Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Every Launch Reconfiguers Microsoft Office Pro 2007

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    near Philadelphia
    Posts
    70

    Every Launch Reconfiguers Microsoft Office Pro 2007

    I am using Windows 7 PRO, and Microsoft Office PRO 2007. Windows and Office has been updated at the MS Update site. I don't think the problem is associated with an update or any other recent installation. EVERY TIME I launch a Office product like Word, Excel, or Publisher, a Configuration Progress Screen Appears that runs for several minutes and eventually the product is launch keeping all recent files intact. I did a repair installation to no avail. There are no viruses and my Registry is regularly maintained. To proceed to the launch, I am X-ing out of the configuration and get a message like "Are you sure you want to stop the installation?" I X out of that too and each product still launches okay. Any ideas on how to eliminate the Configuration Process on each launch. Thanks.
    Tom

  2. #2
    R.I.P. Nov 2015 RaisinCain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,951
    Uninstall Office and re-install it.

  3. #3
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,912
    Give some of these "fixit" tools a shot
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2528748

    Whenever I install Office for clients, I always do the "custom" install, and select all computers to run from the computer. The default install often leaves out components that later have to be added, and can lead to issues like this.

    If the FixIt tools don't work, try uninstalling it, and then doing a custom install, selecting all to run from my computer. And then patch it up with latest service pack and remaining updates.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    near Philadelphia
    Posts
    70

    Office Configuration on every launce of am Office Product

    Quote Originally Posted by RaisinCain View Post
    Uninstall Office and re-install it.
    Thanks for the suggestion. I tried Microsoft Fix-It that did not resolve the problem, so now I will proceed to Uninstall and Reinstall. Thanks again, particularly for the prompt reply.
    Tom
    Tom

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    near Philadelphia
    Posts
    70
    Quote Originally Posted by YeOldeStonecat View Post
    Give some of these "fixit" tools a shot
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2528748

    Whenever I install Office for clients, I always do the "custom" install, and select all computers to run from the computer. The default install often leaves out components that later have to be added, and can lead to issues like this.

    If the FixIt tools don't work, try uninstalling it, and then doing a custom install, selecting all to run from my computer. And then patch it up with latest service pack and remaining updates.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Thanks for the suggestion. I tried Microsoft Fix-It that did not resolve the problem, so now I will proceed to Uninstall and Reinstall. Thanks again, particularly for the prompt reply. No more time tonight but I will proceed in the morning and post the results.
    Tom
    Tom

  6. #6
    R.I.P. Nov 2015 RaisinCain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,951
    Also, put the Office disc in the drive and let the installation finish if you haven't tried that yet.

  7. #7
    Senior Member loop2kil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    5,230
    There is also a 'Microsoft Office Diagnostics' tool under 'Microsoft Office Tools' in the Start Menu. It has helped me in the past with similar issues and usually takes 5-10 minutes depending on PC speed.

    You can also launch them in Safe mode by holding down the CTRL key before launching the program to eliminate any add-ons as the cause.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    near Philadelphia
    Posts
    70

    Continuing Saga of Office Configuration

    1/1/14 6:38 PM ET
    I'm just getting back to this problem. I had uninstalled Office using Control Panel but became concerned that I did not backup my Outlook files. Using Acronis Restore, I restored my entire drive as it was prior to the Office uninstall, so I am back to where I was. Both Word and Excel still go into the Configuration Process EVERY time they are launched. This problem does NOT happen with Publisher, Outlook, or any other Office product when launched - just Word & Excel. Tomorrow, I will individually backup my Outlook files (inbox and sent), then again do the uninstall, to follow up with the Office re-install as previously advised. I will keep you informed. Thank you for your continued advice. AND Yes, prior to doing this, I will also try the MS Office Diagnostic tool. Thanks.
    Tom

  9. #9
    R.I.P. Nov 2015 RaisinCain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,951
    Maybe quit doing custom installs as well? I don't see the need to be honest.

  10. #10
    R.I.P. Nov 2015 RaisinCain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,951
    Do you have the current service pack installed as well? You can extract the SP files to the Updates directory from the Office disc. Instructions below.

    http://www.howto-outlook.com/otherpr...reamo2k7sp.htm

    Uninstall and re-install with the SP integrated and see if that helps as well.

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    near Philadelphia
    Posts
    70
    Quote Originally Posted by RaisinCain View Post
    Do you have the current service pack installed as well? You can extract the SP files to the Updates directory from the Office disc. Instructions below.

    http://www.howto-outlook.com/otherpr...reamo2k7sp.htm

    Uninstall and re-install with the SP integrated and see if that helps as well.
    The slipstream process is very interesting to me since, as I understand it, it will incorporate the service pack updates along with the installation. I will read further on that link and try to use it. Thank you. Both Excel and Word have SP3.
    Tom

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    near Philadelphia
    Posts
    70
    Quote Originally Posted by loop2kil View Post
    There is also a 'Microsoft Office Diagnostics' tool under 'Microsoft Office Tools' in the Start Menu. It has helped me in the past with similar issues and usually takes 5-10 minutes depending on PC speed.

    You can also launch them in Safe mode by holding down the CTRL key before launching the program to eliminate any add-ons as the cause.
    I'm sorry to report that Office Diagnostics did not find any problems. It went through 15 levels, took about 10 minutes, and reported no problems. Thanks for the tip, though. Launching Word and Excel after running the diagnostics still each had the Configuration Process. It was certainly worth a try.
    Tom

  13. #13
    R.I.P. Nov 2015 RaisinCain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,951
    Quote Originally Posted by Thomas View Post
    The slipstream process is very interesting to me since, as I understand it, it will incorporate the service pack updates along with the installation. I will read further on that link and try to use it. Thank you. Both Excel and Word have SP3.
    If Excel and Word are reporting as having SP3 then you are up to date (so to speak). I still question why you need to do a custom install.

Similar Threads

  1. Office 2007 SP3
    By RaisinCain in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-27-11, 06:25 AM
  2. Windows 7 and Microsoft Office 2007
    By stu2 in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-03-10, 07:10 PM
  3. SP 2 for office 2007
    By 24giovanni in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-22-09, 08:28 PM
  4. Office 2007 sp1
    By CableDude in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-12-07, 08:18 PM
  5. Microsoft Office 2007 Announced
    By Brent in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-16-06, 02:44 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •