Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 65

Thread: Connection question

  1. #1
    SG Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    2,943

    Connection question

    When i ping my IP address i get the following results:

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\

    Pinging with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from bytes=32 time=140ms TTL=64
    Reply from bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
    Reply from bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
    Reply from bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64

    Ping statistics for
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 2ms, Maximum = 140ms, Average = 36ms

    C:\Users\

    I am getting 100 milliseconds from what i am told. Should i be getting under 100 MS?

    If so, is there anything my ISP can do to make sure it is equally fast all the time?

    Hope this makes sense.

    thx

  2. #2
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    Quote Originally Posted by 24giovanni View Post
    Minimum = 2ms, Maximum = 140ms, Average = 36ms

    I am getting 100 milliseconds from what i am told. Should i be getting under 100 MS?

    If so, is there anything my ISP can do to make sure it is equally fast all the time?
    I guess I don't understand what your trying to do but the way I read it your getting 36ms so you are getting under 100.

  3. #3
    SG Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    2,943
    Quote Originally Posted by Sava700 View Post
    I guess I don't understand what your trying to do but the way I read it your getting 36ms so you are getting under 100.
    I'll pm u more about it tomorrow if i remember.

  4. #4
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,877
    Are you pinging your WAN IP, your LAN IP, or your netbios name? Wireless or wired? For some reason the information used with ping is missing from the rest of the C:\Users line.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  5. #5
    SG Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    2,943
    Quote Originally Posted by YeOldeStonecat View Post
    Are you pinging your WAN IP, your LAN IP, or your netbios name? Wireless or wired? For some reason the information used with ping is missing from the rest of the C:\Users line.
    Cat, It is my ip out to the exterior world. I find it when I go out to website whatismyip.com.

  6. #6
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,877
    Might have to do with your routers ability to handle "loopback"...which is the ability to go out to the internet, and then come back...recognizing the destination that you entered is really a local source. First ping takes a bit longer to come back because of the router realizing it needs loopback. This is just a guess....I tried that right here at my clients network...but all the replies are <1ms...but then again I'm on some potent firewall hardware here plus a blazing Comcast 50/10 connection which benches at 65/11....and I'm wired in. You running wireless? I'm guessing because you do have high return ms there.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  7. #7
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,983
    Mine are all 1ms as well, but if you do a ping -t and the IP, and the vast majority are 1-2ms I would say its nothing to worry about.

  8. #8
    SG Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    2,943
    Here are results for ping -t for googles ip address

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\ping www.google.com

    Pinging www.l.google.com [72.14.204.147] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 72.14.204.147: bytes=32 time=63ms TTL=53
    Reply from 72.14.204.147: bytes=32 time=46ms TTL=53
    Reply from 72.14.204.147: bytes=32 time=341ms TTL=53
    Reply from 72.14.204.147: bytes=32 time=1095ms TTL=53

    Ping statistics for 72.14.204.147:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 46ms, Maximum = 1095ms, Average = 386ms

    C:\Users\>ping -t 72.14.204.147

    Pinging 72.14.204.147 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 72.14.204.147: bytes=32 time=57ms TTL=53
    Reply from 72.14.204.147: bytes=32 time=43ms TTL=53
    Reply from 72.14.204.147: bytes=32 time=46ms TTL=53
    Reply from 72.14.204.147: bytes=32 time=45ms TTL=53
    Reply from 72.14.204.147: bytes=32 time=45ms TTL=53
    Reply from 72.14.204.147: bytes=32 time=45ms TTL=53
    Reply from 72.14.204.147: bytes=32 time=43ms TTL=53
    Reply from 72.14.204.147: bytes=32 time=47ms TTL=53
    Reply from 72.14.204.147: bytes=32 time=45ms TTL=53
    Reply from 72.14.204.147: bytes=32 time=44ms TTL=53
    Reply from 72.14.204.147: bytes=32 time=45ms TTL=53
    Reply from 72.14.204.147: bytes=32 time=393ms TTL=53
    Reply from 72.14.204.147: bytes=32 time=46ms TTL=53
    Reply from 72.14.204.147: bytes=32 time=180ms TTL=53
    Reply from 72.14.204.147: bytes=32 time=46ms TTL=53
    Reply from 72.14.204.147: bytes=32 time=46ms TTL=53
    Reply from 72.14.204.147: bytes=32 time=43ms TTL=53
    Reply from 72.14.204.147: bytes=32 time=45ms TTL=53
    Reply from 72.14.204.147: bytes=32 time=46ms TTL=53
    Reply from 72.14.204.147: bytes=32 time=46ms TTL=53
    Reply from 72.14.204.147: bytes=32 time=45ms TTL=53
    Reply from 72.14.204.147: bytes=32 time=45ms TTL=53
    Reply from 72.14.204.147: bytes=32 time=45ms TTL=53
    Reply from 72.14.204.147: bytes=32 time=45ms TTL=53
    Reply from 72.14.204.147: bytes=32 time=923ms TTL=53
    Reply from 72.14.204.147: bytes=32 time=45ms TTL=53
    Reply from 72.14.204.147: bytes=32 time=716ms TTL=53
    Reply from 72.14.204.147: bytes=32 time=44ms TTL=53
    Reply from 72.14.204.147: bytes=32 time=44ms TTL=53
    Reply from 72.14.204.147: bytes=32 time=46ms TTL=53
    Reply from 72.14.204.147: bytes=32 time=46ms TTL=53
    Reply from 72.14.204.147: bytes=32 time=45ms TTL=53
    Reply from 72.14.204.147: bytes=32 time=45ms TTL=53
    Reply from 72.14.204.147: bytes=32 time=46ms TTL=53
    Reply from 72.14.204.147: bytes=32 time=45ms TTL=53
    Reply from 72.14.204.147: bytes=32 time=43ms TTL=53
    Reply from 72.14.204.147: bytes=32 time=46ms TTL=53
    Reply from 72.14.204.147: bytes=32 time=44ms TTL=53
    Reply from 72.14.204.147: bytes=32 time=439ms TTL=53
    Reply from 72.14.204.147: bytes=32 time=45ms TTL=53
    Reply from 72.14.204.147: bytes=32 time=223ms TTL=53
    Reply from 72.14.204.147: bytes=32 time=45ms TTL=53
    Reply from 72.14.204.147: bytes=32 time=45ms TTL=53
    Reply from 72.14.204.147: bytes=32 time=46ms TTL=53
    Reply from 72.14.204.147: bytes=32 time=45ms TTL=53
    Reply from 72.14.204.147: bytes=32 time=44ms TTL=53
    Reply from 72.14.204.147: bytes=32 time=44ms TTL=53

    Ping statistics for 72.14.204.147:
    Packets: Sent = 47, Received = 47, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 43ms, Maximum = 923ms, Average = 100ms
    Control-C
    ^C
    C:\Users\>

  9. #9
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,983
    So, are you on wireless?

  10. #10
    SG Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    2,943
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF View Post
    So, are you on wireless?
    Sorry, forgot to add I am hardwired.

  11. #11
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,983
    Well, you definitely have a little hiccup in there. That would be annoying for playing games online.

    Could give your ISP a call and let them know its happening and to just your own WAN IP as well.

  12. #12
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,877
    Wow you're all over the place...got some latency issues there.
    What ISP?
    How does the line come in from the street? Single home? Old/new? Multi-familiy? Apartment or condo complex?
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  13. #13
    SG Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    2,943
    Isp is verizon, just a single line dedicated to DSL line and vonage is hooked up as well. It is a single home. What should I tell my ISP plz?

    thx guys

  14. #14
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,877
    What I've done for every place I've lived in since back in the dial up days.....have the phone company run brand new lines in from the street...up to the NID, and from the NID run a new dedicated line to where your modem will be. No splitters. Nice clean lines. Has always..always been a heck of a lot less expensive than you'd think it would be. And I've found I seem to avoid weird issues like this.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  15. #15
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    Yeah change out everything you can... phone cables are cheap.

  16. #16
    SG Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    2,943
    Quote Originally Posted by YeOldeStonecat View Post
    What I've done for every place I've lived in since back in the dial up days.....have the phone company run brand new lines in from the street...up to the NID, and from the NID run a new dedicated line to where your modem will be. No splitters. Nice clean lines. Has always..always been a heck of a lot less expensive than you'd think it would be. And I've found I seem to avoid weird issues like this.

    Cat, This line is on 2 to 3 yrs old. I had them run new lines then with a new box outside and new phone jack and new line. So I dont think it is that. What else could I have my ISP do to fix this issue?

    thx

  17. #17
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,877
    Not enough information yet...I don't know if there are any splitters or splices in the mix along the way. I don't know what tests looked like the day that job was done 2 years ago..has it gotten worse? Or is that how it started? Is that line really dedicated...going to your DSL modem? Based on many of your posts about dial up modems and called ID and other stuff...I raise an eyebrow about what your setup really looks like...and fear there are splitters here and there.

    Unfortunately calling your ISP will usually just result in time being wasted..if you try to complain about pings of 30-150 or whatever...they won't care..they'll laugh in the background.
    The way to get your phone companies attention is to complain of "static" or "noise" or "garbled voices" when you're on the phone.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  18. #18
    SG Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    2,943
    Quote Originally Posted by YeOldeStonecat View Post
    Not enough information yet...I don't know if there are any splitters or splices in the mix along the way. I don't know what tests looked like the day that job was done 2 years ago..has it gotten worse? Or is that how it started? Is that line really dedicated...going to your DSL modem? Based on many of your posts about dial up modems and called ID and other stuff...I raise an eyebrow about what your setup really looks like...and fear there are splitters here and there.

    Unfortunately calling your ISP will usually just result in time being wasted..if you try to complain about pings of 30-150 or whatever...they won't care..they'll laugh in the background.
    The way to get your phone companies attention is to complain of "static" or "noise" or "garbled voices" when you're on the phone.
    Cat, It is a dedicated line for dsl only. It has been happening for about 1.5 years. I have 1 splitter on it coming out of dsl modem. One for vonage line and 1 for internal phone modem that isnt being used cause modem isnt 64 bit so thats currently not being used. So you think I should complain of noice or static. I assume they will say it's a vonage issue. So I assume I am stuck with this and there isnt anything I can do about it?

    thx

  19. #19
    Certified SG Addict CableDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,784
    I blame the weather.

    j/k

  20. #20
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,877
    Take the Vonage box out of the loop.
    Actually...what's your exact setup.....starting with the DSL modem. Another router? Besides the Vonage unit? Vonage router behind another router, or in front of the other router...

    Which also negatively impacts your VoIP quality...as the Westells really don't do it well...cannot properly prioritize your Vonage traffic.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

Similar Threads

  1. Connection question
    By 24giovanni in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-02-08, 10:08 PM
  2. Connection Question
    By khatton in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-24-08, 03:19 PM
  3. Fan connection question.
    By Cypher in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-10-03, 05:56 PM
  4. DSL Connection Question
    By BCML872 in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 07-16-02, 12:35 PM
  5. Connection question...
    By RyanLaw in forum Gaming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-12-01, 04:52 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •