Thread: Windows 8 & Windows Defender (MSE)

Advanced Member

Windows 8 & Windows Defender (MSE)

I have been using Microsoft Security Essentials for a couple years now. Ever since people here turned me onto it, I was using Avira before that. I use it on my own computers and most of the people I help with tech support issues. Shortly after Windows 8 came out, I found out that MSE was now incorporated into Windows 8 (and renamed Windows Defender). I was glad to see MS include this in Windows 8. But I cannot understand, why, did they remove the simple features to setup a SCHEDULED SCAN. It seems now you have to go through a convoluted process setting it up in Task Scheduler. Even as a techie, I was unable to do it. I got through most of the screens, but ran into a stumbling block at one point, when it tried to tell me the user I was signed in as, did not have permission to make the necessary setting, (and the user had Admin Rights).

Can we get MS to add SCHEDULED SCAN back into the SETTINGS TAB?

Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    It's already set by default to run a scan every morning. Look in scheduled tasks. Mine runs at 3:07am each day, by default, never had to program that.
    You can go in and change that time I suppose.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

Advanced Member
    I'll have to look next time I am on a Win 8 PC. But still STUPID that they took away that convenient option from within the Windows Defender (MSE) interface. Can you tell if the default scan in scheduled tasks runs a full or quick scan and can that be changed there as well?