Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: TCP Optimizer messed up my connection - what have I done wrong?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    7

    TCP Optimizer messed up my connection - what have I done wrong?

    Hey

    I have a 16mb ADSL2+ connection and I get download/upload speeds of about 13mb/1.3mb max. I downloaded TCP optimizer, and at first it seemed like a good tool. What I did:

    - I backed up current settings.
    - Set the slider to 13mb
    - Applied 'optimal settings' and rebooted.

    Then I found out my ping had drastically increased in games and ventrilo - making them unusable! Was getting pings of about 100-2500!!! Normally get stable 28 ping on ventrilo.

    So obviously this wouldn't do.. so I reverted back to default backed up settings and rebooted. But to my horror the ping was still incredibly high! After trying many positions on the slider and reverting back to standard settings I had no luck, problem still remained.

    Have I done anything wrong?

    BTW I should mention I used TCP Optimizer to attempt to reduce the occasional packet loss I experience. Please let me know if TCP opti cannot improve this.

    Thanks.

    PS using Win XP Pro 32 SP3
    Last edited by Sundance; 09-05-08 at 04:57 AM.

  2. #2
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Post your TCP Analyzer report.
    "Contentment is not the fulfillment of what you want, but is the realisation of how much you already have" - anon

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    7
    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 09.08.2008 10:00
    IP address: 93.96.xxx.xx

    TCP options string: 020405b401010402
    MSS: 1460
    MTU: 1500
    TCP Window: 65535 (NOT multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 0
    Unscaled RWIN : 65535
    Recommended RWINs: 64240, 128480, 256960, 513920
    BDP limit (200ms): 2621kbps (328KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 1049kbps (131KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 109
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)


    Ok hope this helps

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    7
    here is a trace route if it helps. Can I improve connection?

    C:\Documents and Settings\Name>tracert google.com

    Tracing route to google.com [64.233.187.99]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 7 ms 36 ms 37 ms O2WirelessBox.lan [192.168.1.254]
    2 * * * Request timed out.
    3 * * 11 ms 10.1.2.5
    4 10 ms 24 ms 10 ms 195.66.226.125
    5 11 ms 11 ms 11 ms 209.85.252.76
    6 38 ms 42 ms 37 ms 64.233.175.213
    7 49 ms 49 ms 40 ms 209.85.251.89
    8 38 ms 39 ms 42 ms 72.14.238.233
    9 47 ms 48 ms 47 ms 66.249.95.149
    10 45 ms 48 ms 45 ms 72.14.239.137
    11 46 ms 46 ms 47 ms 216.239.47.1
    12 47 ms 46 ms 48 ms jc-in-f99.google.com [64.233.187.99]

    Trace complete.

  5. #5
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Quote Originally Posted by Sundance View Post
    here is a trace route if it helps. Can I improve connection?

    C:\Documents and Settings\Name>tracert google.com

    Tracing route to google.com [64.233.187.99]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 7 ms 36 ms 37 ms O2WirelessBox.lan [192.168.1.254]
    2 * * * Request timed out.
    3 * * 11 ms 10.1.2.5
    4 10 ms 24 ms 10 ms 195.66.226.125
    5 11 ms 11 ms 11 ms 209.85.252.76
    6 38 ms 42 ms 37 ms 64.233.175.213
    7 49 ms 49 ms 40 ms 209.85.251.89
    8 38 ms 39 ms 42 ms 72.14.238.233
    9 47 ms 48 ms 47 ms 66.249.95.149
    10 45 ms 48 ms 45 ms 72.14.239.137
    11 46 ms 46 ms 47 ms 216.239.47.1
    12 47 ms 46 ms 48 ms jc-in-f99.google.com [64.233.187.99]

    Trace complete.
    Your router/modem is being placed near to some strong source of electrical interference, or you have coiled up signal/power cables.

    Relocate the modem away from other electrical devices and uncoil the cables.
    "Contentment is not the fulfillment of what you want, but is the realisation of how much you already have" - anon

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    7
    Interesting! My ethernet cable is coiled up as it is too long. Would that be a likely problem?

  7. #7
    SG Enthusiast Rollingstone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    HoChiMinh, Vietnam
    Posts
    3,161
    TCP Window: 65535 (NOT multiple of MSS)
    Set it to 513920 and check Windows Scaling. After that, post your new TCP ANalyzer and tracert.
    Firefox Extreme Speed Edition

    What makes you: "...waking up in the morning so excited about & wanna FLY out of the door ?"

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    7
    Ok here is a test of tracert, speed test and analyzer before and after changing the value:

    Before:
    Code:
    C:\Documents and Settings\Name>tracert google.com
    
    Tracing route to google.com [64.233.187.99]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:
    
      1     9 ms    36 ms    34 ms  O2WirelessBox.lan [192.168.1.254]
      2     9 ms     9 ms     9 ms  78-86-80-1.zone2.bethere.co.uk [78.86.80.1]
      3     *        *        *     Request timed out.
      4    10 ms    10 ms    10 ms  195.66.226.125
      5    10 ms    10 ms    10 ms  209.85.252.76
      6    35 ms    36 ms    43 ms  64.233.175.213
      7    41 ms    39 ms    41 ms  209.85.248.216
      8    36 ms    37 ms    39 ms  72.14.238.235
      9    44 ms    45 ms    44 ms  66.249.95.149
     10    45 ms    44 ms    45 ms  72.14.236.175
     11    47 ms    46 ms    47 ms  216.239.49.226
     12    44 ms    44 ms    54 ms  jc-in-f99.google.com [64.233.187.99]
    
    Trace complete.
    
    -----------------------------------------------
    
    Speed Down  	13508.99 Kbps ( 13.2 Mbps )
    Speed Up 	1106.43 Kbps ( 1.1 Mbps )
    Port 	8095
    Server 	speedtest2.adslguide.org.uk
    
    -----------------------------------------------
    
     SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results  
    Tested on: 09.10.2008 13:07 
    IP address: 93.96.xxx.xx 
    
    TCP options string: 020405b401010402 
    MSS: 1460 
    MTU: 1500 
    TCP Window: 65535 (NOT multiple of MSS) 
    RWIN Scaling: 0 
    Unscaled RWIN : 65535 
    Recommended RWINs: 64240, 128480, 256960, 513920 
    BDP limit (200ms): 2621kbps (328KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 1049kbps (131KBytes/s) 
    MTU Discovery: ON 
    TTL: 109 
    Timestamps: OFF 
    SACKs: ON 
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)
    After:
    Code:
    C:\Documents and Settings\Name>tracert google.com
    
    Tracing route to google.com [72.14.207.99]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:
    
      1    17 ms    35 ms    34 ms  O2WirelessBox.lan [192.168.1.254]
      2     9 ms     9 ms    10 ms  78-86-80-1.zone2.bethere.co.uk [78.86.80.1]
      3     *        *        *     Request timed out.
      4    12 ms    14 ms    13 ms  195.66.226.125
      5    15 ms    12 ms    12 ms  209.85.252.76
      6    44 ms    35 ms    38 ms  64.233.175.213
      7    39 ms    39 ms    40 ms  72.14.233.113
      8    40 ms     *       40 ms  66.249.94.90
      9    40 ms    39 ms    43 ms  72.14.236.134
     10    42 ms    41 ms    42 ms  eh-in-f99.google.com [72.14.207.99]
    
    Trace complete.
    
    -----------------------------------------------
    
    Speed Down  	13662.36 Kbps ( 13.3 Mbps )
    Speed Up 	1106.48 Kbps ( 1.1 Mbps )
    Port 	8095
    Server 	speedtest2.adslguide.org.uk
    
    Speed Down  	13556.76 Kbps ( 13.2 Mbps )
    Speed Up 	1105.42 Kbps ( 1.1 Mbps )
    Port 	80
    Server 	speedtest2.adslguide.org.uk
    
    -----------------------------------------------
    
     SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results  
    Tested on: 09.10.2008 13:20 
    IP address: 93.96.xxx.xx 
     
    TCP options string: 020405b40103030301010402 
    MSS: 1460 
    MTU: 1500 
    TCP Window: 513920 (multiple of MSS) 
    RWIN Scaling: 3 
    Unscaled RWIN : 64240 
    Recommended RWINs: 64240, 128480, 256960, 513920 
    BDP limit (200ms): 20557kbps (2570KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 8223kbps (1028KBytes/s) 
    MTU Discovery: ON 
    TTL: 109 
    Timestamps: OFF 
    SACKs: ON 
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)
    All seems well so far, anything you have to add?

  9. #9
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    How are your ping times now?
    "Contentment is not the fulfillment of what you want, but is the realisation of how much you already have" - anon

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    7
    They seem good so far, certainly no radical change like when I applied 'optimal settings'. What should the change in 'TCP Window: 513920' mainly affect? In what scenario could I possibly see the difference? I admit I have only been using PC with new setting for 1 day, so not been able to see any difference so far. Thanks for your help.

  11. #11
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Quote Originally Posted by Sundance View Post
    They seem good so far, certainly no radical change like when I applied 'optimal settings'. What should the change in 'TCP Window: 513920' mainly affect? In what scenario could I possibly see the difference? I admit I have only been using PC with new setting for 1 day, so not been able to see any difference so far. Thanks for your help.
    TCP Window set to 513920 is to take advantage of Comcast's speedboost which gives a download speed of over 20 mbps in the initial 10 seconds or so. This feature is good only for web browsing.

    If you do not have this speedboost feature in your area, you can set TCP Window to 256960.
    "Contentment is not the fulfillment of what you want, but is the realisation of how much you already have" - anon

  12. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    7
    It might be my imagination but 256960 may work even better. Thanks.

  13. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    1
    iam using bsnl broadband connect through wifi . but iam facing problem that my internet become slow after 15 or 10 mints .. all downloading and browisng stuck . genrally my speed is 512 kpbs . and i got speed 60kbps from bsnl providers .. and downloding speed goes after 15 mint 30 kpbs to 35 kpbs ... and sometime stuck but strange thing is this when i disable and than enable local area connection in connection setting sped gone agan 60 kpbs . really frustated this happend with me when i used tcp optimizer and i backup setting stil nthing happed plsss help iam fedup

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 37
    Last Post: 09-19-08, 05:16 PM
  2. TCP Optimizer ruins my connection... Need help freaking badly!!!!
    By Rico Gonzi in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-01-07, 06:48 AM
  3. Help tweaking cable connection with TCP Optimizer
    By Indoobidubly in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-29-07, 02:27 PM
  4. Weird TCP problems using a vnc connection(Cable /T1)
    By DigitEmp in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-15-07, 01:55 AM
  5. TCP Optimizer ruined my connection
    By damokt in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 03-26-07, 07:52 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •