Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Most Reliable Solid State Drive Brand

  1. #1
    Cabledude Avatar Fan purecomedy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,354

    Most Reliable Solid State Drive Brand

    I'm looking for a solid state drive. I don't care about absolute top performance, I just want something that works, isn't flaky and will last. Appears that I'll be spending somewhere near $200 (note, in Canada...a bit more expensive here).

    I was thinking of getting a Crucial 256MB one. Was considering Intel and Samsung as well.

    Opinions/advice would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,982
    Crucial or Intel come to mind first. The Crucial M4s have been great.

  3. #3
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,876
    Yappers......Intel or Crucial.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  4. #4
    Certified SG Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    29,514
    I've only used Intel. Fast and I like their SSD cleanup utility. You'll see all kinds of one star votes on SSDs at NewEgg, people claiming the drive died after a month or whatever. I've never had any performance or longevity issues with the Intels I've purchased.

  5. #5
    Cabledude Avatar Fan purecomedy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,354
    What does the cleanup utility do? I thought I had read somewhere not to bother defragging SSDs because it just stresses them out for no real reason in most cases so I assume this cleanup thing is something else.

  6. #6
    Certified SG Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    29,514
    Among other things like drive health, life remaining on the flash cells, etc., it can invoke the TRIM command manually. Helps optimize the drive. Defragging is frowned upon with SSDs strictly because of the number of disk writes it performs. Defragging a mechanical hard drive arranges the data closer to the center of the disk platter for performance, but SSD read speeds are the same no matter where the data is on the drive, so defragging them is unnecessary.

    Quote Originally Posted by purecomedy View Post
    What does the cleanup utility do? I thought I had read somewhere not to bother defragging SSDs because it just stresses them out for no real reason in most cases so I assume this cleanup thing is something else.

  7. #7
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,876
    Quote Originally Posted by Burke View Post
    Defragging a mechanical hard drive arranges the data closer to the PERIMETER (outer tracks) of the disk platter for performance,.
    *fixed*
    Surface read of the edges of a spinning platter....more inches per second travel past the head. Slower in the middle.
    Located data on the outer tracks of the disk were introduced as a feature with Win9X defrag....but it's not the primary purpose of a defrag. It's about putting a file down in as much contiguous space as possible, across free blocks within the file system.

    TRIM is natively supported in Windows 7, older OS's need the utilities to perform that function.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  8. #8
    Cabledude Avatar Fan purecomedy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,354
    Alright, all sounds good. I'll hunt for price and return policies a little and get my order in this weekend!

  9. #9
    Certified SG Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    29,514
    I've been wrong all these years? Crap.

    Quote Originally Posted by YeOldeStonecat View Post
    *fixed*
    Surface read of the edges of a spinning platter....more inches per second travel past the head. Slower in the middle.

  10. #10
    Senior Member nightowl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    ottawa, canada (ROCKS)
    Posts
    7,405
    I got 2 120 gig intel 330 series in raid 0. Very quick! Nice thing about the intels is they come with a sata3 cable and a 2.5 to 3.5 adapter.
    Quote Originally Posted by Zilog B
    Loading the dishwasher at brembo's house means bringing the fiancee a sixpack home.

  11. #11
    Moderator David's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Nova Caesarea
    Posts
    9,356
    Blog Entries
    1
    I do not believe TRIM operates on RAID0 set ups.

    I have enjoyed crucial m4's, no issues whatsoever. I just purchased a Samsung 840Pro. It feels a touch quicker.

    Hell_Yes

    Luck is where preparation meets opportunity - Seneca

    "Anti-intellectualism has been a constant thread winding its way through our political and cultural life, nurtured by the false notion that democracy means that 'my ignorance is just as good as your knowledge.'" - Isaac Asimov

    It is my ambition to say in ten sentences what others say in a whole book. - Friedrich Nietzsche

  12. #12
    Domesticated Primate Bastid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
    Posts
    8,021
    Quote Originally Posted by David View Post
    I have enjoyed crucial m4's, no issues whatsoever.
    +2 32g, 128g
    Every normal man must be tempted at times, to spit on his hands, hoist the black flag, and begin slitting throats.
    I often wonder if the voices in my head ever get frustrated because I'm just too damn lazy to climb that clock tower.
    Click image to enlarge
    click image to view full version

  13. #13
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,876
    Quote Originally Posted by David View Post
    I do not believe TRIM operates on RAID0 set ups. .
    Support for it has recently been added to the latest chipsets/RAID controllers.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

Similar Threads

  1. Crucial Adrenaline solid state cache drive
    By YeOldeStonecat in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-15-12, 09:26 AM
  2. Build you own Solid State Drive
    By Sava700 in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-14-08, 03:59 PM
  3. Intel, Micron Claim To Boost Solid-State Drive Speeds By 500%
    By knightmare in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-06-08, 10:39 PM
  4. Cenatak hard drive...a solid state hard drive made up of memory.
    By YeOldeStonecat in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-01-03, 08:36 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •