Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Building a new server for SG

  1. #1
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,292
    Blog Entries
    6

    Cool Building a new server for SG

    I am in the process of building a new server for SG. The old one just needs an OS update and hardware upgrades, then it will be used as a backup server.

    Here are the specs for the new one:

    1 ea. 6018R-WTR Supermicro barebone server - 1u case with dual hot-swappable Power Supplies, dual Haswell processor support, 4 hot-swappable hdd ports, etc.
    http://www.supermicro.com/products/s...-6018r-wtr.cfm

    2 ea. Intel Xeon CPUs - E5-2603 v3 six core Haswell processor 1.6GHz 6.4GT/s 15MB LGA 2011-v3
    http://ark.intel.com/products/83349/...Cache-1_60-GHz

    32gb (4x 8GB) Crucial (Micron) ddr4-2133 1Gx72 ECC/REG CL15 - CT4K8G4RFS4213
    http://www.crucial.com/usa/en/ct4k8g4rfs4213

    2 ea. SSDs - Intel 730 240GB - setting up in RAID 1
    http://www.intel.com/content/www/us/...30-series.html

    2 ea. HDDs - Western Digital RE 1TB 64MB cache - model WD5003ABYZ
    http://www.wdc.com/en/products/products.aspx?id=580

    1 ea. Supermicro SATA SSD DOM (Disk on Module) 32GB - SSD-DM032-PHI
    http://www.supermicro.com/products/nfo/SATADOM.cfm
    Linux is user friendly, it's just picky about its friends...
    Disclaimer: Please use caution when opening messages, my grasp on reality may have shaken loose during transmission (going on rusty memory circuits).
    ๑۩۞۩๑

  2. #2
    SG Enthusiast Easto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    So. California
    Posts
    4,930
    Looking forward to seeing how the site reacts to the new hardware!

  3. #3
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,983
    Quote Originally Posted by Easto View Post
    Looking forward to seeing how the site reacts to the new hardware!
    Slower than before! Just to make Philip rage.

    Sounds like a nice rig.

  4. #4
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,292
    Blog Entries
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF View Post
    Slower than before! Just to make Philip rage.

    Sounds like a nice rig.
    It is a nice rig, faster hardware than the old one and latest Linux kernel to avoid some of the recently discovered gcc vulnerability (GHOST CVE-2015-0235)..

    As for the speed, it should do great, once I apply my super-secret-ninja-linux-ssd-tuning tweaks on it

  5. #5
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,983
    Quote Originally Posted by Philip View Post
    As for the speed, it should do great, once I apply my super-secret-ninja-linux-ssd-tuning tweaks on it
    AKA, Plugging it in correctly.

  6. #6
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,859
    Couple of spare cores for Folding!
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  7. #7
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,292
    Blog Entries
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF View Post
    AKA, Plugging it in correctly.
    Already there... just working on LAMP, mail server, analyzer server, compiling some extra modules, etc.

  8. #8
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,292
    Blog Entries
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by YeOldeStonecat View Post
    Couple of spare cores for Folding!
    ikr ! 12 cores total.

    It's idling at about 100 watts (120v) draw, power management has improved a lot in the past few years.

  9. #9
    Moderator John's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Posts
    1,679
    Why are you building your own vs going aws or rackspace?

    Oldschoolcool

  10. #10
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,292
    Blog Entries
    6
    Uhm because of all the control over each and every little setting in LAMP, plus custom server software like the Analyzer backend, etc. Also, I can slap all the CPUs/RAM/SSDs I want in a box without someone charging me for it With a 5+years lifecycle it just makes sense to me, gives me a lot more freedom, idk. If the bandwidth ever becomes unmanageable, I can always offload static parts to a CDN.

  11. #11
    resident plumber Mark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    .
    Posts
    13,145
    looks like a nice system you are building, has the total forum traffic slowed down or just the general forum ?

    slightly off topic, is there a mobile version of the forums i can use ?

  12. #12
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,292
    Blog Entries
    6
    Hi Mark,

    The total forum traffic has slowed, not just the general forum. The main site traffic has increased somewhat though. As for the mobile version of the forums, yes, there is a "Theme" selection at the bottom-left corner of pages (if you're at the full site) where you can choose the "Mobile style". I just adjusted the settings for the templates a bit, so that mobile devices would be recognized better for automatic theme switching.
    Linux is user friendly, it's just picky about its friends...
    Disclaimer: Please use caution when opening messages, my grasp on reality may have shaken loose during transmission (going on rusty memory circuits).
    ๑۩۞۩๑

  13. #13
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,292
    Blog Entries
    6
    Everything is officially up and running on the new server. There are still a couple of scripts that have issues with the new PHP/MariaDB on the main site, I'm in the process of updating them. If you notice some page/tool that does not work properly, please let me know. TIA

    Speed of pages should be improved, the new server has a lot of RAM to play with (Zend opcache and APCu user cache ).

  14. #14
    SG Wizard Ashdaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Smithfield, New South Wales, Australia, Australia
    Posts
    964
    Very good Philip, love the hardware goodness. The site is good.

  15. #15
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,292
    Blog Entries
    6
    It had a number of issues on the backend, functions that needed to be updated because of deprecated PHP commands, etc., but it's mostly up and running now.

Similar Threads

  1. building Server for family use
    By kle54 in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-07-07, 09:07 PM
  2. Building a web host server
    By OverBlaze in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-22-06, 07:12 AM
  3. Ooooey fun building server!
    By YeOldeStonecat in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-17-04, 07:20 PM
  4. Building a new Server/Gaming Rig
    By Docsta in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 01-04-03, 11:15 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •