Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 234567 LastLast
Results 101 to 120 of 122

Thread: TCP Optimizer 4 Released (Windows 7 / 8.1 / 10 / 2012 Server R2 are all supported)

  1. #101
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    11
    I'm still looking
    maybe this is also helpful
    https://stackoverflow.com/questions/...-in-powershell

  2. #102
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,343
    Blog Entries
    6
    We may have to change the way the program reads RSS and RSC at startup, we just have to test which OSes are compatible (and correctly display) Get-NetOffloadGlobalSetting.

    Some Windows versions/builds had discrepancies in what is returned with netsh vs PowerShell cmdlets for some of the settings, hence the mixture of methods used by the program. We will likely resort to using PowerShell, at least for newer OS variants.

  3. #103
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,343
    Blog Entries
    6
    The TCP Optimizer has been updated to version 4.0.9.

    It now reads RSS and RSC at startup via PowerShell. We also changed the way they are applied to the global PowerShell setting. The recommended optimal RSC setting was changed to "disabled" as well, as it is better disabled for gaming/latency and Wi-Fi adapters.


    Djfe and ukue, please confirm if it now correctly reads RSS and RSC on startup with your international Windows variants? Thanks in advance.

  4. #104
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    11
    yes, it works

  5. #105
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by Philip View Post
    The TCP Optimizer has been updated to version 4.0.9.

    It now reads RSS and RSC at startup via PowerShell. We also changed the way they are applied to the global PowerShell setting. The recommended optimal RSC setting was changed to "disabled" as well, as it is better disabled for gaming/latency and Wi-Fi adapters.


    Djfe and ukue, please confirm if it now correctly reads RSS and RSC on startup with your international Windows variants? Thanks in advance.
    It works now! thank you so much for your work!!

  6. #106
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,343
    Blog Entries
    6
    Thanks for the feedback, glad it's working now

  7. #107
    Philip,

    Can we also check the LSO. In my case it doesn't read it right in Windows 10 PRO x64. Tried experimenting with it. Enabled it using poweshell and the app still reads it as "disabled"

  8. #108
    SG Wizard Ashdaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Smithfield, New South Wales, Australia, Australia
    Posts
    973
    The new version works really well Philip.
    Main Computer:
    GA97X G3
    i7 4790K
    GTX960
    32gb Ram
    1TB Samsung 860 SSD
    NZXT Case

  9. #109
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,343
    Blog Entries
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by MagikMark View Post
    Philip,

    Can we also check the LSO. In my case it doesn't read it right in Windows 10 PRO x64. Tried experimenting with it. Enabled it using poweshell and the app still reads it as "disabled"
    Not all adapters support LSO.. What is the ouput of this PowerShell cmdlet in your system?

    Get-NetAdapterLso -Name *

  10. #110


    I disabled it for now

  11. #111
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,343
    Blog Entries
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by MagikMark View Post


    I disabled it for now
    Mark, this should be read correctly. In order for us to troubleshoot it further, can you please copy the command output and paste it into a text file, then email it to me ( philip @ sg ) ? Thanks.

  12. #112
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    14
    one minor problem with latest version of TCP Optimizer. It seems to "mis-identify" Windows 10 Pro v1803 as "Windows 10 Enterprise build 17134" on one of my computers



    it should be updated to correctly recognize the proper edition of Win10 v1803 RS4 version

  13. #113
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,343
    Blog Entries
    6
    Thanks for the info. The build number is correct (17134.254), just the "Enterprise" wording is incorrect.

    Seems this is a Microsoft omission. Reading from the Windows Registry, the 32-bit location of "ProductName" shows the correct "Windows 10 Pro" wording, while the 64-bit equivalent shows "Windows 10 Enteprise" :

    32-bit: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\ProductName
    64-bit: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\WOW6432Node\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\ProductName

  14. #114
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,343
    Blog Entries
    6
    It has been updated to properly read "Pro" instead of "Enterprise", if you re-download the exe from our site. There are no functionality changes, so the program version was not changed from 4.0.9.

  15. #115
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by Philip View Post
    It has been updated to properly read "Pro" instead of "Enterprise", if you re-download the exe from our site. There are no functionality changes, so the program version was not changed from 4.0.9.
    My download of this tool has the apply link greyed out. My Optimizer looks like the ones already posted with the apply link greyed out. Is this supposed to be that color, or should this novice click elsewhere?

  16. #116
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    11
    You need to choose settings first
    by selecting checkboxes at the bottom of the program

    Optimal is a profile that selects the values of which the author of this program thinks that they are more optimal than the default ones of windows

    Custom allows you to set each variable to values that you prefer

    you can also do optimal first, then apply it and then customize it afterwards

  17. #117
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by Djfe View Post
    You need to choose settings first
    by selecting checkboxes at the bottom of the program

    Optimal is a profile that selects the values of which the author of this program thinks that they are more optimal than the default ones of windows

    Custom allows you to set each variable to values that you prefer

    you can also do optimal first, then apply it and then customize it afterwards
    Thanks. That worked. Now to test the program. Should any visible changes be noticed?

  18. #118
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,343
    Blog Entries
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by horseshoe View Post
    Thanks. That worked. Now to test the program. Should any visible changes be noticed?
    How visible the changes are depends on your line. Problematic connections, older OSes, in the presence of packet loss, etc. will have a more visible change right away. Fast, working connections, close to the advertised speed limit will only see visible difference in connections to more distant servers even though the connection is better optimized on your end.

  19. #119
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    3
    Hey there, this tool needs upgrading... since it can only optimize for up to 100 mbps. What about those of us on 1GB speeds?

  20. #120
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,343
    Blog Entries
    6
    Hello vgchat,

    It is 100+ Mbps, including 1GBps. The same settings are applied for 100Mbps and up. The only difference would be bumping the TCP Window auto-tuning algorithm even higher (from "normal" to "experimental"), nut we've found that it makes PCs unstable in high-speed transfers, as it can consume too much memory unnecessarily, and it also causes issues with local LAN shares transfers.
    Linux is user friendly, it's just picky about its friends...
    Disclaimer: Please use caution when opening messages, my grasp on reality may have shaken loose during transmission (going on rusty memory circuits).
    ๑۩۞۩๑

Similar Threads

  1. When will TCP Optimizer support Windows 8 & Windows Server 2012?
    By enihcam in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: 12-13-14, 06:46 PM
  2. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 09-16-10, 10:02 AM
  3. TCP Optimizer version 3.0.3 released (64-bit Windows 7/2008 fix)
    By Philip in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 09-06-10, 10:18 AM
  4. TCP Optimizer version 3.0.2 released (Windows 7/Vista support !)
    By Philip in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 07-29-10, 03:07 PM
  5. TCP Optimizer version 3.0 released ! (Windows 7/Vista support)
    By Philip in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 37
    Last Post: 07-12-10, 10:27 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •