Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Time to step back into the Fold

  1. #1
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,853

    Time to step back into the Fold

    Been out of Folding for jeeeze...the longest time. I'm sure out of the dozens of folding instances I've put out there over the past decade, a few are still running that I forgot about. But non-the-less...on my own rigs, been lacking. Just fired back up again, time to get my numbers jumping!
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  2. #2
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,274
    Blog Entries
    6

  3. #3
    Ft. Couch! morbidpete's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    W. Warwick RI
    Posts
    7,262
    Ohh sure, Wait until I can start seeing you to decide to crank it up lol. I'm in the middle of a move, So I have some rigs down. Ill be back up to my 30K PPD in a few days. What are you thinking your going to push?

  4. #4
    resident Humboldt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    27,759
    Could use the help
    What are you firing up?

  5. #5
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,853
    Been out of it for so long, see the client is all GUI based now, instead of the old console.
    So stuck the latest download on my office rig, a quad cord i5 with 8 gigs. I have an ATI HD6450 I think....can't seem to get the GPU part working. Keep saying something like "waiting for idle" or something like that.

    I'll put it on our office managers workstation too..same thing, we recently got a bunch of HP Elite 8100 i5 8 gig rigs at the office for all 5 of us.
    I'll start setting what servers I can sneak it on. We've gotten so many clients virtualized now, I'm unsure about slapping it on them and hurting resources for the other guests on those hosts.

    So my 1 rig currently doing about 4700ppd, hopefully I'll get up above 20k soon. Gotta get that GPU part working.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  6. #6
    resident Humboldt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    27,759
    That "gpu part" would do wonders.

    Best of luck, obviously just don't piss off any clients.

  7. #7
    SG Enthusiast rickoic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    North Mississippi
    Posts
    2,167
    YeOldeStonecat
    The "waiting for idle" is because the bar for 'Folding Power' just below the Status/System Info/Log and above your Identity is not moved to full. Quirk with the GUI is that it won't let you fold GPU unless its at Full.

    By the way, "WELCOME BACK"

    Rick
    Prostate Cancer survivor, too late for me with a cure, but maybe I can help save others just like me. Wife brest cancer. Cured.

  8. #8
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,853
    I will dig into that...Thanks Rick...good to see ya!
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  9. #9
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,853
    It was at "Medium" Rick...I assume that's default. I slid it to "Full" and right away I saw "gpu:0:Caicos" light up green with a "Running" status.

    Next glitch I notice in this new FAH Control console....if I click on the "View" button up top, I'm assuming I should see some 3D/OpenGL screensaver thing showing the protien it's working on. I get a "Failed to launch viewer with command: y --width 800 --height 600..blah blah..error 2 the system cannot find the file specified".

    Thanks again! Good to see you here.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  10. #10
    SG Enthusiast rickoic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    North Mississippi
    Posts
    2,167
    Don't know anything about that. Times I've tried to use it it just gave me a default view of a protein so I quit using it.
    Rick
    Prostate Cancer survivor, too late for me with a cure, but maybe I can help save others just like me. Wife brest cancer. Cured.

Similar Threads

  1. Taking a step back in time. About 17 years.
    By downhill in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 06-17-06, 10:33 PM
  2. Back in the Fold!
    By lansens in forum Distributed Computing
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-05-04, 04:45 PM
  3. Back to fold
    By Tawcan in forum Distributed Computing
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-18-03, 09:58 AM
  4. Back to the fold...
    By Massa in forum Distributed Computing
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-09-03, 10:45 AM
  5. one step back...
    By Chris in forum Distributed Computing
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-14-01, 07:58 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •