Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Dad's computer issues

  1. #1
    resident Humboldt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    27,824

    Dad's computer issues

    Once again, trying to fix issues on my father's computer in NC from CA.

    This one is weird. Word seems to have disappeared from his installed programs.

    His shortcuts still have the Word icon, but nothing happens when I click on them.
    Word is gone from the program menu.
    The links open fine in WordPad.
    How can the icons show properly if Word doesn't seem to be installed?

    Any suggestions?
    Scanning now for viruses.

    No way to re-install Word, this is a crappy computer his university built for him and it came pre-installed.
    If nothing else I guess I could install OpenOffice.
    Thanks.

  2. #2
    resident Humboldt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    27,824
    Weirder.

    Found winword.exe, ran it and it says, "MS Word has not been installed for the current user. Please run setup to install the application."

    This computer has run Word fine for the past 6 or 7 years.

  3. #3
    resident plumber Mark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    .
    Posts
    13,148
    is he logged into the correct user profile, reason i ask is because my mom thought she had lost everything, but it seems she logged into a guest account.

  4. #4
    resident Humboldt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    27,824
    Quote Originally Posted by Mark View Post
    is he logged into the correct user profile, reason i ask is because my mom thought she had lost everything, but it seems she logged into a guest account.
    Hey Mark

    Yes, logged in correctly.

    Trying an Office SP3 update, even though it doesn't show in Windows Update.

    If that doesn't do it, OpenOffice.

    He'll be buying a new computer soon anyway.
    This is just weird as hell though.

  5. #5
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,900
    What OS? Chance of system restore?

    Play with UAC? Try toggling it...back on defaults, back off.

    I recall an office DLL that gets stepped on, copy from another computer with the same version of Office, think it was mso.dll.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  6. #6
    resident Humboldt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    27,824
    Quote Originally Posted by YeOldeStonecat View Post
    What OS? Chance of system restore?

    Play with UAC? Try toggling it...back on defaults, back off.

    I recall an office DLL that gets stepped on, copy from another computer with the same version of Office, think it was mso.dll.
    Xp Pro

    Will try a system restore tomorrow.
    Have OpenOffice on there now, seems to be working ok.

    Tried MS hotfixes and a SP3 update, made no difference.

  7. #7
    Elite Member TonyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Fairfax, VA
    Posts
    10,338
    You can use add-remove programs > ms office > change
    No one has any right to force data on you
    and command you to believe it or else.
    If it is not true for you, it isn't true.

    LRH

  8. #8
    Certified SG Addict CableDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,786
    What program are you using to connect remotely?

  9. #9
    resident Humboldt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    27,824
    Quote Originally Posted by TonyT View Post
    You can use add-remove programs > ms office > change
    Doesn't show up.

  10. #10
    resident Humboldt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    27,824
    Quote Originally Posted by CableDude View Post
    What program are you using to connect remotely?
    One of the VNCs, I think RealVNC

  11. #11
    Senior Member loop2kil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    5,230
    Did you try the MS Office Diagnostic tool yet?
    http://www.makeuseof.com/tag/how-to-...stics-windows/

  12. #12
    resident Humboldt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    27,824
    Quote Originally Posted by loop2kil View Post
    Did you try the MS Office Diagnostic tool yet?
    http://www.makeuseof.com/tag/how-to-...stics-windows/

    No, I did not, no clue it existed.
    Thank you.

    Too late tonight, unfortunately Sun/Mon are the only days that work with the time difference.

    He and my sister are coming out to visit next weekend but I'll try this as soon as I get a chance.

    Appreciate the help.

Similar Threads

  1. New Computer Issues
    By ub3r_n00b in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 10-19-08, 05:07 PM
  2. Issues with computer.
    By 24giovanni in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-21-08, 12:54 PM
  3. Cleaned up computer, but Java issues?
    By Loonatic in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 05-22-06, 10:31 AM
  4. Computer sound issues
    By Hopeful in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 05-29-05, 04:23 AM
  5. My computer has major issues
    By burple in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 02-24-02, 10:07 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •