Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: IPv6

  1. #1
    Ft. Couch! morbidpete's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    W. Warwick RI
    Posts
    7,282

    IPv6

    Is anyone running ipv6 on there internal network? Anyone even have access to ipv6 with there isp? Just called cox and we are a long way away from receiving it on the business accounts. Just wondering if anyone had any tips?

    I'm really worried about trying to memorize the address's :-P

    -Pete

  2. #2
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    51,000
    I run it on my home network and I've setup some smaller clients networks with it....Windows 7 won't do Home Network without it.
    Haven't leaned on it with servers yet. Haven't done it with ISPs yet at the edge.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  3. #3
    Ft. Couch! morbidpete's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    W. Warwick RI
    Posts
    7,282
    Windows 7 wont do any home networking without it? Running server 2008 r2. its the dhcp and dns server(domain environment) at home. all ipv4 address, where are they getting the ipv6 address's from? I think i need to do a lot of learning and reading! Do you see any advantages yet? or just trying to get your feet wet?

  4. #4
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    51,000
    Quote Originally Posted by morbidpete View Post
    Windows 7 wont do any home networking without it? Running server 2008 r2. its the dhcp and dns server(domain environment) at home. all ipv4 address, where are they getting the ipv6 address's from? I think i need to do a lot of learning and reading! Do you see any advantages yet? or just trying to get your feet wet?
    "Home Group"...yeah. Old fashioned networking...you don't need IP6. But if you want to use Home Group (the Windows 7 automatic network setup thing)...you need IP 6 running on the rigs.
    http://social.technet.microsoft.com/...ing-guide.aspx
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  5. #5
    Ft. Couch! morbidpete's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    W. Warwick RI
    Posts
    7,282
    Well that explains why I neever had an Issue, I refuse to use the home group feature! Thanks for the tips Cat!

Similar Threads

  1. how to get IPv6
    By switchit in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-19-11, 06:54 PM
  2. Any using IPv6 yet?
    By Shinobi in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 37
    Last Post: 02-06-11, 08:57 AM
  3. IPv6
    By Linea Recta in forum alt.comp.networking.routers
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-20-10, 10:50 AM
  4. IPv6 address not connecting but IPv4-mapped -IPv6 does. Please help.
    By DanielJohnson in forum alt.comp.networking.routers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-06-09, 07:10 PM
  5. IPv6
    By eddiec in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 12-11-01, 12:35 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •