only it gets to the hanging point much faster.
    Always hangs at the same point.
    Will try another hdd tomorrow to rule that out.


    Wondering if I have a bad Win7 disk, as unlikely as it sounds, since it hung at the same point for the DVD and USB.
    It's hanging on "Windows\systems32\drivers\disk.sys"
    Will try this tomorrow:
    Have you ever try to install Windows 7 but it did not complete the installation and stuck at Windows logo? When you try to boot into safe mode it stuck at system32\drivers\disk.sys? Worried no more, here's a solution to this issue!

    Problem cause by : pcmcia.sys file is corrupted

    Steps:
    1) Use the Windows 7 DVD to start the computer in Windows Recovery (WinRE).

    2) In WinRE, open a command prompt. To do this, follow these steps:

    On the Install Windows screen, select the appropriate Language to install, Time and currency format, and Keyboard or input method options, and then click Next.

    3) Click Repair your computer.

    4) Click the 7 installation that you want to repair, and then click Next.

    5) Click Command Prompt and type

    cd windows\system32\drivers
    and press Enter, then type

    ren pcmcia.sys to pcmcia.bak
    6) Restart the computer
    How the hell am I supposed to get it into WinRE if I can't get it to run the DVD in the first place?

  16. #16
    R.I.P. Nov 2015 RaisinCain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,951
    Who is the manufacturer of the mobo and what is the model number?

  17. #17
    Ft. Couch! morbidpete's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    W. Warwick RI
    Posts
    7,272
    bad disc or ISO? I would obtain another

  18. #18
    R.I.P. Nov 2015 RaisinCain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,951
    Both DVD and USB media doing the same thing. You need to disable EUFI in the BIOS and set it to legacy (unless you want to install windows 8 or above).

  19. #19
    Ft. Couch! morbidpete's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    W. Warwick RI
    Posts
    7,272
    Quote Originally Posted by RaisinCain View Post
    Both DVD and USB media doing the same thing. You need to disable EUFI in the BIOS and set it to legacy (unless you want to install windows 8 or above).
    He mentioned he could not find that setting. If that MB has the pretty gui like mine does, I had to select the old gui/legacy gui on the right side of the screen to find it last year. Hopefully that helps.

  20. #20
    resident Humboldt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    27,824
    Quote Originally Posted by RaisinCain View Post
    Who is the manufacturer of the mobo and what is the model number?
    GIGABYTE S-Series
    GA-H55M-S2V

Similar Threads

  1. Install issues
    By 24giovanni in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-02-14, 07:56 PM
  2. Win7 64bit system won't let any Google products install!!
    By X-Nemesis in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 01-30-12, 01:53 PM
  3. BF-V install issues?
    By |D|Kin6slay3r in forum Gaming
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 10-18-09, 09:08 PM
  4. Card install issues.
    By burple in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-29-06, 03:17 AM
  5. software install issues
    By RAAF453_Shep in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-16-04, 06:32 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •