Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Getting New Internet, Help Me Please!

  1. #1

    Getting New Internet, Help Me Please!

    Alright so, I know a lot about computers, but nothing about internet. Right now my internet speed is complete trash (3Mbps down and .8 up). Right now we are using frontier and paying for 6Mbps (I'm only getting 3 because of an old modem), and that is still so bad. I just wanted wanted to know if there is any options available that you know of to buy and get good internet (up for dish internet or frontier, or maybe some weird thing that I don't know about). If there is no hope can you at least help me pick out a new modem because it seems like those are hard to find anymore. Thanks!

  2. #2
    resident Humboldt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    27,883
    What kind of modem?
    Have you tried updating the firmware for it?

    Called Frontier and asked them to check things out?

    Cable or DSL? Always hated cable, in theory it's a lot faster but you're sharing your connection with everyone around you so you'll see drops during peak times.

    Could always see what this says: http://www.speedguide.net/files/TCPOptimizer.exe

  3. #3
    Elite Member BaLa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Bell County, Tejas
    Posts
    14,362
    Lots of Good/Fast Internet out there.
    But it's all about Location.

    That is pretty horrible though.
    I'm at home on my Phone Hotspot on Verizon LTE.
    Never got Internet at home.

    Attachment 1185

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    8,585
    I tether my PC/xbox/Tablet to my phone using an APP that bypasses tethering provisions.... TMOBILE network is great, but out here in the country its slow.... like 2-3mbps...... good enough i say. Moral of the story?? Get unlim on your cell plan and tether. ;-)

    ииии



    ииии

  5. #5
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,956
    Call them up and ask them for a new modem...generally they try to keep you with a current generation gateway.
    When you run your speedtest, do you do it with only 1x computer plugged directly into the gateway via ethernet cable?
    Everything else that connects should be turned off so they're not sapping bandwidth and tainting your tests.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  6. #6
    Elite Member BaLa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Bell County, Tejas
    Posts
    14,362
    Quote Originally Posted by Joe View Post
    I tether my PC/xbox/Tablet to my phone using an APP that bypasses tethering provisions.... TMOBILE network is great, but out here in the country its slow.... like 2-3mbps...... good enough i say. Moral of the story?? Get unlim on your cell plan and tether. ;-)
    Hillarious, it's great but slow.
    Thanks for the laugh

Similar Threads

  1. Slow internet through router, fast internet through modem
    By nzcontak in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-05-12, 01:34 AM
  2. Could i tweak my internet even though i have a mediocre internet provider
    By craigschranz in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-25-08, 06:44 PM
  3. Internet pioneer speaks up for an 'open' mobile Internet
    By notme1 in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11-16-07, 12:22 PM
  4. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-26-02, 02:30 PM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-19-01, 01:27 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •