Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: The Volume is Dirty

  1. #1
    Certified SG Addict CableDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,786

    The Volume is Dirty

    I know that's not a good sign, but can some one shed a little more light on that message?

  2. #2
    Ft. Couch! morbidpete's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    W. Warwick RI
    Posts
    7,271
    low source volume amplified to much to sound distorted? No idea lmao

  3. #3
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,898
    Stuck in a chkdsk loop with that warning?
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  4. #4
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    Did you clean it? I normally use soap like Joy dish soap..works great for me.

  5. #5
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,988
    File system corruption or something like that, time for chkdsk.

  6. #6
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,898
    Jeeze I've been awake all night waiting for a reply! :P
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  7. #7
    Ft. Couch! morbidpete's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    W. Warwick RI
    Posts
    7,271
    wow, I totally didn't even think of a hard drive with my reply. Blond moment!

    chkdsk /r ?

  8. #8
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,898
    Quote Originally Posted by morbidpete View Post
    wow, I totally didn't even think of a hard drive with my reply. Blond moment!

    chkdsk /r ?
    LOL
    It's a "flag" that's on the hard drive..it's there all the time. Sometimes it doesn't get reset when something happens, never realizes that chkdsk did run to fix something, and you can manually reset that flag via command prompt. I forget the command..have had to do it a few times..but it's just a line or two at the command prompt, reboot, and you're all set. A lot of times you don't need a chkdsk...just, that particular flag gets tripped and this error comes up.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  9. #9
    R.I.P. Nov 2015 RaisinCain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,951
    Bring up a command prompt by typing in CMD click on OK and type fsutil dirty query C: (if that is the drive letter)
    This queries the drive, and more than likely it will tell you that it is dirty.
    Next, type CHKNTFS /X C:
    The X tells Windows to NOT check that particular drive on the next reboot.

  10. #10
    R.I.P. Nov 2015 RaisinCain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,951
    Have you tried that yet?

  11. #11
    Certified SG Addict CableDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,786
    It showed up on the first chkdsk run through. Not through the command prompt, the one when you restart the PC.

  12. #12
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    Quote Originally Posted by CableDude View Post
    It showed up on the first chkdsk run through. Not through the command prompt, the one when you restart the PC.
    You try my suggestion yet??? HELL NO!!

  13. #13
    R.I.P. Nov 2015 RaisinCain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,951
    Can you boot into Windows? If so follow my previous post. If not let me know. There are other options. Ignore the smart asses.

  14. #14
    Certified SG Addict CableDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,786
    Quote Originally Posted by RaisinCain View Post
    Can you boot into Windows? If so follow my previous post. If not let me know. There are other options.
    I will give that a look tomorrow. I am not near the PC at this time.

  15. #15
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,898
    Quote Originally Posted by CableDude View Post
    It showed up on the first chkdsk run through. Not through the command prompt, the one when you restart the PC.
    Right. Did you reboot the PC? If so...did chkdsk kick in by itself and show the dirty warning again? A lot of times that flag gets messed up and won't auto clear, so you have to type iin a command to actually manually reset it. I'll try to dig up that command. You can either manually reset it....or tell checkdisk to ignore the drive on the next reboot and bounce the rig and then run a chkdsk again, like cain mentioned above.

    Or was it just a one time deal? Showed up once..can't get it to show up again?

    Workstation? In which case..no biggie.
    Or a server? In which case...if (hopefully you have) RAID...could lead to a bit of work.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  16. #16
    Certified SG Addict CableDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,786
    Quote Originally Posted by YeOldeStonecat View Post
    Right. Did you reboot the PC? If so...did chkdsk kick in by itself and show the dirty warning again? A lot of times that flag gets messed up and won't auto clear, so you have to type iin a command to actually manually reset it. I'll try to dig up that command. You can either manually reset it....or tell checkdisk to ignore the drive on the next reboot and bounce the rig and then run a chkdsk again, like cain mentioned above.

    Or was it just a one time deal? Showed up once..can't get it to show up again?

    Workstation? In which case..no biggie.
    Or a server? In which case...if (hopefully you have) RAID...could lead to a bit of work.
    One time deal. I went to error checking in Windows and had it run chkdsk on next restart. That is when the volume is dirty message came up. Ran chkdsk again after that and nothing.

  17. #17
    R.I.P. Nov 2015 RaisinCain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,951
    I would back up your data if possible and order a replacement HDD. Sounds like the HDD might be getting ready to go south.

  18. #18
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,898
    Quote Originally Posted by CableDude View Post
    One time deal. I went to error checking in Windows and had it run chkdsk on next restart. That is when the volume is dirty message came up. Ran chkdsk again after that and nothing.
    Ahh...wouldn't lose sleep over it. Like I mentioned...it's only to tell Checkdisk if it needs to run or not..such as if you tell it run run at next reboot (that checkbox when you manually kick it off). It's not an indicator of corruption, only something that tells it to run or not. Something just flipped it.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  19. #19
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    Quote Originally Posted by RaisinCain View Post
    Can you boot into Windows? If so follow my previous post. If not let me know. There are other options. Ignore the smart asses.
    Drive may be very dusty.. ya never know

  20. #20
    Elite Member TonyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Fairfax, VA
    Posts
    10,338
    No one has any right to force data on you
    and command you to believe it or else.
    If it is not true for you, it isn't true.

    LRH

Similar Threads

  1. Looks Dirty but it isn't
    By BaLa in forum Digital Media and Photography
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-03-10, 03:29 PM
  2. what is LFE volume?
    By 7thkevin in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 06-29-07, 04:29 PM
  3. Drive d: raid0 w/ 2x400gb drives and a dirty volume error
    By Grimson in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-07-04, 08:29 PM
  4. volume license
    By m4a2t0t in forum Gaming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-30-03, 07:07 PM
  5. Winamp Volume and Windows WAV Volume
    By FlyingMonkey in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-01-01, 11:07 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •