Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast
Results 41 to 60 of 122

Thread: TCP Optimizer 4 Released (Windows 7 / 8.1 / 10 / 2012 Server R2 are all supported)

  1. #41
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Milwaukie,OR
    Posts
    10

    Question

    I am missing a bunch of settings even though when I set to Optimal and saved them it said it saved, I even tried saving as custom but each time I open TCP Optimized in current those options are listed as blank.
    [IMG][/IMG]

    Also included is the log file

    Windows 10 Home (64-bit) Build:10586 6.3 05.12.2015 02:17:18
    !!!-------------------!!!
    netsh int ip show interfaces

    Idx Met MTU State Name
    --- ---------- ---------- ------------ ---------------------------
    17 20 1500 connected Wireless Network Connection
    18 5 1500 disconnected Local Area Connection* 2
    9 50 1400 disconnected Ethernet
    10 5 1500 disconnected Local Area Connection* 3
    1 50 4294967295 connected Loopback Pseudo-Interface 1
    7 5 1500 disconnected Local Area Connection



    !!!-------------------!!!
    PowerShell.exe Get-NetAdapterRss -Name '*'


    Name : Local Area Connection
    InterfaceDescription : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Enabled : True
    NumberOfReceiveQueues :
    Profile :
    BaseProcessor: [Group:Number] : :
    MaxProcessor: [Group:Number] : :
    MaxProcessors :
    RssProcessorArray: [Group:Number/NUMA Distance] :
    IndirectionTable: [Group:Number] :





    !!!-------------------!!!
    PowerShell.exe Get-NetAdapterRsc -Name '*'


    !!!-------------------!!!
    PowerShell.exe Get-NetAdapterLso -Name '*'

    Name Version V1IPv4Enabled IPv4Enabled IPv6Enabled
    ---- ------- ------------- ----------- -----------
    Local Area Connection LSO Version 2 False True True




    !!!-------------------!!!
    PowerShell.exe Get-NetTCPSetting -SettingName InternetCustom


    SettingName : InternetCustom
    MinRto(ms) : 300
    InitialCongestionWindow(MSS) : 4
    CongestionProvider : CTCP
    CwndRestart : False
    DelayedAckTimeout(ms) : 50
    DelayedAckFrequency : 2
    MemoryPressureProtection : Disabled
    AutoTuningLevelLocal : Normal
    AutoTuningLevelGroupPolicy : NotConfigured
    AutoTuningLevelEffective : Local
    EcnCapability : Disabled
    Timestamps : Disabled
    InitialRto(ms) : 2000
    ScalingHeuristics : Disabled
    DynamicPortRangeStartPort : 49152
    DynamicPortRangeNumberOfPorts : 16384
    AutomaticUseCustom : Disabled
    NonSackRttResiliency : Disabled
    ForceWS : Disabled
    MaxSynRetransmissions : 2
    AutoReusePortRangeStartPort : 0
    AutoReusePortRangeNumberOfPorts : 0





    !!!-------------------!!!
    PowerShell.exe Get-NetOffloadGlobalSetting


    ReceiveSideScaling : Enabled
    ReceiveSegmentCoalescing : Disabled
    Chimney : Disabled
    TaskOffload : Enabled
    NetworkDirect : Disabled
    NetworkDirectAcrossIPSubnets : Blocked
    PacketCoalescingFilter : Enabled

  2. #42
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,363
    Blog Entries
    6
    The options that are blank are those that are not read at program start (for most of them it is because they are Network-card specific, and you may have one NIC not supporting the setting, another supporting it with it enabled, another disabled)... The program still applies the settings.

  3. #43
    Junior Member Davy49's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    USA-Texas
    Posts
    2

    Question

    Hi Philip,
    I used to live in Jacksonville, FL, moved to Texas ( close to Dallas ) about 2 year's ago. I'm typing this post on my laptop that's running MS Vista Home Premium Edition Version 6.0 (Build 6002:Service Pack 2 ). I downloaded the latest version of TCP Optimizer ( 4.0.3.0 ) this morning, I slid the connection speed slider to the connection speed I'm supposed to be getting from my communication's provider ( AT&T U-Verse ), I'm on the 'Power' speed ( 45 Mbps ) download. I clicked on the 'optimal' button @ the bottom of the page prompt..I was informed by a screen prompt that my computer must be restarted for the change's to take effect. After doing so..I started the program once again in 'administrator mode' , when the program opened, instead of the 'optimal' button being highlighted like I had selected, the 'normal' button was. I'm confused as to why this happened..could you please advise on this issue. By the way..I also installed this software on my wifes laptop that runs windows 7 home premium 64-bit, it seems like it now takes longer that it used to establish a wi-fi connection. Of course on my laptop using Windows Vista, it's ALWAYS taken longer to establish a wi-fi connection, I guess I've just determined that it's 'normal' on my laptop.
    Thanks,
    David

    Update: Added connection information...
    « SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results »
    Tested on: 2015.12.26 08:24
    IP address: xx.xxx.xxx.xxx
    Client OS/browser: Windows Vista (Chrome 47.0.2526.106)

    TCP options string: 020405b40103030801010402
    MSS: 1460
    MTU: 1500
    TCP Window: 17408 (NOT multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 8 bits (2^8=256)
    Unscaled RWIN : 68
    Recommended RWINs: 64240, 128480, 256960, 513920, 1027840
    BDP limit (200ms): 696kbps (87KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 279kbps (35KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 115
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)
    Last edited by Davy49; 12-26-15 at 08:31 AM. Reason: Additional Information

  4. #44
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,363
    Blog Entries
    6
    Hello David,

    It is normal behavior for the program to start with the "current" radio button selected, rather than the "optimal" one, the "optimal" settings were already applied. As to how fast the wi-fi connection is acquired, this may depend on a number of unrelated factors, including the specific network card, the wireless/noise environment in that particular location, number of clients, OS, etc.

    Best,

    Philip

  5. #45
    Junior Member Davy49's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    USA-Texas
    Posts
    2
    Hi Philip,
    Happy New Year ! Thanks for a reply..as far as my wifes laptop that's running windows 7 home premium 64-bit, I'm wondering if the anti-virus software that I have installed on it ( Avira Free Edition ) might be contributing to the problem. As I remember, previously I had Panda Free anti-virus installed on it, and as I remember the wifi connection seemed to connect somewhat quicker. Also, as I'm on AT&T U-Verse service, some time ago I requested a newer gateway..I currently have a Pace 5268AC . I still feel as though there MUST be a setting that could be changed so as to speed up the wireless connection to the gateway. Of course the culprit might be microsoft and one of their updates that could have affected the connection speed.
    Thanks,
    David

  6. #46
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,363
    Blog Entries
    6
    David,

    You can try turning off the anti-virus to check that theory. I find the Microsoft Essentials adequate in most cases. Other than that, you can try updating the Network Adapter driver, and there are many tweaks outlined in our Wireless Network tweaks article here: http://www.speedguide.net/articles/w...ed-tweaks-5681

  7. #47
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,363
    Blog Entries
    6
    Updated the TCP Optimizer to version 4.0.4 - changed the recommended "TCP Chimney Offload" setting, it is now considered deprecated by Microsoft and may cause issues with some database servers and multi-threaded environments.

  8. #48
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    1

    Angry

    I have a strange probolem. Using Windows 10. Using TCP optimizer 4 as Admin. My problem is that I have to restart computer in afternoon because of drop from my 150Mbps to only 30/40...

    These are settings when I run it...

    Look like TCP can´t save my setting to registry:

    First run:

    [URL=https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B783z7R74l75aXRZUlkwRW93Yk0[/URL]

    Optimalization and to registry saving:

    https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B7...nYtTzgwQVZiTjQ

    After restart, again picture 1, as first run..

    I am doing stq wrong? Thank you.
    Last edited by Ayax; 03-24-16 at 11:53 AM.

  9. #49
    Hi Philip,

    I upgraded my wi-fi card from my onboard card to a PCI-E card. I had originally applied the optimizer settings to the onboard card, no problem. I now launch the program with the intention of applying the optimization of the new card but the program won't detect my new card. Do you have any ideas why it might not see the new card in the adapter list? Is there anything I can do?

    Thanks,

    JM

  10. #50
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,363
    Blog Entries
    6
    johnathonm, look up in the Windows Registry (search > type: regedit) under the following hive:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\NetworkCards

    Is that PCI-E card listed there ?

    How about if you type the following in command prompt: netsh int ip show interfaces

    What is the name listed in the netsh output and the Registry hive ?

  11. #51

    Card not detected under latest Windows build

    Hi Philip,


    Just an FYI,

    Under the latest build of Windows the optimizer is not detecting the network card.



    J

  12. #52
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by johnathonm View Post
    Hi Philip,


    Just an FYI,

    Under the latest build of Windows the optimizer is not detecting the network card.

    J


    Its the same for me!

    DATA
    « SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results »
    Tested on: 2016.04.23 04:56
    IP address: 78.181.xxx.xxx
    Client OS/browser: Windows 10 (Chrome 49.0.2623.110)

    TCP options string: 020405ac0103030e01010402
    MSS: 1452
    MTU: 1492
    TCP Window: 65536 (NOT multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 14 bits (2^14=16384)
    Unscaled RWIN : 4
    Recommended RWINs: 63888, 127776, 255552, 511104, 1022208
    BDP limit (200ms): 2621kbps (328KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 1049kbps (131KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 40
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000010 (2)
    Precedence: 000 (routine)
    Delay: 0 (normal delay)
    Throughput: 0 (normal throughput)
    Reliability: 0 (normal reliability)
    Cost: 1 (low cost)
    Check bit: 0 (correct)
    DSCP (DiffServ): CS0 000000 (0) - class 0, default traffic (RFC 2474).


    Last edited by spiderone; 04-23-16 at 05:11 AM. Reason: additional INFO

  13. #53
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,363
    Blog Entries
    6
    johnathonm and spiderone, can either of you do the following please ?

    1. Start regedit (START > type: regedit), and look up in the Windows Registry under the following hive:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\NetworkCards

    Is that PCI-E card listed there ?

    How about if you type the following in command prompt: netsh int ip show interfaces

    What is the name listed in the netsh output and the Registry hive ?

  14. #54
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    2
    Phillip;

    1. Start regedit (START > type: regedit), and look up in the Windows Registry under the following hive:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\NetworkCards

    The card is not listed!

    C:\WINDOWS\system32>netsh int ip show interfaces

    Idx Met MTU State Name
    --- ---------- ---------- ------------ ---------------------------
    5 25 1500 connected Ethernet
    9 25 1500 disconnected WiFi
    22 25 1500 disconnected Local Area Connection* 2
    24 55 1500 connected Ethernet 2
    1 75 4294967295 connected Loopback Pseudo-Interface 1

    ok.. How to add the Network Card in the registry?

  15. #55
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,363
    Blog Entries
    6
    spiderone, in the Registry at that location there should be list of subkeys with numbers under that one... the "Description" value in each should be different, giving you a clue for each one. I don't know your exact setup, and which of the two active Ethernet adapters you are using, without looking at your registry it is hard to debug.

  16. #56
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    2
    In my version (4.0.5.0) the optimal settings suggest that TCP Window Auto-Tuning should be set to "experimental".

    I strongly advise you not to do this! When I set that to "experimental" local shares are broken (cannot access \\localhost\C$ etc.) and I cannot access Previous Versions of files (due to RPV/VSS' dependence on local shares).

    So, if you experience the widespread problem of not being able to access "Restore Previous Versions" (no previous versions available-error) - check your TCP Window Auto-Tuning setting.

    If anyone will check this issue (simply by trying to access \\localhost\C$) please comment with your results.

    Thanks,
    Søren

    /Søren

  17. #57
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,363
    Blog Entries
    6
    This is dependent on the "speed" slider setting, if you bump it up all the way to the end it may suggest "experimental" auto-tuning. You are correct this should be used with caution, I wasn't aware of the shares issue - thanks for the info.

  18. #58
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by Philip View Post
    This is dependent on the "speed" slider setting, if you bump it up all the way to the end it may suggest "experimental" auto-tuning. You are correct this should be used with caution, I wasn't aware of the shares issue - thanks for the info.
    Thanks Philip! I wasn't aware of the speed slider changing the auto-tuning. Wasn't the maximum of the speed slider previously at 10 Mbps? I think that's why it was cranked all the way up...
    Last edited by a15995; 08-10-16 at 10:19 AM.

  19. #59
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,363
    Blog Entries
    6
    It was at 10mbps at some point in time, not with version 4 though.

  20. #60
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,363
    Blog Entries
    6
    The TCP Optimizer has been updated to version 4.0.6 to address the issue with fast internet connections over 100Mbps and "experimental" TCP Auto tuning causing issues with LAN shares.
    We've updated the optimal recommended TCP Auto tuning level to: "disabled" for connections under 512 Kbps, "restricted" up to 1 Mbps, and "normal" over 1 Mbps.

Similar Threads

  1. When will TCP Optimizer support Windows 8 & Windows Server 2012?
    By enihcam in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: 12-13-14, 07:46 PM
  2. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 09-16-10, 11:02 AM
  3. TCP Optimizer version 3.0.3 released (64-bit Windows 7/2008 fix)
    By Philip in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 09-06-10, 11:18 AM
  4. TCP Optimizer version 3.0.2 released (Windows 7/Vista support !)
    By Philip in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 07-29-10, 04:07 PM
  5. TCP Optimizer version 3.0 released ! (Windows 7/Vista support)
    By Philip in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 37
    Last Post: 07-12-10, 11:27 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •