Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 22

Thread: I have a 200mbps connection. My speeds varie from 40mbps to 155mbps - Help please?

  1. #1
    Junior Member Robert Headley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Posts
    16

    I have a 200mbps connection. My speeds varie from 40mbps to 155mbps - Help please?

    1. What is your advertised internet speed? 200Mbps
    2. What actual transfer speed do you get? 150Mbps but sometimes 40Mbps
    3. Who is your Internet Provider (ISP), and what type of connection do you have ? Midcontinent Communications Docis3 Cable
    4. What are your current settings ? do a TCP/IP Analyzer test and copy/paste the results in your post. - See Below
    5. Your modem/router/ap brand ? cisco DPC3825
    6. Your Operating System ? Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit

    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 2014.08.12 23:03
    IP address: 24.230.xx.xx
    Client OS/browser: Windows 7 (Chrome 37.0.2062.68)

    TCP options string: 020405b401010402
    MSS: 1460
    MTU: 1500
    TCP Window: 64240 (multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 0 bits
    Unscaled RWIN : 64240
    Recommended RWINs: 64240, 128480, 256960, 513920, 1027840
    BDP limit (200ms): 2570kbps (321KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 1028kbps (128KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 52
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)

    I downloaded the optimizer and turned tuning off.
    I have called my ISP repeatedly (They previously had me on an overutilzied node) and they are insisting the problem is on my end.
    I started out with a 100mbps connection of which I tested at 119mbps. The ISP (Midcontinent Communications) then "upgraded" everyone to 200mbps and my connection has gone up and down ever since.
    Last edited by Robert Headley; 08-12-14 at 10:15 PM.

  2. #2
    Junior Member Robert Headley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Posts
    16

    At 11:03pm at night, that should be much higher.


    At around 12:28 AM A bit better

    My modem status page
    Last edited by Robert Headley; 08-13-14 at 12:29 AM.

  3. #3
    Junior Member Robert Headley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Posts
    16
    I would appreciate any an all help. Especially if anyone has experience with connections of this speed. I know almost no-one with experience.
    Last edited by Robert Headley; 08-13-14 at 12:31 AM.

  4. #4
    R.I.P. Nov 2015 RaisinCain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,950
    Sounds like you are still on a congested node.

  5. #5
    Regular Member KEiGHT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    132
    Open cmd.exe Run as administrator then put in these lines Press ENTER and wait for OK/one at the time

    netsh int tcp set heuristics wsh=disabled
    netsh int tcp set global autotuninglevel=normal
    netsh int tcp set global congestionprovider=ctcp
    netsh int tcp set global rss=enabled

    after that, merge this 2 entries into registry
    Code:
    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
    
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\services\AFD\Parameters]
    "DefaultReceiveWindow"=dword:01869e98
    "DefaultSendWindow"=dword:01869e98
    "DefaultReceiveWindow"=dword:01869e98 <<( this is your Advertised DL speed in kilobits multiplied with 128, then it's us as a multiple of MSS)
    "DefaultSendWindow"=dword:01869e98 <<(this is your Advertised UL speed in kilobits multiplied with 128, then use that number as a multiple of MSS)

    Ex: your dld speed 200 Mbps > 200.000 * 128 = 25600000 then.. 25600000/1460 => 17534 => 17534*1460 = 25599640 << This is your number to set as DECIMAL in DefaultReceiveWindow

    from where is 128? => 200.000*1024/8=25600000... 25600000/128=200.000 to simplify your work
    normally is in this way ; 200.000*1024/8

    1460 is your MSS multiplier so, 25600000 become 25599640 => dword:01869e98 as multiplier of MSS
    Do the same calculation even for DefaultSendWindow ! your UPL speed in kilobits * 128

    for "DefaultReceiveWindow"=dword:01869e98 I've made calculation for you, for the other DefaultSendWindow, I don't know your UPL speed, you should calculate it , I was assuming cuz is the same !

    Reboot PC !

    Good luck !
    Last edited by KEiGHT; 08-14-14 at 02:19 PM.
    Every man has his destiny.

  6. #6
    Junior Member Robert Headley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Posts
    16
    First test after following @Keight's advice.


    I think I need to tweak the SendWindow and yell at my ISP about the node being congested. I think it still is.

    Thank you everyone.

    It wouldn't let me merge it into the registry, so I added it manually. I believe I did it correctly.

    Ok, my upload is 20 megabit. I am trying to do the calculation, but failing hard.
    Last edited by Robert Headley; 08-15-14 at 01:29 AM.

  7. #7
    Regular Member KEiGHT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    132
    try even with ECN Capability

    netsh int tcp set global ecncapability=enabled
    Every man has his destiny.

  8. #8
    Junior Member Robert Headley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Posts
    16
    Thanks @KEiGHT
    I enabled ECN and here is the result

    I wonder if speed.net 's duration is not long enough, if I were to try a longer term download if I would get closer to my max. I would be ok with that.

  9. #9
    Junior Member Robert Headley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Posts
    16
    I also found this which gives me a connection over 200mbps
    But I wonder if Cachefly is just juicing the numbers to sell their caching service.

    http://www.cachefly.com/

  10. #10
    Junior Member Robert Headley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Posts
    16

    Off Peak test

  11. #11
    Regular Member KEiGHT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    132
    So, the congestion was maxim possible is 25 and you have 18.30 , I think is a good ratio !

    so , when you install again windows 7 copy these into a text file and save it as .bat and run it as admin ! put it in a safe place D or E!

    Code:
    @echo off
    
    netsh int ipv4 set subinterface "Local Area Connection" mtu=1500 store=persistent >nul
    netsh int ipv4 set dynamicportrange tcp start=1025 num=48127 >nul
    netsh int ipv4 set dynamicportrange udp start=49152 num=16383 >nul
    netsh interface tcp set global initialRto=1000 >nul
    netsh int tcp set heuristics wsh=disabled >nul
    netsh int tcp set global autotuninglevel=normal >nul
    netsh int tcp set global congestionprovider=ctcp >nul
    netsh int tcp set global ecncapability=enabled >nul
    netsh int ip set global taskoffload=enabled >nul
    netsh int tcp set global chimney=automatic >nul
    netsh int tcp set global rss=enabled >nul
    netsh int tcp set global netdma=enabled >nul
    netsh int tcp set global dca=enabled >nul
    netsh interface ip add dns name="Local Area Connection" addr=208.67.222.222 index=1 >nul
    netsh interface ip add dns name="Local Area Connection" addr=208.67.220.220 index=2 >nul
    
    >exit
    and merge this registry too just to be sure CTCP is set for good !

    Code:
    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
    
    ; Enable Congestion Control Provider(CTCP) with autotuninglevel set to NORMAL/No Heuristics
    
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Nsi\{eb004a03-9b1a-11d4-9123-0050047759bc}\0]
    "0200"=hex:01,00,00,00,02,00,00,05,e0,93,04,00,00,00,00,00,1e,00,00,00,00,00,\
      00,00,00,00,00,00,02,00,00,00,03,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,ff,00,ff,ff,ff,ff,ff,\
      ff,ff,ff,ff,ff,00,00,00,00,ff,ff,ff,ff,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,ff,ff,00,00,\
      ff,ff,ff,ff,00,00,00,00
    "1700"=hex:00,00,00,00,02,00,00,00,e0,93,04,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,\
      00,00,00,00,00,00,02,00,00,00,03,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,ff,ff,ff,\
      00,ff,ff,ff,ff,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,ff,ff,00,00,\
      ff,ff,ff,ff,00,00,00,00
    Every man has his destiny.

  12. #12
    Junior Member Robert Headley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Posts
    16
    Enabling Receive-side Scaling on windows 7 dropped my ping by 1 ms. True Story.
    Last edited by Robert Headley; 08-15-14 at 06:04 AM.

  13. #13
    Junior Member Robert Headley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Posts
    16
    I still want my connection faster than what it is, but I really do thank you for all your help. These changes will surely lead to a better connection. I just need to knock some heads around at my ISP. lol

  14. #14
    Regular Member KEiGHT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    132
    Hmm regarding your configuration is recommended to have a PC with at least 8 GB DRAM (DDR3), Processor with at least 3 Ghz speed core 2 duo minimum (Quad core recommended)

    I can not guarantee that your ISP will provide the guaranteed speed of 200 Mbps but up to... > 200 Mbps , RIGHT ?
    because you are not alone in that environment
    Last edited by KEiGHT; 08-15-14 at 06:48 AM.
    Every man has his destiny.

  15. #15
    Junior Member Robert Headley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Posts
    16
    Quote Originally Posted by KEiGHT View Post
    Hmm regarding your configuration is recommended to have a PC with at least 8 GB DRAM (DDR3), Processor with at least 3 Ghz speed core 2 duo minimum (Quad core recommended)
    Intel Core i7 2600K @ 3.40GHz
    8.00GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 798MHz (11-11-11-28)

  16. #16
    Regular Member KEiGHT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    132
    that's good enough !
    Every man has his destiny.

  17. #17
    Junior Member Robert Headley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Posts
    16
    I thought for sure I had disabled QoS on the network adapter before...

  18. #18
    Junior Member Robert Headley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Posts
    16

  19. #19
    Regular Member KEiGHT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    132
    Quote Originally Posted by Robert Headley View Post
    I thought for sure I had disabled QoS on the network adapter before...
    Code:
    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
    
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\Psched]
    "NonBestEffortLimit"=dword:00000000
    Every man has his destiny.

  20. #20
    Junior Member Robert Headley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Posts
    16
    Now... my DNS lookups are taking forever. Sometimes multiple seconds.. even 10 seconds in some cases. This can't be the website.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-04-09, 11:24 AM
  2. connection speeds
    By cookyr in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-01-03, 10:30 AM
  3. 40Mbps! on my cable modem!
    By therealcableguy in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-04-01, 05:55 AM
  4. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 01-20-01, 11:52 PM
  5. Bad connection speeds and slow shared internet speeds
    By dragon_gummy@hotmail.com in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-01-00, 09:00 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •