Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 47

Thread: Looking for software

  1. #21
    Certified SG Addict CableDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,784
    Quote Originally Posted by YeOldeStonecat View Post
    I suspect an old hard drive, clone it to a new one. 60 gigs..that's an oldie!
    Circa 2002!

  2. #22
    Certified SG Addict CableDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,784
    I'm so not with it anymore these days. I have another HD albeit 10 GB in size. I could throw XP or 7 on it and see how it responds.

    ?

  3. #23
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,867
    Just get one from NewEgg.....you can get an 80 gig PATA Seagate drive fore 39.99!
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  4. #24
    Certified SG Addict CableDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,784
    Quote Originally Posted by YeOldeStonecat View Post
    Just get one from NewEgg.....you can get an 80 gig PATA Seagate drive fore 39.99!
    You buying?


    Was greeted with the following on bootup a few minutes ago.

    Award BootBlock BIOS V1.0

    BIOS ROM checksum error

    Detecting floppy drive A media...

    INSERT SYSTEM DISK AND PRESS ENTER

  5. #25
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    Quote Originally Posted by CableDude View Post
    Was greeted with the following on bootup a few minutes ago.

    Award BootBlock BIOS V1.0

    BIOS ROM checksum error

    Detecting floppy drive A media...

    INSERT SYSTEM DISK AND PRESS ENTER
    Take the floppy disk out before booting??

  6. #26
    Certified SG Addict CableDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,784
    No floppy in the drive.

  7. #27
    Certified SG Addict CableDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,784
    Should I update the bios?

  8. #28
    Senior Member loop2kil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    5,230
    CD, How do the Caps on the motherboard look? Any swollen, leaky?

  9. #29
    Certified SG Addict CableDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,784
    Quote Originally Posted by loop2kil View Post
    CD, How do the Caps on the motherboard look? Any swollen, leaky?
    Good question. Will have to take a look at that.

  10. #30
    Certified SG Addict CableDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,784
    Found a linux live cd that tests hardware.

  11. #31
    Senior Member loop2kil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    5,230
    Quote Originally Posted by CableDude View Post
    Found a linux live cd that tests hardware.
    Gonna share what it is

  12. #32
    Certified SG Addict CableDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,784
    Quote Originally Posted by loop2kil View Post
    Gonna share what it is
    Inquisitor

  13. #33
    Certified SG Addict CableDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,784
    Quote Originally Posted by loop2kil View Post
    CD, How do the Caps on the motherboard look? Any swollen, leaky?
    Well, I am seeing two caps on the MB that have expanded a little and have very small leaks on them.

    The thing that pisses me off is I just bought memory for this thing. If I buy I new board, then will my memory work?

    Maybe I should know this already, but I am clueless when it comes to boards.

  14. #34
    404 Sanity Not Found PsykoPenguin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Somewhere in the Antarctic Circle
    Posts
    1,376
    Blog Entries
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by CableDude View Post
    Well, I am seeing two caps on the MB that have expanded a little and have very small leaks on them.

    The thing that pisses me off is I just bought memory for this thing. If I buy I new board, then will my memory work?

    Maybe I should know this already, but I am clueless when it comes to boards.
    You have to buy a board that supports your memory. Though finding a board that supports DDR will be hard seeing as it's been phased out in favor of DDR2. Also it would appear that you have a socket 478 CPU which would mean that you're extremely limited as to what you can get.

    I have found a motherboard that supports your memory but wont support your processor and vice versa on another board I found on newegg. On top of it all you have an AGP video card so now your chances of finding a compatible board are even smaller. So you're looking at either a new board + CPU or New board + RAM + PCIe video card

    I'd look around at local mom and pop type computer shops if you got any. See if they got any motherboards that'd support your needs.

    Needs New RAM AND Video Card
    Needs New CPU
    Last edited by PsykoPenguin; 12-13-10 at 01:16 PM.
    "I'm like a lion on the prowl after prey"

  15. #35
    Senior Member loop2kil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    5,230
    Cd,

    ebay, geeks.com, ascendtech.com all should have boards that support both your ram and processor.

  16. #36
    Certified SG Addict CableDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,784
    Thanks fellas. I didn't bother with that linux cd. Maybe try it some other time.

  17. #37
    404 Sanity Not Found PsykoPenguin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Somewhere in the Antarctic Circle
    Posts
    1,376
    Blog Entries
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by loop2kil View Post
    Cd,

    ebay, geeks.com, ascendtech.com all should have boards that support both your ram and processor.
    Whoa, didn't realize there was a company that sold old boards, i might just have a use for all these old processors and RAM sticks I have laying around after all.

    I think going with L2K's idea would work best if you're looking to save every penny possible.
    "I'm like a lion on the prowl after prey"

  18. #38
    Certified SG Addict CableDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,784
    Bumping this as I may need to look at some things here again.

  19. #39
    Certified SG Addict CableDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,784
    Probably not worth fixing now. Even though I bought new memory for it 1.5 years ago.

  20. #40
    Senior Member loop2kil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    5,230
    Quote Originally Posted by CableDude View Post
    Well, I am seeing two caps on the MB that have expanded a little and have very small leaks on them.

    The thing that pisses me off is I just bought memory for this thing. If I buy I new board, then will my memory work?

    Maybe I should know this already, but I am clueless when it comes to boards.
    If you had leaky/bulging caps back in 2010 then I would suspect this is your issue and will only be worse now....you should replace the MB.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •