Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: What is the difference between the Linksys 4port router and the netgear 4 port router

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    duno
    Posts
    10

    Question What is the difference between the Linksys 4port router and the netgear 4 port router

    i got the linksys router and its not going fast as directly connecting the cable modem to the pc....
    i seem to lose like 1/2 of my speed even when no one is using the other comps

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Posts
    6,761

    Post

    Do you have any patches applied to any of the computers?

    From what I've read/heard, the Linky seems to be the most problematic routers thanks to all of its quirks/firmware problems. I think I'd return it and get a Netgear or Ugate, as they seem to get a lot of acclaim.

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    duno
    Posts
    10

    Post

    no patches...

  4. #4
    Senior Member nightowl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    ottawa, canada (ROCKS)
    Posts
    7,408

    Post

    the netgear 314 has a better NAT processor then the linksys...i actualy got better gaming performance using the netgear instead of directly connecting to my PC
    Quote Originally Posted by Zilog B
    Loading the dishwasher at brembo's house means bringing the fiancee a sixpack home.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    262

    Post

    I have no problems with my netgear. Gaming or routing. Never install the floppy but I did install the firmware upgrade to the latest.
    Words of Wisdom:
    "Man who scratches ass should not bite fingernails."

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    262

    Post

    I'm sorry I mean my Linksys
    Words of Wisdom:
    "Man who scratches ass should not bite fingernails."

  7. #7
    see that cute girl? she's my wannabe girlfriend Biketec's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    So Cali
    Posts
    954

    Post

    Originally posted by Joonysam:
    i got the linksys router and its not going fast as directly connecting the cable modem to the pc....
    i seem to lose like 1/2 of my speed even when no one is using the other comps
    i got my linksys dsl/cable router w/4 port switch... and i love it. it actually made my internet connection go a little faster cuz i didnt have to have my firewall running anymore on my comp. i dont know whats the problem with your comp... try formatting? lol

    good luck, sorry i cant help

    jason

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    406

    Exclamation

    how fast are you getting.....you might be having the same problem as me where the Linky maxes out at 500KB/s down and 130KB/s up and if it goes any higher there is big time packet loss, directly connectioning to my modem I get 1MB/s down adn 330KB/s up. I should have got a Netgear....I did not realise Shaw@Home would be this fast cause reading the reviews 99% of <cable co>@Home cap at 128kbps and use the @Home backbone. With Shaw they do not cap the modems and they have their own backbone...thank god cause doing a tracert to an @Home user who is on the @home backbone and the pings are horrible....let alone the packet loss...lol.

  9. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    13

    Angry

    I just got a Linksys 8 port router/switch. I notice significant throughput degradation. My downloads are less than half the speed they used to be. I tried disconnection the other computers from the network, but still the downloads were slow compared to having the computer connected directly to the modem.

    Is this a Linksys problem? Is it a configuration problem?

    Are there any 8 port router/switch other than Linksys's? I tried looking for a Netgear version, but I couldn't find any.

    Thanks!

  10. #10
    Senior Member nightowl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    ottawa, canada (ROCKS)
    Posts
    7,408

    Post

    the problem is that the linksys maxes out at 2megabit download where as the netgear rt314 is 5+ megabits
    Quote Originally Posted by Zilog B
    Loading the dishwasher at brembo's house means bringing the fiancee a sixpack home.

  11. #11
    Uninsured for your health
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Stockton, CA
    Posts
    10,032

    Post

    is that 2 megs a minute, or second?
    Quote Originally Posted by Three Rivers Designs
    America! Love it or give it back!

  12. #12
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    duno
    Posts
    10

    Post

    dammed router....

  13. #13
    Senior Member nightowl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    ottawa, canada (ROCKS)
    Posts
    7,408

    Post

    well with computer parts you usualy get what you pay for
    Quote Originally Posted by Zilog B
    Loading the dishwasher at brembo's house means bringing the fiancee a sixpack home.

  14. #14
    Senior Member nightowl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    ottawa, canada (ROCKS)
    Posts
    7,408

    Post

    Originally posted by CiscoCert:
    is that 2 megs a minute, or second?
    its megabits/seconds with is what companies advertise.....to get your true speed you have to divide it by 8 then you get megabytes.....thats the speed you see when downloading from netscape or IE
    Quote Originally Posted by Zilog B
    Loading the dishwasher at brembo's house means bringing the fiancee a sixpack home.

  15. #15
    Banned gmcd33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Hillsdale. NJ 07642
    Posts
    2,220

    Post

    I H8 Linksys I <3 Netgear.

  16. #16
    New Member theINSPECTOR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    34

    Smile

    I'd go with the Netgear 314....even a pseudo-bonehead amateur geek like yours truly had no problem at all setting up and configuring it. Performs just like advertised. Once again.....thanks for all the free advice
    Home brewed AMD K6-2 550
    Win98SE, Various Linux flavors
    Assembled with wild abandon,
    Deep-fried to a crackly crunch...


    What....Me worry?

    Alfred E. Neuman

  17. #17
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Moreno Valley, CA, USA
    Posts
    106

    Post

    i love my linky. besides having to reset it every 2 days i have got a speed increase even with my firewall installed. i average 705kbps down with ADSL

    good luck
    "***** Happens"

  18. #18
    Senior Member nightowl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    ottawa, canada (ROCKS)
    Posts
    7,408

    Post

    Originally posted by neveruseaol:
    i love my linky. besides having to reset it every 2 days i have got a speed increase even with my firewall installed. i average 705kbps down with ADSL

    good luck
    i've never unpluged my netgear.......its bin on constantly for 4 months now
    Quote Originally Posted by Zilog B
    Loading the dishwasher at brembo's house means bringing the fiancee a sixpack home.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •