Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: dual monitor setup

  1. #1
    Certified SG Addict CableDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,784

    dual monitor setup

    Was told I could not do a dual monitor setup with an integrated VGA port on a desktop?

  2. #2
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    You need two ports from the video card to do dual monitors, not off a integrated VGA port.

    Vid cards with dual ports are so cheap now so may as well grab one. For those that are trying to do it with something like this

    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...SIN=B000OV818I

    well you get the idea.. a total expensive way to go when you can get a video card for around $40 to do it and do it well!

  3. #3
    Certified SG Addict CableDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,784
    Ah, that may be what is needed. I doubt I can put another video card in an Optiplex 780. (SFF)

  4. #4
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,877
    You can use both the onboard video, plus an add-on video card, depending on the motherboard, and if those options are in the BIOS. While probably greater than 50% of the systems out there will not do this (the onboard video is usually automatically disabled once you add another video card)....many systems allow you to still use the onboard even after you've added another video card. I haven't tried this on an Opti 780.

    You can add video cards to Opti SFF models....it's a standard half height card. Most of these cards will have that one DMS-59 output, from Dell (they're even options on the Optis) will come with the DMS-59 to dual DVI and DMS-59 to dual VGA video cables (depending on which vid card and monitors you have...to DVI is desired).
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  5. #5
    Certified SG Addict CableDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,784
    I looked around on the Dell site and did not see anything about adding a card after it was already purchased.

  6. #6
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,877
    Low profile cards mixed in the list here
    http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/c...s=biz&~ck=anav
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  7. #7
    Certified SG Addict CableDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,784
    Thanks YOSC.

Similar Threads

  1. help me choose, dual monitor LCD (DVI) setup...
    By yikes in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-07-05, 01:13 PM
  2. Dual monitor help please
    By Grimson in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-27-03, 08:31 PM
  3. Dual DDR setup
    By AMPLIFRIER in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 06-29-03, 03:58 PM
  4. My first dual monitor...
    By Brk in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 02-12-03, 02:42 PM
  5. nvdia geforce 2 mx200 dual monitor support tv+monitor
    By mccoffee in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-09-02, 11:44 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •