Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Speeds intermittently Drop to 0?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    4

    Speeds intermittently Drop to 0?

    Hello All,
    I have just recently started experiencing problems with my connection. Connection going fine, streaming HD video, and then randomly it will cut out for anywhere from 5 to 30 or more seconds. It is not the server as I've tried multiple live streams from multiple websites, from multiple places around the world. (also I didn't have these issues at all 2-3 weeks ago) I have cable internet through mediacom. We pay for the 20Mb down and 2Mb up. Speedtests confirm that the total throughput is not an issue. I have experienced these problems with 2 routers (a linksys 120N, and a Belkin Play F7D4302) as well as directly connecting modem to my PC. We experience this on all the machines connected weather it's LAN or WAN. I have already called my ISP, they said that I have packet loss issues, and they are sending someone soon but I'm hoping there may be something I can do in the mean time. I feel like packet loss should be consistent to all packets sent and not just be a seemingly random 20-30 seconds of no network activity (as reported in my windows resource monitor under the network section [I am just watching the line graphs])

    EDIT: Just realized it may not be clear. I am not having this problem ONLY with watching live streaming video. All websites simply won't load for periods of time. All lights on router and Modem show green during all the time. According to my ISP I've been online with no interruptions for 16+ hours, but he did do a ping test with I believe 50 packets, and said I was at 26% packetloss.

    If any other information is needed or expected please let me know. I'm not expecting any easy fixes or really any fix for that matter. IMO it's mediacom's problem as I've already tested with 3 completely different hardware configurations on my end, and we see these problems on every machine on the network. Thanks in advance though for taking the time to maybe help!

    Here's the stuff I see is typically wanted/expected.
    « SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results »
    « SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results »
    Tested on: 06.19.2011 14:02
    IP address: 173.25.xxx.xx
    Client OS: Windows 7

    TCP options string: 020405b401010402
    MSS: 1460
    MTU: 1500
    TCP Window: 64240 (multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 0 bits
    Unscaled RWIN : 64240
    Recommended RWINs: 64240, 128480, 256960, 513920, 1027840
    BDP limit (200ms): 2570kbps (321KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 1028kbps (128KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 117
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)
    Tracert I posted a couple of these because i dont always get the same result obviously that is my problem.
    Code:
    C:\Users\David>tracert speedguide.net Tracing route to speedguide.net [68.67.73.20] over a maximum of 30 hops: 1 1 ms <1 ms <1 ms router.belkin [192.168.2.1] 2 7 ms 7 ms 8 ms 10.27.114.1 3 9 ms 9 ms 7 ms 172.30.1.113 4 * * * Request timed out. 5 * * * Request timed out. 6 14 ms 15 ms 15 ms 12.122.249.117 7 16 ms 16 ms 15 ms cr84.cgcil.ip.att.net [12.122.132.162] 8 16 ms 14 ms 15 ms cr2.cgcil.ip.att.net [12.123.7.250] 9 14 ms 15 ms 14 ms gar3.cgcil.ip.att.net [12.122.132.213] 10 15 ms 15 ms 16 ms 12.249.183.6 11 * * * Request timed out. 12 * * 47 ms speedguide.net [68.67.73.20] Trace complete.
    C:\Users\David>tracert 68.67.73.20 Tracing route to speedguide.net [68.67.73.20] over a maximum of 30 hops: 1 1 ms <1 ms <1 ms router.belkin [192.168.2.1] 2 * * 9 ms 10.27.114.1 3 8 ms 7 ms 7 ms 172.30.1.113 4 8 ms 9 ms 9 ms 172.30.1.149 5 9 ms 7 ms 7 ms 172.30.1.146 6 14 ms 13 ms 13 ms 12.122.249.117 7 16 ms 16 ms 15 ms cr84.cgcil.ip.att.net [12.122.132.162] 8 15 ms 15 ms 15 ms cr2.cgcil.ip.att.net [12.123.7.250] 9 * * * Request timed out. 10 15 ms 15 ms 16 ms 12.249.183.6 11 46 ms 47 ms 47 ms jax1-ar2-xe-2-0-0-0.us.twtelecom.net [66.192.249 .142] 12 51 ms 49 ms 50 ms speedguide.net [68.67.73.20] Trace complete.
    C:\Users\David>tracert 68.67.73.20 Tracing route to speedguide.net [68.67.73.20] over a maximum of 30 hops: 1 1 ms <1 ms <1 ms router.belkin [192.168.2.1] 2 * * 9 ms 10.27.114.1 3 8 ms 7 ms 7 ms 172.30.1.113 4 8 ms 9 ms 9 ms 172.30.1.149 5 9 ms 7 ms 7 ms 172.30.1.146 6 14 ms 13 ms 13 ms 12.122.249.117 7 16 ms 16 ms 15 ms cr84.cgcil.ip.att.net [12.122.132.162] 8 15 ms 15 ms 15 ms cr2.cgcil.ip.att.net [12.123.7.250] 9 * * * Request timed out. 10 15 ms 15 ms 16 ms 12.249.183.6 11 46 ms 47 ms 47 ms jax1-ar2-xe-2-0-0-0.us.twtelecom.net [66.192.249 .142] 12 51 ms 49 ms 50 ms speedguide.net [68.67.73.20] Trace complete.
    C:\Users\David>tracert 68.67.73.20 Tracing route to speedguide.net [68.67.73.20] over a maximum of 30 hops: 1 1 ms <1 ms <1 ms router.belkin [192.168.2.1] 2 * * 9 ms 10.27.114.1 3 8 ms 7 ms 7 ms 172.30.1.113 4 8 ms 9 ms 9 ms 172.30.1.149 5 9 ms 7 ms 7 ms 172.30.1.146 6 14 ms 13 ms 13 ms 12.122.249.117 7 16 ms 16 ms 15 ms cr84.cgcil.ip.att.net [12.122.132.162] 8 15 ms 15 ms 15 ms cr2.cgcil.ip.att.net [12.123.7.250] 9 * * * Request timed out. 10 15 ms 15 ms 16 ms 12.249.183.6 11 46 ms 47 ms 47 ms jax1-ar2-xe-2-0-0-0.us.twtelecom.net [66.192.249 .142] 12 51 ms 49 ms 50 ms speedguide.net [68.67.73.20] Trace complete.
    Last edited by thurst0n; 06-19-11 at 02:33 PM.

  2. #2
    Regular Member Road Runner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    314
    What cable modem are you using with Mediacom? Most brands allow you to access the modem's internal stats page at http://192.168.100.1 -- if you're able to go there, then try and find the "signals" page, which should show a receive, transit, and SNR (signal-to-noise ratio) numbers. Here's an example of how mine look:

    Signal to Noise Ratio 39 dB
    Downstream Power Level 0 dBmV
    Upstream Power Level 54 dBmV

    Usually if your signal levels are out-of-spec it will cause packet loss as your modem's having a hard time communicating with the OSP (Outside Plant). In most cases I've read about, your upstream level would be the one to diminish thus it's difficulty with "upstreaming" packets to the edge router at 10.27.114.1.

    With the same command application you used to run the tracert, try running a ping test using the command: ping -n 40 10.27.114.1 -- this will run a pings against your ISP's edge router 40 times (40 packets to be sent / received) to test for packet loss. Post your results here.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    4
    Arris Model TM402G/110
    Code:
    RF Parameters
    Downstream
     	Freq/Power: 	135.000 MHz 	-3 dBmV 	 
     	Signal to Noise Ratio:  	32 dB 	 
     	Modulation:	QAM256	 
    Upstream
     	Freq/Power:	31.000 MHz 	48 dBmV 	 
      	Channel Type: 	DOCSIS 2.0 (ATDMA)	 
      	Symbol Rate: 	5120 kSym/sec	 
      	Modulation: 	QAM16 	 
    
     Status
    System Uptime: 	0 days 0h:30m:20s
    Computers Detected:	1
    CM Status:	Docsis-AC Power Iso OFF Data Reg Complete
    WAN Isolation:	OFF-Access to WAN is allowed
    Time and Date:	SUN JUN 19 13:26:41 2011
    Here is what you requested in regards to pinging my ISP:
    Code:
    Pinging 10.27.114.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Reply from 10.27.114.1: bytes=32 time=8ms TTL=254
    Reply from 10.27.114.1: bytes=32 time=9ms TTL=254
    Reply from 10.27.114.1: bytes=32 time=9ms TTL=254
    Reply from 10.27.114.1: bytes=32 time=10ms TTL=254
    Reply from 10.27.114.1: bytes=32 time=9ms TTL=254
    Reply from 10.27.114.1: bytes=32 time=9ms TTL=254
    Reply from 10.27.114.1: bytes=32 time=10ms TTL=254
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Reply from 10.27.114.1: bytes=32 time=8ms TTL=254
    Reply from 10.27.114.1: bytes=32 time=8ms TTL=254
    Reply from 10.27.114.1: bytes=32 time=9ms TTL=254
    Reply from 10.27.114.1: bytes=32 time=30ms TTL=254
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Reply from 10.27.114.1: bytes=32 time=7ms TTL=254
    Reply from 10.27.114.1: bytes=32 time=7ms TTL=254
    Reply from 10.27.114.1: bytes=32 time=7ms TTL=254
    Reply from 10.27.114.1: bytes=32 time=7ms TTL=254
    Reply from 10.27.114.1: bytes=32 time=7ms TTL=254
    Reply from 10.27.114.1: bytes=32 time=7ms TTL=254
    Reply from 10.27.114.1: bytes=32 time=7ms TTL=254
    Reply from 10.27.114.1: bytes=32 time=7ms TTL=254
    Reply from 10.27.114.1: bytes=32 time=6ms TTL=254
    Reply from 10.27.114.1: bytes=32 time=7ms TTL=254
    Reply from 10.27.114.1: bytes=32 time=6ms TTL=254
    Reply from 10.27.114.1: bytes=32 time=7ms TTL=254
    Reply from 10.27.114.1: bytes=32 time=7ms TTL=254
    Reply from 10.27.114.1: bytes=32 time=7ms TTL=254
    Reply from 10.27.114.1: bytes=32 time=8ms TTL=254
    Reply from 10.27.114.1: bytes=32 time=8ms TTL=254
    Reply from 10.27.114.1: bytes=32 time=8ms TTL=254
    Reply from 10.27.114.1: bytes=32 time=8ms TTL=254
    
    Ping statistics for 10.27.114.1:
        Packets: Sent = 40, Received = 29, Lost = 11 (27% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
        Minimum = 6ms, Maximum = 30ms, Average = 8ms

  4. #4
    Regular Member Road Runner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    314
    OK, your signal stats are fine, so I'm assuming it's an issue with the edge router at 10.27.114.1 - and probably effecting everyone else connected to it, too.

    Just for future reference - for acceptable signal stats:

    Code:
    Receive: -15dbmV to +15dbmV
    Transmit: 30dbmV to 55dbmV
    Carrier/Noise Ratio: >30dB
    Now, before the above assumption goes into "play", I just thought of this--- try using the same ping command, but this time change the IP to 192.168.100.1 -- which will do the same by ping your modem. It *could* be a faulty modem. It's best to gather all of your evidence and presenting everything to Mediacom. Some CSRs take their customers for fools, so it's best go in there "guns blazing" with information.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    4
    Thank you thank you. I have now started to notice my modem resetting itself at times as well. Those resets obviously cause internet outtage, but there are times where speeds drop and the lights still indicate connection as well.

    I tested the Modem and got =1ms with no packetloss. I did same test to my router with <1ms and no packets lost.

    So you're saying mediacom should be on this? I mean it's been about a week of issues already.
    I really appreciate your help.

  6. #6
    Regular Member Road Runner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    314
    Yeah, I think there's an issue at the OSP, or further into Mediacom's network- perhaps their core routers.

    Either way, you should really be getting on Mediacom. Most of the time when you complain to an ISP, and there's nothing they can see that relates to their end of the network, they automatically blame your side. However, as I said before, if you come to them with evidence that it's clearly not in your home, then it gives them more work to do, thus escalating your issue to a supervisor, or the operations department, who then will send a technician to fix the issue. When they did investigate it, they may not necessarily have anyone come to your home, so I don't think you need to request a "home" visit at all; just alert them of the situation and how it's affecting your connection.

    If it's not resolved, you should also push for a service credit too.

    Good luck, guy. :-)

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    4
    Sounds great. I will definitely let them know. I appreciate you taking your time to help me!

    I'm trying to nerd out and watch some Starcraft 2 Tournaments and it's very hard to when you miss 25% of it :-)

    THANKS AGAIN!

Similar Threads

  1. Drop in speeds
    By Dm77 in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-07-05, 05:33 PM
  2. download speeds drop with new PC
    By bootstritty in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-09-03, 08:04 PM
  3. Cable speeds drop DRAMATICALLY during the day
    By Loke in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-25-03, 04:33 PM
  4. Download Speeds START HIGH,, then DROP.. ??
    By Fudgemaker in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-26-02, 08:35 PM
  5. Download speeds gradually drop
    By andrewe77 in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-23-00, 05:22 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •