Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Access to remote application server over point to point VPN tunnel

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    3

    Access to remote application server over point to point VPN tunnel

    Thank you for hosting this forum!

    My situation:

    I have two offices connected by a site to site VPN tunnel. Site #1 is the main office with Windows Server 2003 configured as the DNS domain controller (FQDN.local), DHCP server on ethernet2 for LAN clients, and application sharing. And I am using Active Directory for authentication and permissions.

    Site #2 is a remote office with one workstation - Windows 7 - that I want access to the server as a domain user with privileges like those of the local clients at site #1.

    The sites are linked using Cisco RV042G VPN routers with static IPs on the WAN port.

    At site #1 the LAN DHCP is configured with a 192.168.n.0 subnet, and at site #2 the LAN DHCP is configured with a 192.168.n+1.0 subnet.

    How do I get a domain user on the workstation at site #2 to log on to the domain and access the shared applications and MSSQL databases on the server at site #1?

    Thank you to all who reply.

  2. #2
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,954
    Set the primary DNS server for the computer at site 2 to be the LAN IP address of the DC at site 1.
    Active Directory is built on top of DNS. Workstation at Site 2 will need proper name resolution of objects in active directory for it to function properly within AD.
    You can set the secondary DNS to be the IP of the RV042 or whatever...in case the VPN tunnel goes down (which it will at some regular basis on the RV042s)...so it can still surf the internet.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    3
    Thank you YeOldeStonecat, I just knew you'd come through for me. I found this site by search engine because you'd answered a similar query by someone else.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    3
    Okay, I'm on location at site #2; I reconfigured the primary DNS first with the local IP on the DC (the NIC hosting DHCP for the local clients). Then I reconfigure the primary DNS with the IP of the WAN port of the DC. Both times I got an error message: An Active Directory Domain Controller (AD DC) for the domain "FQDN.LOCAL" could not be contacted....

    What am I missing?

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    5
    Thank you YeOldeStonecat

Similar Threads

  1. Access Point
    By jpsga in forum alt.internet.wireless
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 04-24-08, 04:25 PM
  2. Why do I always point the remote at the TV?
    By RoundEye in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-25-07, 02:46 PM
  3. DSL and Access Point
    By alex2761 in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-26-07, 12:34 PM
  4. Server behind access point
    By mwestern in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 11-15-02, 10:35 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •