Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Trouble connecting to printer/ Can't determine printer IP

  1. #1
    Regular Member TeddyTed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Briarwood NY
    Posts
    224

    Exclamation Trouble connecting to printer/ Can't determine printer IP

    Hello all,
    Iíve got a somewhat odd question which I hope someone may be able to answer.
    Hereís the scenario:
    I need to reset / reconfigure a printer in a remote office, but I do not know the actual IP address.
    The printer was moved from another office and had a static IP address assigned to it. I believe the IP address was 192.168.2.15. I remember trying to login and remove the static IP, but I think may have messed the configuration.
    The network in the remote office has an IP range of 192.168.4.1 to 192.168.4.xxx

    I was hoping to be able to connect to the printer via the browser as I have done when it was located in the old office, but I simply cannot connect.
    One positive thing is I was able to get 3 workstations (all windows 7) configured and printing to that device. However, they all connected by automatically detecting the printer on the following IP V6 address: fe80::f6ce:46ff:fe4a:9798%12.
    I can ping the printer using fe80::f6ce:46ff:fe4a:9798%12 and get a response.

    See screenshot:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IPV6_Ping.PNG 
Views:	159 
Size:	12.7 KB 
ID:	1015


    Iíve been trying to figure out how to translate that IP V6 address to IP V4. Is that possible ? I figured this way I may be able to connect via the browser much easier.
    If all fails, I figured I will have to physically go to that remote office, connect my laptop directly to the printer, and use Wireshark to detect the printer traffic and obtain the IP V4 address.

    Printer Model : HP LaserJet 2035n
    I've downloaded the HP Print and Scan Doctor, but it picks up the printer with the same IP V6 address:

    See screeshot:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IPV6_.PNG 
Views:	154 
Size:	16.7 KB 
ID:	1016


    If anyone has any advice on this matter, it would be gladly appreciated.

    Thanks
    TB
    Last edited by TeddyTed; 05-11-13 at 03:35 PM.

  2. #2
    R.I.P. Nov 2015 RaisinCain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,948
    Have you tried to do a cold reset?

    1. power it down
    2. hold down BOTH buttons (go and cancel)
    3. power on (still holding down buttons)
    4. all lights come on at same time, success
    5. power cycle again and it should pull an IP address from your LAN (provided DHCP is being used)

  3. #3
    Regular Member TeddyTed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Briarwood NY
    Posts
    224
    Quote Originally Posted by RaisinCain View Post
    Have you tried to do a cold reset?

    1. power it down
    2. hold down BOTH buttons (go and cancel)
    3. power on (still holding down buttons)
    4. all lights come on at same time, success
    5. power cycle again and it should pull an IP address from your LAN (provided DHCP is being used)


    Thank you for your response. After thinking about it, i realized that would the easier way to go.
    I got over to that location, did a reset and reconfigured with a new static IP address, and it's all set.


    Thanks,

    TB

  4. #4
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    51,036
    For printers I typically set the printers network settings to obtain auto, connect them...fire them up, and looks on the servers DHCP console to find it....grab its MAC address, and create a DHCP reservation for it (so it has a static IP all the time). Apply that reservation, power cycle the printer...ensure it grabs the new static IP, set it up on the print server, and deploy it via GP.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  5. #5
    Regular Member TeddyTed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Briarwood NY
    Posts
    224
    Quote Originally Posted by YeOldeStonecat View Post
    For printers I typically set the printers network settings to obtain auto, connect them...fire them up, and looks on the servers DHCP console to find it....grab its MAC address, and create a DHCP reservation for it (so it has a static IP all the time). Apply that reservation, power cycle the printer...ensure it grabs the new static IP, set it up on the print server, and deploy it via GP.
    Thanks for the tip YOSC !

Similar Threads

  1. Need help connecting a printer over the network
    By mohammehu in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-23-09, 01:19 PM
  2. Connecting a LAN printer to LPT2
    By Gort9k in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-18-09, 05:56 AM
  3. WRTSL54GS connecting a USB Printer in HyperWRT
    By Alterego in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-18-08, 12:54 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •