Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Daisy-chain?

  1. #1
    Domesticated Primate Bastid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
    Posts
    8,021

    Daisy-chain?

    Ok, my question is can i daisy chain a router... My Surfboard and Dlink are in the back bed room and i have a 75 foot cat5 running from there to the living room to the xbox and my main rig in the dining room... I was going to hook up a security cam onto the network and some other things as well. but i didnt want 5 different 75 foot cables running through the house.

    to to 1 75 foot cord to this
    Just trying to utilize stuff i have around the house... tripping over wires isnt fun in the early morning darkness.

    TIA
    Every normal man must be tempted at times, to spit on his hands, hoist the black flag, and begin slitting throats.
    I often wonder if the voices in my head ever get frustrated because I'm just too damn lazy to climb that clock tower.
    Click image to enlarge
    click image to view full version

  2. #2
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,965
    You could run 1x long cable down the hall to feed that Netgear using a LAN port....thus using it basically as a switch. You'd want to change it's LAN IP so it's in the same IP range as the DLink, yet unique..and disable DHCP on the Netgear too. So if the DLink is 192.168.1.1, make the Netgear something like 192.168.1.2 or 192.168.1.245.

    Don't like that 1 network cable running down the hall? Some wireless allow wireless bridging repeating or WDS, but honestly that sucks. Slow, high latency, and chances of success diminish as you start mixing brands.

    Another option is to get ethernet over powerline adapters. It's a little box that you plug into an outlet. Has an ethernet port, so uplink it to your DLink router. In the living room, you have another one...plug it in, have an ethernet cable coming out if it and uplink to your Netgear routers LAN port (same IP setup as above). So you're basically using your electrical system in your house instead of running a long ethernet cable down your hallway.

    They have MOCA adapters too....same principle but using existing coax in your house instead of the AC.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  3. #3
    Domesticated Primate Bastid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
    Posts
    8,021
    Im liking the outlet idea... ok, research time!
    Every normal man must be tempted at times, to spit on his hands, hoist the black flag, and begin slitting throats.
    I often wonder if the voices in my head ever get frustrated because I'm just too damn lazy to climb that clock tower.
    Click image to enlarge
    click image to view full version

Similar Threads

  1. Tor v.s. My Proxy Daisy Chain
    By RMCG in forum alt.computer.security
    Replies: 38
    Last Post: 08-30-10, 06:46 PM
  2. PIC: Jessica Simpson as Daisy Duke...
    By Brk in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 49
    Last Post: 02-05-05, 09:13 AM
  3. daisy chaining a netgear hub with a negear router
    By mr_stevef in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-28-02, 12:33 PM
  4. Printer/scanner Daisy Chain
    By kgsuth in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-02-02, 01:50 AM
  5. Daisy Chain??
    By headshot! in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-21-01, 03:58 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •