Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: In Line fuel meter

  1. #1
    SG Enthusiast Far-N-Wide's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    His Tavern of Solitude
    Posts
    1,160

    In Line fuel meter

    I have a 56 VW bug that never came with fuel gauge. The tank holds about 8.5 to 9 gallons of gas. I can get about 200 miles to the tank on daily commutes to work. So I know when I need to get gas. Problem is I do not want to cut a hold in my tank to add a Float nor cut a hole in my dash to add a fuel gauge.

    I remember years ago, there were in line kits you could measure fuel flow and set limits (digital display) for how much you have / used. I can't find them on any web searches. At least anything that uses standard 3/8 line hoses. I've seen some flow meters that are used for Fuel pumps that connect to standard 3/4 pump lines. But I don't think these will adapt for what I want. I was hoping for a sender inline that measure flow and pass that info electrically to a display I can mount under my dash. I really do not want to cut into my tank to add a float.
    USAF RETIRED

  2. #2
    Ft. Couch! morbidpete's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    W. Warwick RI
    Posts
    7,264
    http://www.overtons.com/modperl/prod...ls.cgi?i=76666

    http://www.xcshop.com/shop/product.p...tor-fuel-gauge (air craft, but no reason ti wouldnt work for a car I dont think)



    Quick find, didnt look to hard. I'm sure there a cheaper ones.
    Last edited by morbidpete; 12-06-13 at 04:23 AM.

  3. #3
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,891
    I'd get a replacement tank (if you want to keep your Bug around for a while....VERY worthwhile replacement)...and while you're at it, get a new tank with a sending unit for a gauge. This way you don't have to cut a hole in your tank. Lots of kits out there. And the tank replacement on Bugs is pretty much a piece of cake (as is almost any work on them). I'm guessing you have some parts catalogs already from places such as WolfsburgWest.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  4. #4
    SG Enthusiast Far-N-Wide's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    His Tavern of Solitude
    Posts
    1,160
    Quote Originally Posted by YeOldeStonecat View Post
    I'd get a replacement tank (if you want to keep your Bug around for a while....VERY worthwhile replacement)...and while you're at it, get a new tank with a sending unit for a gauge. This way you don't have to cut a hole in your tank. Lots of kits out there. And the tank replacement on Bugs is pretty much a piece of cake (as is almost any work on them). I'm guessing you have some parts catalogs already from places such as WolfsburgWest.
    I got the replacement tank. New old stock but just can't cut a hole it it. mostly because the tank is oddly shaped and there are no floats designed for it.
    USAF RETIRED

Similar Threads

  1. 2.4 Ghz SWR Meter
    By amdx in forum alt.internet.wireless
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-07-14, 02:57 AM
  2. Need a meter, what to get?
    By MoshePotomac in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-06-07, 11:11 PM
  3. Line Speed Meter
    By Microsoft 98 in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-17-04, 05:37 PM
  4. Power Meter?
    By BaLa in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-21-03, 08:16 PM
  5. Resource Meter
    By Ahoyhoy in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-15-01, 02:11 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •