Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: Recomend me a new router

  1. #1
    SG Enthusiast Easto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    So. California
    Posts
    4,740

    Recomend me a new router

    Having problems with my older D-link and I'd like to upgrade to something with more control. For home use only. 1 iPad and a couple of phones with the occasional guest or 2. I would prefer to stay under $150.

  2. #2
    R.I.P. Nov 2015 RaisinCain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,957
    I have this router and I love it!

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...98&ignorebbr=1

  3. #3
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,694
    Asus or Linksys
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  4. #4
    SG Enthusiast Easto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    So. California
    Posts
    4,740
    Thank you.

  5. #5
    Regular Member illestdynasty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    412
    Asus or Netgear.

    MSI 990FXA-GD80v2
    AMD FX-8350 @ 4.62ghz
    16GB DDR3 @ 1866 8-9-9-24 1.5v
    2 x 150gb WD Raptors in Raid 0
    750GB WD Black
    500GB WD Black
    1TB WD Ultra USB3 ext
    Sapphire 7970
    Windows 8.1 Pro x64

  6. #6
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    9,652
    Blog Entries
    6
    Go for an 802.11ac router, the 5GHz spectrum is much less overcrowded and faster/great for short distances, 2.4GHz is still better for longer distances/wall penetration.

    (even though we may be late to the party, hey illestdynasty )

  7. #7
    SG Wizard Ashdaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Smithfield, New South Wales, Australia, Australia
    Posts
    943

  8. #8
    SG Enthusiast Easto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    So. California
    Posts
    4,740
    I need something. I'm still putting if off but I'm starting to get Netflix cutting out in the middle of some movies so I think I'm at the point of pulling the trigger.

    I do have the signal on mine set to high and the router and "smart" TV are in "line of sight" but sometimes a movie will play all the way through and then sometimes just tops 2 or 3 times randomly.

  9. #9
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    9,652
    Blog Entries
    6
    I currently use an Asus RT-AC68R - pretty happy with it.

    It may also be your internet feed if it's only happening at peak times.

  10. #10
    Hi everyone,

    My little sister is constantly streaming mtv when I play games that require a good connection. It is pretty irritating, so I was wondering if it would be possible to control the bandwidth she is using, by perhaps only allocating a certain amount that is enough for her streaming?
    I do not think our router has such an option (Linksys E3000) installed? Do I have to buy a new router with such capabilities? If so, do you have any to recommend?

    Thank you!

  11. #11
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,694
    Quote Originally Posted by Gummihorse View Post
    Hi everyone,

    My little sister is constantly streaming mtv when I play games that require a good connection. It is pretty irritating, so I was wondering if it would be possible to control the bandwidth she is using, by perhaps only allocating a certain amount that is enough for her streaming?
    I do not think our router has such an option (Linksys E3000) installed? Do I have to buy a new router with such capabilities? If so, do you have any to recommend?

    Thank you!
    I used the Linksys/Cisco e3000 for many years. It supports flashing some 3rd party firmware to give you excellent QoS features. I ran Tomato firmware on mine.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  12. #12
    Quote Originally Posted by YeOldeStonecat View Post
    I used the Linksys/Cisco e3000 for many years. It supports flashing some 3rd party firmware to give you excellent QoS features. I ran Tomato firmware on mine.
    Thanks YeOldeStonecate So the router has the ability through a 3rd party firmware to add such a function? We are borrowing the router from my cousin so not too familiar on how to operate it. What if there is already a 3rd party firmware installed on it, will adding the new firmware wipe out the old one? Is there a possibility to just add the QoS function onto an existing firmware?

    Anyway, I'm excited to hear that there is a possiblity to add the feature

  13. #13
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,694
    The e3000 was one of the best routers out there...powerful wireless radios. It still holds its own very well.
    Flashing firmware wipes out what is currently there, and replaces it with the new firmware. Cannot add functionality to existing firmware.

    To find out what it has now...you'd have to log into its web admin to see.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  14. #14
    Quote Originally Posted by YeOldeStonecat View Post
    To find out what it has now...you'd have to log into its web admin to see.
    Hi again YoOldeStonecat,
    I spoke to my cousin who informed me that he was using it with some form of VPN service in the past, which means that there is already a 3rd party firmware on there. He doesn't use the service anymore, so I guess we could install the firmware with the QoS function which you recommended. Do you know where I can find information about the exact firmware you are referring to?

    Thanks again!

  15. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    12
    Stupid advises about 600+1300+1300 Mbps routers.
    What do you think? If you have 30 or 60 or 100 Mbps internet line, you'll buy router with total performance 2900 mbps and what??? Your internet line immediately gets improve minimum 3 times?
    hahaha...

    Uhhh, probably you think: more speed - more distance??
    more hahaha!!!

  16. #16
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    9,652
    Blog Entries
    6
    First of all advertised wireless speed is calculated in both directions, including overhead. Actual bidirectional speed is about 30% of the advertised router "speed". In addition, that is in best-case scenario, the moment you move 30 feet away and through a couple of walls the speed drops another 50%. Combined with the fact that the speed is divided between all clients, and the newer routers having better processors, newer technologies like beamforming, different frequencies (less interference from neghboring networks in the 5GHz band + more channels), guest networks, QoS, etc. it all adds up to a good value and big overall improvement over early N models. 2.4GHz has better wall penetration and theoretical distance, but the 5GHz band is often less crowded.

  17. #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    12
    Most people I'd met use only wifi. It's so fun, when I see high speed ac router staying in 1 feet from TV, Audio System, Apple tv and XBOX and all of these working by wireless... Than I see one or two desktops and they are working by wifi too! Why are you doing this??
    First of all you must connect all your immovable devices by wire.
    And then you have to try how is your wifi feeling...
    Because TV, Apple TV, Desktop and any other kind devices, which you can connect by wire, are making heaviest traffic in your network.

  18. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Panama City Beach,FL
    Posts
    5
    D-Link AC3200

    I have 2 of these, one at work and at home. Love it!

  19. #19
    Not bad information. Thank you for sharing.

Similar Threads

  1. Please Recomend a router for...
    By inevitable in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-12-07, 07:14 PM
  2. recomend me a new wired router
    By Mark in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 07-22-06, 11:25 AM
  3. recomend me....
    By vc_wannabe in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-21-02, 12:20 AM
  4. What You Recomend???
    By MAmuT in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-08-02, 08:17 AM
  5. What would u recomend?
    By RoscoPColtrane in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-23-01, 07:08 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •