Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: What's a good 8 port gigabit switch?

  1. #1
    404 Sanity Not Found PsykoPenguin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Somewhere in the Antarctic Circle
    Posts
    1,376
    Blog Entries
    4

    What's a good 8 port gigabit switch?

    I got a bit of a job to due possibly Tuesday or Wednesday (They haven't really decided yet) to ram an image onto 8 new computers (get 7 done without having to disconnect and reconnect cables would be nice) and my current switch isn't even gigabit. I've been out of the loop since I never got any kind of network jobs (lot of computer repair though) so I never bothered keeping up with this networking equipment of mine.

    So getting back to the point here is what's a good 8 port gigabit switch these days? Price isn't really much of a concern but the cheaper the better but quality and performance is always #1.

    Edit: I don't need anything "smart" I just need a "dumb" switch as it's just gonna be hooked up to their network and from there the image will be grabbed then after the service is complete I take off the switch and take it with me.
    Last edited by PsykoPenguin; 09-16-12 at 11:37 PM. Reason: forgot details.
    "I'm like a lion on the prowl after prey"

  2. #2
    Ft. Couch! morbidpete's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    W. Warwick RI
    Posts
    7,279
    My house is running off an 8 Port linksys Gig switch, Have yet to have 1 issue ( running 24/7 for 6 month's now) Speeds are great. It's a dumb switch, So no management. But ti suits my needs very well. I have multiple NAS's attached (all PC's and NAS Gigabit) and it streams to 3 PC's 720P no issues

  3. #3
    404 Sanity Not Found PsykoPenguin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Somewhere in the Antarctic Circle
    Posts
    1,376
    Blog Entries
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by morbidpete View Post
    My house is running off an 8 Port linksys Gig switch, Have yet to have 1 issue ( running 24/7 for 6 month's now) Speeds are great. It's a dumb switch, So no management. But ti suits my needs very well. I have multiple NAS's attached (all PC's and NAS Gigabit) and it streams to 3 PC's 720P no issues
    Model?
    "I'm like a lion on the prowl after prey"

  4. #4
    Senior Member nightowl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    ottawa, canada (ROCKS)
    Posts
    7,412
    got this switch for my buddies work cause hes got nightly VM backups:

    Cisco SLM2008T (SG200-08), 8-port Gigabit Ethernet Smart Switch

    runs great so far! Has had it for a couple of months now.
    Quote Originally Posted by Zilog B
    Loading the dishwasher at brembo's house means bringing the fiancee a sixpack home.

  5. #5
    404 Sanity Not Found PsykoPenguin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Somewhere in the Antarctic Circle
    Posts
    1,376
    Blog Entries
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by nightowl View Post
    got this switch for my buddies work cause hes got nightly VM backups:

    Cisco SLM2008T (SG200-08), 8-port Gigabit Ethernet Smart Switch

    runs great so far! Has had it for a couple of months now.
    Forgot to add the detail of needing a dumb switch but I'll look into this one for when I need a smart switch... Thanks.
    "I'm like a lion on the prowl after prey"

  6. #6
    Ft. Couch! morbidpete's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    W. Warwick RI
    Posts
    7,279
    Quote Originally Posted by PsykoPenguin View Post
    Model?
    http://www.bizrate.com/networking-products/7671211.html

    That's the one, cant find the exact model, And I don't have access to my basement as my kitchen is being remodeled and that's the only entrance.

  7. #7
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,737
    Blog Entries
    6
    I'd go for a Cisco, or a Netgear (Netgear GS108 is a good inexpensive unmanaged one, supports jumbo frames, fanless, metal case, reliable).

    I'd avoid plastic cases, fans, TP-Link and the TRENDnet Green switches, they tend to power down ports and drop off connections when your client computers are in sleep mode.

  8. #8
    SG Enthusiast Rainbow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    2,927
    I've always had bad luck with Netgear plus I hate the fact the cables come out the front. Cisco or the Linksys one mentioned has my vote.

  9. #9
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,965
    If I needed a cheap 8 port gigabit....agree with Philip..the Netgear GS108 is the best little basic unmanaged sucker I've deployed a bunch of...
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16833122111
    Lifetime warranty too.
    However, stay away from the cheaper plastic Netgear switches (and with other brands)

    Our favorite switches are HP ProCurves...but they're too pricey for your quick home job IMO...but if you will be using it a lot more...get a ProCurve
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16833316209
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  10. #10
    R.I.P. 2018-07-16 RoundEye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    In a dry but moldy New Orleans, Louisiana
    Posts
    18,219
    I'd go Lynksys. Cisco bought Linksys a while back, I bet it was a way to make a little more money off software they had written or to incorparate different designs under a name the public is familiar with.
    Sliding down the banister of life ..........................

  11. #11
    404 Sanity Not Found PsykoPenguin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Somewhere in the Antarctic Circle
    Posts
    1,376
    Blog Entries
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Mad_Haggis View Post
    Belkin has problems with old wood, wifi?, new to wireless, against it in the end.
    Well, we ended up going with a 4 port, had a lot of bottlenecking going on at the locations, they were having back end issues with their network and was going as slow as dialup.
    Wireless was too risky for something as important as this project, couldn't risk lost packets and corruption.
    "I'm like a lion on the prowl after prey"

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-01-12, 08:20 AM
  2. fanless 24 port gigabit switch
    By Christopher Glaeser in forum comp.security.firewalls
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-09-09, 01:07 PM
  3. Gigabit Switch
    By Xscorpio in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-26-07, 09:40 PM
  4. Is it possible to add a gigabit switch to a 10/100 network?
    By Sgt_Strider in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-20-03, 01:23 AM
  5. what about a gigabit switch?
    By supercool in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-27-01, 04:36 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •