Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: new UPS for a HP Proliant DL380 G5

  1. #1
    Senior Member nightowl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    ottawa, canada (ROCKS)
    Posts
    7,405

    new UPS for a HP Proliant DL380 G5

    Hi guys,

    I need to replace a UPS system for a HP proliant DL380 G5. Not sure how much wattage a server would need to last for 20 min for it to shut down. What would you guys recomend?
    Quote Originally Posted by Zilog B
    Loading the dishwasher at brembo's house means bringing the fiancee a sixpack home.

  2. #2
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,892
    I usually start with su1500 models for servers of that size.
    Single or redundant power supplies in it?
    How many hard drives?
    How many CPUs?
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  3. #3
    Senior Member nightowl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    ottawa, canada (ROCKS)
    Posts
    7,405
    sorry for not getting back to you guys sooner. We had a bad storm with 140km/h winds hit our area on sunday night so alot of IT related issues due to power blips.

    The server has 2 3.2ghz xeon cpus, 5 x 2.5" hard drives and has 2 redundant power supplies.
    Quote Originally Posted by Zilog B
    Loading the dishwasher at brembo's house means bringing the fiancee a sixpack home.

  4. #4
    Senior Member nightowl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    ottawa, canada (ROCKS)
    Posts
    7,405
    Quote Originally Posted by Zilog B
    Loading the dishwasher at brembo's house means bringing the fiancee a sixpack home.

  5. #5
    Senior Member nightowl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    ottawa, canada (ROCKS)
    Posts
    7,405
    Quote Originally Posted by Zilog B
    Loading the dishwasher at brembo's house means bringing the fiancee a sixpack home.

  6. #6
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,892
    http://www.apc.com/tools/ups_selector/index.cfm

    Yeah..duallie proc, PS, and that many drives...I'd be starting at a 2200..and since you're at that price point, may as well go with a 3000.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  7. #7
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,892
    Quote Originally Posted by nightowl View Post
    No...that can't push enough juice, your server will be rebooting randomly.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  8. #8
    A+, Security+, Mobility+ Shinobi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    4,432
    Blog Entries
    1
    Hey Hi

    I work on G3, G4 and G5 servers. That rack one SUA1500RM2U is a good one. Also there is a SUA1500 floor model, but I think the rack ones are better to have in the server room. Also what YOSC said is correct, the 2200 rack models are also good.. if you can spend the money, get the 2200 rack mounted one or higher.
    _______________________________________________
    Vendor neutral certified in IT Project Management, IT Security, Cisco Networking, Cisco Security, Wide Area Networks, IPv6, IT Hardware, Unix, Linux, and Windows server administration

  9. #9
    Senior Member nightowl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    ottawa, canada (ROCKS)
    Posts
    7,405
    hey folks,

    thanks for your help. I ended up getting this one:

    http://www.shoprbc.com/ca/shop/produ....php?pid=62867

    Its a floor model (sits on the floor instaid of rackmount) but it was $200 cheaper.
    Quote Originally Posted by Zilog B
    Loading the dishwasher at brembo's house means bringing the fiancee a sixpack home.

Similar Threads

  1. HP Proliant DL360
    By loop2kil in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 02-01-10, 02:22 PM
  2. HP Compaq Proliant DL580 G2 Server
    By thepieman in forum Marketplace - Buy/Sell/Trade/Hot Deals
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-23-06, 10:26 PM
  3. Compaq ProLiant ML310
    By shadrach in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-12-03, 07:41 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •