Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Seagate HDD Failing, Seatools for DOS cant see drive.

  1. #1
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,980

    Seagate HDD Failing, Seatools for DOS cant see drive.

    So my Seagate, which I think is jsut out of warranty seems to be dying, Failed the Seatools for windows diagnotics.

    It said to run Seatools for DOS to potentially fix bad sectors, but it cant see the drive. Looks like it cant see SATA drives on controllers set as AHCI, and to set them to IDE, but my options are AHCI or RAID only.

    So anyone have a 3rd party tool to recommend?

    I should start backing stuff up while this still works.

  2. #2
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,867
    I don't believe in "fixing" a drive suspected as going bad. "fixing" bad sectors is a fancy way of saying "put a band aid on a patient dying of cancer". It's dying, period.

    Seriously...no way to toggle out of AHCI? yuck.

    Pickup a SATA to USB device...but probably your OS drive huh? Though could get a bootable utility disk
    Or got another computer you can slave this drive to and run the tools on it?

    If it "seems to be dying" (your perception/seat of the pants should be able to tell you this)...and it failed Seatools diags....order up a WD Black and clone that drive over before it goes Tango Uniform.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  3. #3
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,980
    Ya I dont believe in fixing bad sectors and using the drive permanently, I just needed to fix them to make the OS stable enough to use. Was able to boot off a CD and use chkdsk to get that done, 8 hour scan, fun.

    Now on to imagining and ordering a new drive.

  4. #4
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,980
    Cleaned up some bad sectors, remade pagefile and nice and stable for now.

    Ordered a WD Black 500 gig drive, even on sale!

  5. #5
    resident plumber Mark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    .
    Posts
    13,145
    2 things i use for backup, crashplan cloud service every day and acronis true image once a week, i am sure you know about them, but wanted to post them anyways

  6. #6
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,980
    Ya, im guilty of letting the imagining slide, I do use a cloud backup service though. Hopefully I can just clone the drive.

  7. #7
    A+, Security+, Mobility+ Shinobi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    4,432
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF View Post
    Cleaned up some bad sectors, remade pagefile and nice and stable for now.

    Ordered a WD Black 500 gig drive, even on sale!
    Nice new drive. :-) I've always buy WD's for drives.
    I've always had good luck using TestDisk for recovering data: http://www.cgsecurity.org/wiki/Main_Page
    After you get the new drive, one thing you could try to do... just for the sake of messing around with the bad drive.. is make the primary partition smaller than what the drive is. You may be able to squeak some more use out of it.. but ya.. when it's showing bad sectors like that, ya just can't trust putting data on it.
    _______________________________________________
    Vendor neutral certified in IT Project Management, IT Security, Cisco Networking, Cisco Security, Wide Area Networks, IPv6, IT Hardware, Unix, Linux, and Windows server administration

  8. #8
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,980
    And so much for stable, more bad sectors found. 5 hours in to a full chkdsk scan and repair and its at 10%.

    At least I've got this laptop.

  9. #9
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,980
    Rocking the WD now. I think the performance is better than the Seagate too.

  10. #10
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,867
    Yeah those Blacks fly. You get the 32 or 64 meg cache model?
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  11. #11
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,980
    64MB cache.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822236345

    Got it for 65 bucks after the promotion code.

Similar Threads

  1. Seagate 40GB Drive
    By hugoc713 in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-05-10, 02:33 PM
  2. I think my hard drive is failing
    By fixationdarknes in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 05-27-09, 06:38 AM
  3. CD rom drive failing on me?
    By Epyon in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-24-03, 09:50 AM
  4. New Seagate drive is here
    By HalfLifer in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 03-07-02, 04:34 PM
  5. Seagate Quite Drive vs. Maxtor Quite Drive Performance Comparison
    By Brent in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-28-02, 04:24 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •