Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Crazy network problem PLEASE help

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    3

    Crazy network problem PLEASE help

    Hi,

    I've been having alot of problems with gaming lately. I have a ps3 and xbox and both consoles lag like crazy. On every shooter game like call of duty mw2 my bullets get barely registered. On black ops 2 the enemy has an INSANE reaction time and the killcams always lie to me. On my screen i literally shot 5 bullets and on his screen i didnt even point my gun at him! And i always have a 4bar connection! So I bought a new router called Linksys EA3500, a router on the best gaming routers list. I did the QOS to my xbox and still didnt change anything.

    My xbox is in dmz and speedtest.net gives me 98,54 mbps down and 10,54 mbps up. And my ping is both on speedtest and pingtest 11ms. My jitter is 1ms and packet loss is 0% always.

    Nobody in the house is downloading or anything like that, i have cable internet and weirdest thing of all is that a just moved into this new build house so everything is completely new and fresh.

    Basically, i've tried everything that i could do; call ISP, etc, EVERYTHING. The only thing i think that could be something interesting is that when i do a test at myspeed.com it gives me a consistency service percent of 60% and when i do another it goes up or down again like crazy. I have no idea how to improve consistency of service.

    Help would be a LOT appreciated

    Thanks in advace.

  2. #2
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,857
    When you mention "4 bars"..makes me think you're doing wireless clients?
    Gaming on wireless...yuck.
    Run copper...do ethernet over powerline...anything but wireless. Wireless is soooo inconsistent and difficult to diagnose "per case". May work fine for one person..yet move the same equipment to another house..and it stinks. Soooo many variables.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    3
    I use cable internet, and ingame I have a 4-bar connection (maximum you can get).

  4. #4
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,857
    Quote Originally Posted by henkjan View Post
    I use cable internet, and ingame I have a 4-bar connection (maximum you can get).
    OK...from from your computer..or from your XBox...or whatever you're playing on...how does that connect to your router...wireless? Or ethernet?
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    3
    My setup:

    Cable->Modem(bridged)->router(linksys ea3500)->xbox(ethernet)

Similar Threads

  1. Crazy Problem??
    By rockdog20 in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-28-07, 12:30 PM
  2. 2 Dlink network--LAN lights are crazy
    By russterg in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-03-06, 10:12 PM
  3. please help for this crazy problem
    By ntvh in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-18-06, 10:05 AM
  4. Please help me understand this crazy network.
    By Massa in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-31-03, 08:34 PM
  5. Network and the crazy tier2 guys @home
    By Diver in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-01-00, 05:57 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •