Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: external HD Issue

  1. #1
    SG Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    2,943

    external HD Issue

    I have an external HD and made an image of my partition using acronis true home 2014 and it worked fine. When It was done, i wanted to see home much space it backed up. Normally I see the drive it uses (usually E) with the external HD name.

    I added a new printer and drivers to it so I figured I would do another image so it would include it. Today when I plugged my external HD it said (E) local disk, which is not correct. The same thing when I attempted to do another image normally i see (usually E) with the external HD name.Today i saw my external HD it said (E) local disk, which is not correct. When i attempted to do an image I kept on getting different error and the image never worked.

    What would coz my external HD to read that way when I plugged it in? Is the something I can do to the External HD so it will read the type of EHD it is, IF so, how plz?

    thx
    Last edited by 24giovanni; 02-02-14 at 04:37 PM.

  2. #2
    XP + akbarri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Caterpillar Inc
    Posts
    938
    Blog Entries
    3
    What is ur EXT-HDD Format (FAT/FAT32/NTFS/exFAT) ?

    # OS: Windows, Linux # Browser: Blink, Gecko, Presto, Webkit + Squid + Bind

  3. #3
    SG Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    2,943
    Quote Originally Posted by akbarri View Post
    what is ur ext-hdd format (fat/fat32/ntfs/exfat) ?

    ntfs

  4. #4
    XP + akbarri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Caterpillar Inc
    Posts
    938
    Blog Entries
    3
    gotcha, same problem with me around 2012.
    actualy with same software (acronis) but i think the Software or OS it's not the main problem.
    i think the Partition Format is the problem, after i change 500GB Partition from NTFS to exFAT, i dont have any issue with HDD imaging - up until now.

    That's is my story

    # OS: Windows, Linux # Browser: Blink, Gecko, Presto, Webkit + Squid + Bind

  5. #5
    SG Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    2,943
    ED: same results on 2 different PCs and 2 different USB cables.

    when i try to open it It says

    E:\ not assessible

    The file or directory is corrupted and unreadable.
    Last edited by 24giovanni; 02-02-14 at 08:21 PM.

  6. #6
    SG Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    2,943
    no response, come on guys, plz.

  7. #7
    XP + akbarri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Caterpillar Inc
    Posts
    938
    Blog Entries
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by 24giovanni View Post
    ED: same results on 2 different PCs and 2 different USB cables.

    when i try to open it It says

    E:\ not assessible

    The file or directory is corrupted and unreadable.
    did u try cmd "chkdsk e: /f"

    # OS: Windows, Linux # Browser: Blink, Gecko, Presto, Webkit + Squid + Bind

  8. #8
    SG Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    2,943
    yes, and it didnt work. It's an Signature Mini line is a company owned by Western Digital. I did a quick scan and it passed. I,also, did a standard test which passed as well. I used the tests from their site.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •