Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: vdsl2 optimize settings

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    6

    vdsl2 optimize settings

    hi all

    TCP options string = 020405780103030801010402
    MTU = 1440
    MTU is not fully optimized for broadband. Consider increasing your MTU to 1500 for better throughput. If you are using a router, it could be limiting your MTU regardless of Registry settings.
    MSS = 1400
    MSS is not optimized for broadband. Consider increasing your MTU value.
    Default TCP Receive Window (RWIN) = 66560
    RWIN Scaling (RFC1323) = 8 bits (scale factor: 2^8=256)
    Unscaled TCP Receive Window = 260

    In Windows 8.1, unless "TCP/IP Auto-Tuning" is disabled, only the Current TCP Window is displayed. Use the latest TCP Optimizer for tweaking.
    You seem to be using Google Chrome. Note that Chrome can modify the TCP Window for sockets it creates under some OSes, and therefore servers may not get your correct RWIN value. You may want to test with a different browser. FAQ
    RWIN is not fully optimized. The unscaled RWIN value is lower than it should be. Also, RWIN being close to and above 65535 does not justify the header overhead of enabling TCP 1323 Options. You might want to use one of the recommended RWIN values below.

    For optimum performance, consider changing RWIN to a multiple of MSS.
    Other RWIN values that might work well with your current MTU/MSS:
    64400 (up to 2 Mbit lines, depending on latency. MSS * 46)
    128800 (1-5 Mbit lines, depending on latency. MSS * 46 * 2)
    257600 (2-14 Mbit lines, depending on latency. MSS * 46 * 2^2)
    515200 (8-30 Mbit lines, depending on latency. MSS * 46 * 2^3)
    1030400 (25-60 Mbit lines depending on latency. MSS * 46 * 2^4)
    bandwidth * delay product (Note this is not a speed test):

    Your TCP Window limits you to: 2662 kbps (333 KBytes/s) @ 200ms
    Your TCP Window limits you to: 1065 kbps (133 KBytes/s) @ 500ms
    MTU Discovery (RFC1191) = ON
    Time to live left = 44 hops
    TTL value is ok.
    Timestamps (RFC1323) = OFF
    Selective Acknowledgements (RFC2018) = ON
    IP type of service field (RFC1349) = 00000000 (0)

    I use vdsl2

    PPPoE
    Encapsulation: VCMUX
    modem mtu: 1492
    win8.1 pro
    realtek on board lan

    I play online gaming BF4. I've tried dozens of settings, but I'm not sure done.
    Last edited by codetr; 06-23-15 at 12:28 PM.

  2. #2
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida
    Posts
    11,353
    Blog Entries
    6
    Have you tried the TCP Optimizer ? Just set it to "optimal" and apply the settings to start with.

    Your effective MTU seems to be 1440 rather than 1492... It could be imposed by your ISP. If you can't get bigger packets, I'd just set the local MTU at the same number.

    You may want to check the Gaming tweaks article here: http://www.speedguide.net/articles/gaming-tweaks-5812
    There is also a Network Adapter optimization article linked at the bottom you may want to see.

    I hope this helps

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by Philip View Post
    Have you tried the TCP Optimizer ? Just set it to "optimal" and apply the settings to start with.

    Your effective MTU seems to be 1440 rather than 1492... It could be imposed by your ISP. If you can't get bigger packets, I'd just set the local MTU at the same number.

    You may want to check the Gaming tweaks article here: http://www.speedguide.net/articles/gaming-tweaks-5812
    There is also a Network Adapter optimization article linked at the bottom you may want to see.

    I hope this helps
    I doing that I try optimal or custom after restart open again TCP Optimizer still I see same options don't change anything.

    ping google.com -f -l 1464 not fragment
    ping google.com -f -l 1472 fragmented

    my ipv4 mtu is 1492

    I try 1440 mtu SG TCP/IP Analyzer I got the same results.
    Last edited by codetr; 06-24-15 at 04:40 AM.

Similar Threads

  1. Pls help me optimize
    By rc8marcelo in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-20-09, 06:35 AM
  2. Help Optimize
    By Jake in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-25-08, 07:34 AM
  3. Optimize me
    By samisg in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-19-07, 08:40 PM
  4. Please Help Me Optimize
    By KingsFan0421 in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-21-04, 09:55 PM
  5. help me optimize
    By Ryan2845 in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-19-04, 10:38 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •